|
|
The Sterling mine Producing gold for over a
hundred years. Also see the Buncom
page.
GOLD
"There's
gold in California." The
magic words swelled into a roar that swept across the United States and
around the world. Men poured into the region overland and by ship.
Europeans came, hard-nosed Australians left their southern continent,
Americans surged into gold fields of the newest part of the nation.
Whole companies of Mexican War volunteers took their discharges and
headed for the gold fields.ON Sterling Creek A Century of Placer Mining BY FRANCIS D. HAINES, JR. AND VERN S. SMITH First printing 1964 PROLOGUE Focal point for the thousands was Sacramento, where James W. Marshall discovered gold in the mill race of Sutter's Mill. It was here that the overland trail spewed forth its thousands and the boats from San Francisco debarked the masses that had arrived by sea. Later comers were forced to spread out over the great central valley while more adventurous souls moved into the mountains seeking the mother lode from whence the rivers had received their golden cargo. Like a plague of locusts the gold seekers spread across the land. In twenty-five years they swept over the hills and mountains to the Fraser River in the north; from the sands of the Oregon coast to the Black Hills in the east. The cry of "Gold" was enough to set in motion a stream of prospectors and sharpshooters. If gold was there, they stayed until the next strike. If it proved to be a humbug, the disillusioned miners struggled back. In their wake the gold seekers left a land permanently scarred, a thousand ghost towns and a legend. It was a legend of violence and blood, of fortunes made and lost, of rough comradeship and dance hall girls, of the fearful vigilantes and of lost mines and treasures. It was a legend to fit America; lusty, young and exuberant. Less known but worthier monuments were the other things they left. Three new states in the union, California, Oregon and Nevada. Three territories near statehood, Washington, Idaho and Montana. Two great cities, San Francisco and Portland. A transportation net and a transcontinental railroad that provided the route to market that developed the industries which had sprung up in response to the needs of the miners, agriculture and lumbering. The Pacific Northwest has never recovered from the gold rush. There is still an abiding belief in the big bonanza. Though they no longer rush for gold, the people continued to rush in on succeeding bonanzas (uranium, silver, fruit and a dozen others). Every town in the region has its great bonanza just waiting for the capital to develop it. Nor has gold been forgotten. Prospect holes dot the landscape, new ones beside the crumbling, vegetation filled holes of the forty-niners. Sluice boxes still run in the old diggings. There are even now banks that take in gold and stores with scales for weighing gold they still receive in trade. Every town in the old mining country has its old prospector who has a spot. Somewhere out in the hills is a place where someone took out a fortune and there are more just like it. Every hard rock mine has a fabulously rich vein just waiting to be opened. So it is in the Rogue River country. Not all of the old gold camps remain. Some have disappeared almost completely. The mines are still there. Scarred hillsides bear mute testimony to the greed of the miner. The land between the Rogue River and the Applegate produced much of the gold of the region. Here was found the famous blue gravel as well as gold-bearing quartz and the gold-filled sands. The first miners cleaned out the streams with their sluices. Later miners plunged their drifts into the quartz. Then came the capitalist who built ditches and smashed the hills with the drenching force of the hydraulic. There was one difference here. The gold miner rushing to the new strikes ran head-on into the settler fencing off his acres under the Donation Land acts. It produced a strange community of miner, farmer and the hybrid farmer-miner. This latter was the man who placered in the winter and spent the spring and summer on his farm. Sterling Creek lies in the heart of this gold area. Millions in gold have come out of the narrow valley that reaches only five miles from the summit at its head to its mouth. Yet much of its land has never been mined. The miner came first but the farmer was not far behind. They lived side by side. They still do more than one hundred years later. CHAPTER
I
In central
Southern Oregon lies a
region drained by the Rogue River. It is the area which produced the
largest of the early gold mines of the state. Surrounded by mountains,
it is an island of minerals and agricultural wealth.DISCOVERY It is a geological never-never land. Formations are piled on each other in a helter-skelter fashion that defies reasonable analysis. Within this small region can be found evidence of most of the geologic eras of the earth. The principal features of the region are two ranges of mountains. The volcanic Cascades stretch to the north while the Klamath Mountains thrust up through them in an east-west line. The drainage of the Rogue is largely the interstices of this welter of ranges crossing ranges. The upheaval that created this strange welter of mountains has done strange things to the land. Formations run along the surface only to disappear, sheared off. Some distance further on the formation recurs. It is as though the intervening section of land had been turned upside down. An ancient lake covered most of the land before the upheavals took place. The river channels that fed and drained the lake ceased to function as the earth surged and buckled beneath them, but the channels remain, easily traced by the gravel, rock and sand of the river beds that wind through the other formations. Outcroppings of fossils, old beaches and the skeletal fragments of elephants appear in the valley, marking some of the ages of life in geological time. Mineral springs survive, cool reminders of the hot thrusting of a younger earth. The variegated land is rich in minerals and diversity is a feature of this resource. Here are found gold, silver, mercury, asbestos, nickel, cobalt, limestone, granite, tungsten, antimony, manganese, coal, bentonite, silica, copper, oil, iron, lead, platinum, beryllium, chromite, molybdenum and zinc. With this profusion of mineral resources it is not surprising that the early history of the area and much of its development is connected with mining. The minerals have been a source of hope, wealth and frustration to succeeding generations here. Placer gold brought the first miners. Gold-bearing quartz began to attract as the placers played out, though more money has been poured into them than ever came out of them. Coal had a brief flurry of development. Copper attracted interest but brought little return for investment. Granite became an important industry for a brief period. Limestone still supports a basic industry. The most profitable of the mining eras was the placer mining period. It has also attracted the most attention and has the greatest romantic appeal. It was placer gold that built Sterlingville and kept it going. Mining began in Jackson County in January, 1852. (The date and the location are matters of dispute. No conclusive evidence exists. December, 1851 is sometimes given as the date and a tributary of Jackson Creek as the place.) Gold was discovered in Jackson Creek by a group of packers traveling through the valley. Within two months the richness of the new strike had brought several thousand miners into the area and the town of Jacksonville was born. From here the miners spread over the adjacent mountains, seeking and finding other rich claims. A simultaneous discovery farther down the Rogue River attracted its thousands and the area between the two was soon dotted with prospect holes and placer claims. Gold seekers poured into the region from the Northern California mines. Jackson and Josephine counties were born and prospered as the streams yielded their golden harvest. The miners were hardly settled on their claims when another stream of immigration emptied into the Rogue Valley. A few hardy pioneers who had staked donation land claims in 1851 returned with friends and relatives from the East to settle the rich agricultural land of the valley. The two groups did not mix in perfect amity. Each looked down upon the other, a social attitude that was mitigated by their mutual need of each other and the development of a hybrid group, the farmer-miners, who tried to make the best of each world. It did make for a stability of life frequently lacking in the other placer mining districts. Another unifying feature was the hostility of the local Indian population toward the intruders. Friction generated conflict which erupted in the first of the Rogue River wars. A desultory affair, it fizzled and sputtered until colorful General Joseph Lane negotiated the Treaty of Table Rock in September, 1853. The hostilities had taken only a small toll in lives but had seriously delayed development of the valley. Miners did not venture out into the hills in search of gold and some of the claims were abandoned until the cessation of hostilities. The farmers huddled together in a few cabins and stockades, venturing out only in groups under the pressure of reaping the crops necessary to survival. The recovery was rapid. The signing of the Treaty of Table Rock brought an end to most of the terror. Crops were quickly gathered by the farmers while the miners hastily prepared for the mining season which began with the first of the fall rains. The valley was once more a scene of boom and bustle. Jacksonville was a lively place in the spring of 1854. Crowds of miners thronged the streets and the saloons were doing a good business. In spite of the severity of the winter and the shortage of water which hampered operations, the general level of prosperity was high and another mining season would come. The area had proved itself and the presence of the farmers augured for permanence. Jacksonville began to strengthen its claim to being the metropolis of Southern Oregon. The first brick building in town, the Maury-Davis store, was open for business. Across the street the brick walls of the Brunner building were rising. Brick buildings marked the maturity of the community in the eyes of its boosters. The settlers in the valley were prospering, too. Two flouring mills promised a good market for the farmers who had been moving into the valley in the past three years. The little community of Ashland Mills (one flour and one lumber) was showing signs of developing into a town. The group of farmers gathered around the claims of the Colver brothers was also becoming a town. Then known as Eden precinct, it was to become successively Gasburg and Phoenix. By the middle of May crops were planted in the valley. The farmer-miners began returning to their claims in the hills until the hot, dry weather of the late summer should dry up the streams and ripen the crops. Among the group who left the plow for the gold pan was James Sterling. He held a Donation Land Claim in Eden precinct which he was working in partnership with Aaron Davis. Living with him were his mother, the indomitable Mrs. Elizabeth Sterling, a younger sister, Lucinda, and his younger brother Richard. The family had come across the plains in 1853 from Illinois where it had stopped on its way from Pennsylvania. Jim Sterling was then twenty-six years old. A native of Pennsylvania, he was a tall, raw-boned, heavy-chested, powerful man. He was bearded in his later life and probably had a beard at this time. In many ways he was typical of the miners of the area. Sterling and Davis were partners in a mining claim on Jackson Creek. With the crops in, the two decided to return to their claim to work it while the water lasted. When they arrived at the claim, however, they found that it had been jumped. There was nothing that they could do about it. It was a generally accepted law in the camps that claims did not belong to those who wouldn't work them. In some of the areas of the farmer-miner, claims were not "jumpable" from April to October, but this provision does not seem to have applied to Jackson Creek. The two young men decided to do a bit of prospecting before they returned to the farm. They probably crossed to Jackass Creek (now Forest Creek) and looked over the diggings at Union Flat and Rebel Flat. The good claims on Jackass Creek were all taken up and the upper Applegate was not a highly productive gold area. The two men had a choice in the return home. They could retrace their steps or they could proceed up the Little Applegate to the old Indian trail that crossed the mountains to the home farm in Eden precinct. Whether they prospected on the way or not we don't know. The most productive gold field on the Little Applegate was just above the junction with the main Applegate. It had to wait for a more extensive operation than the rough mining techniques of the period for its exploitation. The fabulous Chinese, Gin Lin, was to take his thousands out of here with a hydraulic later on. It would not yield its riches to the lone prospector. Though the Indians and whites were no longer at war in this summer of 1854, both sides were nervous. Small groups of whites, particularly those with few or no weapons, had never been safe traveling through this country. They pushed some distance up the stream before stopping for lunch. Half way from the mouth to the source of the creek, an intermittent trickle comes in from the west. The little valley widens out at this point to its greatest width. It was here that Jim Sterling and Aaron Davis stopped for lunch. The pine-clad hills look down on the scene today much as they did then. The meadow grass covers the bottom and a line of scrub brush marks the course of the main stream and the little tributary. On the east side of the main stream a drainage way drops down to the main stream. After the noon meal, Jim Sterling began prospecting in the hole left by an uprooted tree. It was a favorite device of the prospector, affording him easy penetration to the gold-bearing gravel, if there were any. Working his pan in the small creek, he discovered a heavy showing of the pale gold, nearly a dollar's worth. Aaron Davis joined him, and in a few hours the two knew that they had made a rich strike. It was no place for two lone prospectors. The Indian camp was too near. Nor were they equipped to settle down and develop the claims. They needed more tools and a good load of supplies. It was time to head across the pass to home. It is easy to visualize the two excited young men pushing their horses to reach the farm, bursting with their good news. The way back must have been a time of laying plans for the exploitation of their rich find. They called in three friends to join with them. One of the friends was George Rockfellow, who later earned some local fame as an inventor and some success with a patented gate. The other two were J. P. Burns and John Bonum. The five men set out on June 1st to explore the find. They spent a day and a half on the creek, prospecting the site. They wished to find the extent of the field and to locate the richest portion for their own claims. In that time they washed out some $48 in gold, finding one nugget that weighed out at $12, nearly an ounce at the prevailing price of gold. The richness of the find was confirmed and claims were staked out in their minds for they did not want to give away the site to a casual passerby with the usual posted notices. The men set out for Eden Precinct and home. They needed to lay in a good supply of provisions and to acquire the tools and materials for extensive working of the claims. This was a bonanza and they wished to be thoroughly prepared to take maximum advantage of it. One of the greatest puzzles connected with the discovery is why they did not leave two or three of their number to hold the claims for them while the others returned the following day. None of them ever said. What they did do was to agree to keep the news a secret and to wait until the following Tuesday before coming back to the creek. Tuesday was election day and they wanted to vote before returning to the strike. The reason for the secrecy is well understood. Once a suspicion of a strike was out a stampede would result. But why the delay? There were no real important issues in the election. It was not a presidential election year. We shall never know and it is impossible to guess, for gold fever is a disease that strikes hardest at the reasoning faculty, usually rendering it completely inoperative. The five took the trail back up the valley and across the pass. Coming down Coleman Creek they had to pass the claims of Hubbard and John Coleman. There they found a group of men gathered to help the brothers "raise a house." To have passed by this pioneer community project without lending a hand would have aroused both suspicion and resentment. They joined in with their neighbors. The men at the house-raising party sensed the excitement in the little party that joined them. Curiosity aroused, they began to question the gold seekers to learn what was in the wind. The young men stood firm and would not divulge their secret, and the house raising went on to its completion. Ab Giddings was not content with the evasive answers. He knew young Aaron Davis quite well and he was determined to get the secret out of his young friend. Getting him alone, Giddings went to work and Davis finally broke down and told him of the rich strike. Anxious to get in first on the discovery, Giddings convinced Davis that the others would keep the secret no better than he had. It was imperative that they get to the creek immediately. They gathered gear together and set out early the next morning, Sunday, to the site of discovery where they staked claims and began mining. Monday one of the discoverers went to Jacksonville to be on the scene so that he could vote early Tuesday morning and be off for the new gold field. During the course of the evening, he got quite drunk. As the liquor flowed, his tongue loosened and the news leaked out. Soon the crowd had learned the location and a stampede resulted as the eager gold seekers stumbled through the night in the race for the best claims. Jim Sterling arrived at the site of his discovery early on Tuesday morning. The creek was staked from source to mouth and rim to rim. Blanket tents were everywhere and the miners were busily stripping their claims or sinking shafts in the flats. He went down to the point where the claims were being registered and found his erstwhile friend, Aaron Davis. Jim was offered a half claim as the discoverer of the mine. (The usual discoverer's portion was a claim and a half or two claims.) He angrily rejected the offer and returned to his home. Who gave away the secret of the discovery in Jacksonville? On January 22, 1900 the Ashland Tidings printed an account of the discovery that claimed that the culprit was Jim Sterling himself. It is the only account which names the man. The other stories do not divulge the identity. There are several things wrong with this identification. Chief of them is that Jim Sterling would not have gone into Jacksonville to vote. His Donation Land Claim was in Eden Precinct and he would have voted there. Nor does it fit the picture of the sober, hard-working young man who brought his mother and two younger children across the plain from Illinois and supported and cared for his mother for the remainder of her long and active life. There is one other point. Only once in his later life did Jim Sterling take a partner. He and Allen Lee, his brother-in-law, went to the Idaho mines in 1863 and mined for a time near Florence. After that, he always worked alone. I think that it was his partners rather than liquor that betrayed him. This ended Jim Sterling's association with the creek that bears his name. He farmed the claim near Phoenix for a year or two but turned it over to Allen Lee after Lee married Lucinda in early 1855. Jim Sterling moved to Cottonwood Creek where he took up land just north of the California line. Here he and his younger brother, Richard, farmed the land while his mother kept house. He filed for a water right in 1870 and continued to develop the prosperous farm. Sometime after this Jim Sterling bought a house in the town of Cottonwood (now Henley), California. He sold his farms and moved his mother into town. It was a good location for Mrs. Sterling for she was not too far from the Lees, who had moved to Yreka. Jim Sterling went back up in the mountains, prospecting for gold. In June, 1882 Mrs. Sterling felt the end approaching. She made the trip to Yreka to see her daughter and the grandchildren once more, for Lucinda was too ill to make the journey to her mother. The doughty old pioneer of 80 died four days after her arrival, on June 14. Following his mother's death, Jim Sterling began to devote most of his time to mining. He made a noteworthy strike on Hungry Creek, just south of the Oregon line, in 1892. He discovered a quartz lead some eight feet wide which assayed initially at eight to twelve dollars a ton and became richer as it went into the mountain. He spent several years in developing the mine, generally working alone though he would hire young boys to cook and help out during the summer. In 1894 he bought a house in Ashland where he was a frequent winter visitor but he rented the house and never lived in it himself. In 1897 Jim Sterling bought a small house in Henley which he occupied during the winter. It was near enough to his mine and he apparently planned to retire there. The rigors of a long life of pioneering and mining began to take their toll. Sterling sold his Hungry Creek mine in 1900 to a promoter named Fore. It was a typical transaction, Fore purchasing an undivided 7% interest in the property for the sum of $17,500 and re-selling it to a West Virginia group for $42,000. Sterling had sold his Ashland property in 1899 so he was now ready for retirement. He gave up his home in Henley and went to live with his sister Lucinda in Yreka. Lucinda was a widow now, living with one of her daughters. James Sterling died in Yreka on June 5, 1903 at the age of seventy-six. He left all of his estate to his sister and, according to the probate, it amounted to only $1165.80 in cash after the discharge of all obligations. It was a small sum of money for the man who had discovered the fabulously rich Sterling Creek mining district. He left only one monument, the small creek that still bears his name. His name has long since disappeared from the mine on Hungry Creek and the ranch on Cottonwood Creek. His name does not appear at all in the history of Phoenix, Oregon. There is a legend, though. On Sterling Creek they will tell you that Jim Sterling owned the whole creek. He developed the mine, dug the ditch that supplied it with water and brought in hundreds of Chinese to work the mine. He took out millions in gold; the story ranges from fifty to one hundred million. No one knows what happened to him, though. Sold out and went back east, they reckon. It's a strange tale and like most of those that concern the Pennsylvanian who lies in an unmarked grave in the old cemetery at Yreka. CHAPTER
II
Every new
gold strike brought one
immediate problem to the men who staked the claims. Some sort of
organization had to be established to govern the area until the normal
processes of government could operate. By the time the rush to Sterling
Creek began a regular pattern had been established so that organization
could be done almost to a formula.GOLD RUSH DAYS The first move on the part of the men to organize was to establish a mining district. This district needed a set of mining laws and these were adopted by the first comers. The later arrivals were expected to subscribe to these laws as a price of staking claims to the district. The process was democracy in action in a tradition extending in America back to the famous Mayflower Compact of the Pilgrims. To the miners, the important laws were those governing the claiming, occupation and possession of their claims. There was plenty of law around to take care of normal necessities, it was felt, but nothing much in the way of formal mining law. The miners also professed to recognize a need for some variation in laws of districts according to the differences that existed. Sterling Creek offers a particularly good illustration of the problems arising in legislating on claims. There were four classes of claims here. The most important were, of course, the usual "creek" claims, those adjacent to the stream. Of nearly equal importance, because of their richness, were the "flats" claims. These were claims on the land where the little valley widened out and were mined by sinking a shaft to bedrock and sending the gold-bearing soil and gravel up by bucket. The next class of claims was the hillside claims. Removed from the stream, these claims were usually larger and not as rich as the first two types. Sterling Creek also had a type of claim that took in the hillsides along the bottom of the valley. These claims were worked by drifting, running a more or less horizontal shaft into the hill to reach bedrock. It is not possible to be precise in describing the mining laws of Sterling Creek, for they have disappeared. The laws were probably recorded in Volume I of the mining laws of Jackson County. In the course of time this volume has disappeared from the county archives. [The volume is now held by the Oregon Historical Society. Mining claims were rarely officially registered with the county recorder; mining laws even more rarely.] It is possible, however, to reconstruct these laws in a sketchy way. The standard claim in Jackson County seems to have been twenty acres with a two-hundred-yard creek frontage. In the first rush, it is probable that the creek claims were only half this size. Claims on the flat were smaller and one source states that at Sterling Creek they were forty-foot squares because of the richness of the ground. Later, after the gold rush had subsided, flat claims were limited to 100 square yards. Hillside claims seem to have been twenty-acre claims while the claims at the foot of the hills were the same size as creekside claims. Another clause that was invariably present in mining laws was one limiting the number of claims that might be held by pre-emption and the total number of claims that might be held by one person. In the days of the first rush the limit was one claim by pre-emption and not more than one by purchase. Occasionally a limit was set as to how many claims might be worked together but this does not seem to have been in effect at Sterling Creek. A very important provision in every set of mining laws was the provision regarding occupancy. Claim jumpers were always a serious problem in a mining district, especially a new one. The miners did not want a claim standing idle when a willing man was available who wanted to work it. On the other hand, there were reasons that a miner might have to leave his claim temporarily for a short time that did not constitute abandonment in any sense. The miner usually wanted to be reasonable and just in the matter and this clause was always a serious problem in a mining district. During the first flush of the rush into a district a miner had to occupy his claim continuously. Until he had established his ownership as a matter of general knowledge, it was not safe to leave it. This is why most miners had partners. Someone had to be on the claim at all times. After the first days of the rush continuous occupation was not necessary and the mining laws usually provided periods when no occupation at all was necessary. At Sterling Creek few of the miners worked a claim by themselves. Very few of the claims were rich enough so that a man could make wages working alone. Additional hands increased the take considerably, usually far beyond the cost of the additional labor. Sometimes men worked claims in partnership, sometimes they hired others to work for them. Occasionally men who owned adjacent claims would work both claims in partnership. Most of the rich areas found groups of men working together. The usual size ranged from three to fifteen men working in a company. A group of fifteen could work enormous quantities of gravel in a short time. The law of occupation still holds in the mining country. A man must post his notices and be in physical possession of the claim on July 1 each year in order to continue holding it. There is a good reason for this. Miners abandon claims for a number of reasons: death, illness, discouragement or moving to another district. It was felt that a good claim should not remain inactive when there was someone willing to work it and the original owner was no longer interested in it. These, like most of the regulations of the mining camps, were simple, practical provisions. The miner was vitally concerned with possession of the claim and with water rights. Other laws seemed unnecessary. The miners had come to work their claims. They resented anything which interfered with this. The mining season was short enough without taking time out to attend meetings or worry about government. Law and order at Sterling was never a problem. The camp was just a few miles from the county seat at Jacksonville and government was firmly established there, the first territorial court session having been held in September, 1853. Shortly after the strike at Sterling the Jackson County court appointed a justice of the peace and the regular machinery of law and order began operating. The summer of 1854 was warm and somewhat drier than normal. Some of the men who had rushed to the new strike became discouraged and left. This was normal. There is an hysteric quality to a gold rush. Men get caught up and carried away by the excitement. After a time the fever wears off and they return quietly to the places they had left. Others became discouraged by the lack of water. To work their claims required carrying the dirt down to the creek and it did not seem worthwhile. Those who had the less promising claims and those who had less persistence had left Sterling Creek even before the end of that first summer. When George Miller West arrived at Sterlingville in the early fall of 1854 he found the miners generally camped around on the hills under the larger trees, disdaining further shelter. By this time the town boasted some buildings, a hotel, a bakery and a grocery having been added, and another hotel and a couple of boarding houses were under construction. The scarcity of water was being felt and there was little work to be had until the rains came. West reported plenty of unclaimed ground but none of it supplied with water. He found a small patch of ground and located it. Working the ground and carrying his dirt to the water was a tedious chore but he had compensation in making as much as $5.50 to the pan, a return which indicates the richness of the strike at Sterling. Sterlingville took on a more settled look as the year wore on. The additions of buildings to the infant town and the organization of some of the ground into company-style workings marked the maturing of a gold rush community. With winter coming on, activity increased. The fall rains would supply the water to work the claims while the winter weather made it necessary to build something more permanent than a blanket under a tree for shelter. Cabins were built and some of the company operations constructed cook shacks to take care of their employees. James M. Sutton, one of the first miners at Sterling, has left us a fine description of his cabin and of the life that he and his partners led in these early days on the creek. The cabin was a commodious structure eight feet wide and ten feet long. The logs that composed it had been hacked down by brute force using the old root ax. As this was the only tool that the partners had for carpentry, the resulting structure was lacking in elegance. A few nails driven in the wall of the cabin served to hold the gum boots and the clothes of the men when they came in at night. The furnishings of the cabin consisted of a rude table, benches and bunks. The bunks were built against the walls, a saving in space and in construction time and were filled with fir boughs for comfort and warmth. The fireplace was a crude structure of mud and sticks rising from a stone hearth in one end of the cabin and served for heating and cooking both. The cooking was as primitive as the arrangements for shelter. A camp kettle and a frying pan were the sole utensils employed and proved sufficient for the culinary activities of the men. The diet was beans and bacon. (This was augmented by bread purchased from the bakery.) A batch of beans was prepared once or twice a week. The pot of beans was warmed slightly for breakfast. If the men were not too tired from the day's work, it was warmed again in the evening. Frequently the toll of the day's activity was so great that the men could not bother to heat the beans at night but gulped them down cold from the pot. Each night the results of the day's labor were brought to the cabin in a gold pan. Sutton relates that he and his partners made a game of guessing the amount obtained. The gold was then weighed with a scale, an indispensable part of the equipment of anyone in the mining country. This chore performed, the partners checked the vicinity of the cabin closely to make sure that they were not being spied upon. Then they went to their cache where the accumulated results of their labor were hidden. Sutton says that they had bored a hole in one of the logs of the cabin with an auger. The hole was plugged with a pin. Inside the hole was the community poke, and the daily take was added to it each night after the return to the cabin. After putting the poke back into its hiding place, the men either ate some cold beans or just crawled into their bunks. There was no time for night life and no energy even if there had been time. They had to be up at work on the claim by dawn the next morning. The mining season was short and no one could afford to waste a minute of it. It was a hard life but it had its compensations. Frequently the partners became very close and the comradeship of the completely male society was fondly remembered by nearly all the miners as they reminisced in their later years. The invigorating mountain air and the restful beds of fir boughs were pleasures not to be despised, either. Sutton's experience was with a group of men working in partnership. Life in the larger companies was somewhat different. Here all of the men were hired hands working for wages and the attitude was, consequently, a less devoted one. These men were the ones who engaged in the night life of the camp along with the storekeepers, gamblers and other non-mining people who made up the community. The companies usually employed a dozen or more men. The owners might also be the supervisors but the usual pattern was to hire a manager or a foreman to run the mine. The company usually provided food for the men and hired a cook to prepare it. Occasionally bunk houses were also provided though the miner was usually expected to furnish his own shelter. George West found employment with one of these companies during that first winter in Sterlingville. His own hillside claim was not productive enough for a one-man operation and working for a company offered security. For many this was more important than the unlikely chance of a bonanza that might be discovered working for themselves. The company that West went to work for was owned by two men whom he identified as Tex and Halick (probably Halleck). Tex may well have been Tex Helm who was well known in the area. Halleck was a lieutenant with the Army garrison at Fort Lane on the Rogue River, according to West. The company operated several claims adjacent to each other and employed two gangs of men working the combined holdings. It also had its own cook shack and employed a cook to feed its help. Tex and Halleck had come to suspect their foreman of stealing from the cleanup. It was a suspicion that was probably well founded and Tex, as a hotel owner and a gambler, was in good position to note any peculations. West was given the job as foreman for the company, a responsible position for a young man in his early twenties. The job was an arduous one. Each evening West had to clean both strings of sluices and pan out the gold that had been collected during the day. He kept the take at the cook shack and turned in the gold once a week to the partners. At this time he would receive the pay for the men and would turn it over to them. The men were paid in orders on Sterlingville merchants but West was to receive his pay in gold. It was a good job for a young man and George West let his pay pile up with his employers, hoping to acquire a nest egg. He wanted to settle down to farming and this was the means of acquiring capital for that purpose. It turned out to be a bad move. Tex was an inveterate gambler and hit a losing streak. He gambled away his hotel and then the creditors stepped in, seizing all the partnership assets for debts. West found himself out of a job and relates that this situation found him with only fifty cents in his pocket from his months of labor. The men who filled the mining camps were good and bad as might be expected. Some were lazy, some were complainers, some were thieves, some were gamblers and some were idlers. There were ambitious young men like George West and Jim Sutton, who were both unlucky in their mining experiences. There were also ambitious young men like "Tod" Cameron who stayed on to become quite well to do. Nor did the closeness of the partners in working a claim always result in lasting friendships. It might as easily end in lasting enmity. Many times it resulted in an in-between state where the men involved had nothing more to do with each other. One example of the results of partnership is a classic story of the mining West that comes from Sterling Creek. Whether "Unlucky Bob" and "Old Bill Slicat" were real inhabitants of early Sterling or were just frontier types, we don't know. Probably every camp had its "Old Bill Slicat" though he might not always be recognized from his ownership of an appaloosa. Certainly "Unlucky Bob" is a type that abounds everywhere. Here is the story as Jim Sutton told it in the Ashland Tidings of June 17, 1876. UNLUCKY
"BOB" AT STERLINGVILLE
Old Bill
Slicat. Well I should say
I did! Didn't I sink the hole on Walla Walla Flat right where he took
out his pile? Didn't he go right into the hole after he'd got me out'n
it, and get an ounce to the pan: Didn't you never hear what a mean
trick he played me, about that claim, Tom? Well, you see, him an' I'd
been prospectin' round Sterlin' a month or so, in the spring of '55,
and neither of us struck anythin' worth while, an' things begun to look
purty blue. Old Evans, who kept up on the corner, you know, refused to
let us have a sack of flour, an' take it off the bedrock, so you see,
somethin' had to be done. So I concluded to take my pick an' pan, an'
go down torge the Rhinehart gulch an' sink a hole on the flat. I went
down about ten feet, an' got to be rather hard pitchin'. I went and
hunted up Old Bill and we rigged up a windless, and next day I went in
and put the hole down about eighteen feet to bedrock. I tell you, Tom,
that it was as purty dirt as you ever seed. But Old Bill, after washin'
out a few pans, declared he couldn't get the color, an' begin to cuss
the Sterlin' diggin's, and everybody about 'em. He wanted me to go back
with him to the right-hand fork. As I felt a little cuss-like torge the
diggin's, I concluded to go. He went and caught that old spotted
red-ear'd cayuse of his, and we packed our "traps"
and put out for Jackson Creek. We hadn't got further'n Old Dav.
Hopkins' ranch, when he'd commenced pickin' a quarrel with me. When we
got to Jacksonville, he unpacked my blankets, and told me to "git." I
took my "duds" and went up to old Squire Hayden's camp, that night, and
never heard any more of Old Bill till I heard of him strikin' it big in
that very hole of ourn. You see, he'd got a big prospect, while I was down in the hole, an' then "played" me. If you don't b'lieve me, just ask "Cap" Saltmarsh, Tom Gilson, Tom Wright, or any of them old fellows; they all know "Unlucky Bob." Thus ends the tale. He probably got little sympathy from the men he called on to witness the truth of his yarn, for each of them stayed on Sterling Creek to earn a comfortable living from mining and farming. CHAPTER
III
It was
apparent almost immediately
that the strike on Sterling Creek was a rich one. The first comers were
taking out large quantities of the distinctive pale gold and early
reports stated that $50 per day was nothing uncommon. Within a week
reports were circulating that many of the Sterling miners were making
from $100 to $500 a day. Newspaper headlines all over Northern
California heralded the rich, new discovery and magnified the early
reports of the richness of the new field.STERLINGVILLE Tension and excitement held through the summer as a shortage of water prevented the miners from working many of the claims The summer of 1854 was a dry one and Sterling Creek runs only a small head of water under the best circumstances. The claims that were working gave such promise that the coming of the winter rains was eagerly awaited. This obvious richness of the ground ensured that a town would spring up to serve the strike. By the first of October, the diggings boasted a population of some 1,500 and the town included what one newspaper referred to as "several substantial houses." Various references to Sterlingtown, Sterlingville and Sterling City indicate that the name had not been agreed upon as yet but this was an incidental point to the men who had come to reap fortunes from the bedrock. The pattern of the development of a town at a new diggings was pretty well standardized by this time. What information there is concerning the early development of Sterlingville indicates that it was typical in this respect. Early businesses nearly always included a bakery and there were, of course, saloons and stores. A boarding house was also a good business if a camp showed any signs of permanence. One of the first businesses, and probably one of the substantial buildings referred to, was the El Dorado Saloon. The deed records of Jackson County record that in December, 1854 "a certain house and lot in the Town of Sterlingville … known as the El Dorado Saloon" was sold by Mr. James W. Buck and his wife to Orlo Cheever for the sum of $1200. Other references to the deeds records give further indications of early buildings and business establishments. Early 1855 brought the sale of the "Alexander and Knox Drinking Saloon … on Water Street … between Alexander Stuart's Boarding House and a Small Board House on the upper sides." A few pages further on we find the record of the sale of a boarding house on February 17, 1855. The summer of 1855 brought the sale of a house and lot in Sterling that has some interesting information on other buildings. This property is described as located on the corner opposite Karewski's store and the Adams Bakery. A later notation in the volume, dated June 27, 1855, records the sale of the Braman and Rood warehouse. This sample gives some idea of the early businesses and buildings that made up the town of Sterlingville. The loss of the plat of the town site (if, indeed, there ever were one) prevents identification of Water Street or the location of the properties but the pattern is reasonably clear. One of the most profitable of these early businesses was Gustav Karewski's store. Karewski had been one of the first on the ground with merchandise after the strike and had quickly acquired a string of pack animals to freight goods in from Jacksonville. Later he began to freight from Yreka, which was better stocked and had goods at slightly lower prices. Karewski's ownership of the pack train made for added profits in the business both from the savings in freight charges and his ability to get his goods in when he wanted them. He later claimed to have made $20,000 clear profit on the operation in that first year of operation. The money was soon lost however. When a strike was announced at Willow Creek, Karewski attempted to duplicate his Sterling operation. He packed his train and rushed into the new area. Willow Creek, discovered in 1855, proved to be a humbug and Karewski lost his entire profit as a result. He'd sold goods on "bedrock" and the failure of the diggings to produce any noticeable amount of gold left him holding a lot of worthless paper that was, largely, uncollectable. When young George West arrived at Sterling in the fall of 1854 he found a lively community which included hotels, saloons, stores, bakers and butchers as well as a gambling house. The town was on the west side of the creek, while most of the mines were on the east side in the flats in the area now occupied by the Sterling Mining Company reservoir, the Duncan place, the mining company headquarters and extending up toward the old Graupner place. Sterling Creek suffered from no such shortage of food as plagued many of the other mining camps. The farms of the Rogue Valley were producing plentifully by this time and the miners were able to buy plenty of fresh food that fall from the farmers who packed it in across the hills. Flouring mills were in operation, too. The mill at Ashland was able to supply a large quantity of that valuable commodity ground from locally raised wheat. The fall and early winter were quite dry, however. Many of the early claimants had given up and abandoned their claims as early as the end of September and others were to do so in the next few months. There were only two companies operating at this time. One was that owned by Reuben S. Armstrong, a native of Canada, who was to be an important figure on the creek for many years. The other was that owned by Helm and Halleck in partnership. West and his partners took some unclaimed ground near the mouth of Sterling Creek and dug a ditch in from the Little Applegate in order to get water to work their ground. Like other subsequent ventures in the area (later named Buncom), it paid little and the partners felt the returns were not worth continuing the venture. This was the first attempt to solve the basic problem of Sterling Creek, a water shortage, by ditching. It was by no means the last. The coming of the winter rains after the first of the year improved the situation. Other companies began operating and the individuals with claims in the flats and on the hillsides were able to begin working their ground. For those who had waited for the rains, the rewards were great. Twenty dollars a day was reported as the average take while some fortunate individuals took out more. Young George West reported that the gold on the claim he was supervising for the company was coarse, frequently running to four- and five-dollar nuggets. At the price of Sterling gold, this meant nearly half-ounce chunks. Sterling Creek gold is distinctive. It has a high silver content which makes it very pale in color. The nuggets are not only coarse but look as though they had been pounded between rocks. Many of them are quite thin though of large size. One nugget reported from this time was as large as a man's hand but it was so thin that it weighed only two ounces. The rains that permitted the miners to begin working the ground brought prosperity to the settlement. A number of businesses changed hands and some new and more permanent buildings were built as it began to appear that the creek would support a large population of miners. The Jackson County court added its recognition to the permanence of the camp. U. S. Hayden had been appointed Justice of the Peace in July, 1854. In April, 1855, George W. Anderson was appointed as constable and the court ordered the establishment of an election district to be known as Sterling Precinct. The polling place designated was the house of Helms and Davis and the judges of election were to be Jason Braman, Benjamin Armstrong and L. J. C. Duncan. Sterling Creek was to play a small part in the buildup of hostilities between the miners and the Indians that was to erupt late in 1855 as the Rogue River Indian war. One of the permanent Indian camps, known locally as rancherias, was located at the mouth of Sterling Creek. Like most of the camps, it was a small one though it had been large enough to discourage prospecting until Jim Sterling made his strike. In early 1855, a miner named Sickman had gone out deer hunting. Like present-day followers of the sport, he had a tendency to shoot at sound rather than at sight of an animal. On this occasion he killed an Indian woman from the rancheria at the mouth of the creek. The Indians were highly incensed by the proceeding and appeared at the cabin of Sickman and his partners demanding blood money, in this case Sickman's horse. Sickman refused to comply. The persistence of the Indians led the men to move up the creek to the outskirts of the town. The Indians followed them and, one evening, five warriors appeared and demanded compensation now. Sickman's friends stalled the Indians while that mighty hunter got his horse and fled over the hill to Phoenix and thence into Yreka. Some few presents were given to the Indians but the incident added fuel to the steadily worsening relations between the whites and the Indians throughout the Rogue Indians' country. This event was followed in the spring by the "Humbug War." The name derives from the mining camp involved. It is not, however, an inappropriate name for the "war" itself which was only slightly more comic and less bloody than most of the Indian-white fracases in the area. The war began in a drunken row on Humbug Creek which involved a white man and two Indians. Apparently the Indians were drunk and were staggering along the trail when they met the white man. Had this been all, the incident would not have been recorded, but the white man provoked the Indians. A fight ensued in which the white man was killed and one of the Indians was wounded. The discovery of the body of the white man along the trail by some miners brought the affair to light and caused panic in the area. Here was a miner killed by Indians. It might signal the beginning of another Indian outbreak. Soon the story was to grow until circumstantial detail (all fabricated, of course) proved that it did mark the beginning of a war of extermination. Had the event not occurred in July, it might soon have been forgotten. July, however, is the low point of the year in the placer country. The last cleanup is usually made in June. The water supply doesn't support further operation. The miners were largely unemployed and engaged in killing time or in desultory improvement work on their claims. Hundreds of miners were available for whatever excitement that might crop up. Two companies of militia were formed in Northern California. They set forth in martial array to apprehend the two culprits and bring them to justice. True to the tradition of the frontier, they grabbed the first Indians they found and arrested three of the number as likely-looking culprits. Before a trial could take place, however, two of the Indians managed to make their escape and fled to their camps in the hills to warn their compatriots of the situation that looked ominous to them. The militia group immediately assumed that the escape of two of its captives proved the guilt of those two conclusively. When urged to subscribe to the logic of this by releasing the third Indian, now obviously redundant, a large group averred that a bird in the hand was worth two in the brush and, having lost two, they intended to hang on to this one. The Indians near Humbug Creek went on a war footing immediately. Hostilities ensued and eleven miners were killed in the course of a few days. This brought the mustering of additional militia companies to join the vigilant heroes of the arrest. It looked as though a full-scale war would develop and apprehension ran high throughout the region both among whites and the Indians. A rumor that the guilty Indians had fled to the Rogue River reservation decided the volunteers. Five companies of California militia (about 200 men) set out in pursuit of the hostiles. The pursuit seems to have been conducted according to the principles of the adage that haste makes waste and a motto of slow but sure. The companies arrived in martial ferocity at Sterlingville on August 4, 1855. There they received confirmation of the rumor that the hostiles had sought sanctuary on the Rogue River reservation and had placed themselves under the protection of the regular Army garrison at Fort Lane. The exertions of the march and the new intelligence both required that the citizen soldiers stop at Sterlingville to rest and take stock of the situation. In the best tradition of frontier democracy, the militiamen held a meeting and passed some resolutions which were posted to the commanding officer at Fort Lane the next morning. From the tenor and the language of the resolution it would appear that the meeting was held in one of the saloons and that much inspiration in its composition was derived from the sale stock of the establishment. The militia informed Captain A. J. Smith of Fort Lane that he was hereby ordered to deliver the fugitive Indians and the stolen property and livestock in their possession to them. The captain was generously allowed three days in which to comply with the request. Lest the generosity give the captain a false impression of the inflexible determination of the heroic militia, Captain Smith was assured that failure to comply with their request would force the militia to "go and take them where they may be found, at all and every hazard." Captain Andrew Jackson Smith was not a man to be frightened by emphatic language. With a forthrightness that does credit to his namesake, he summarily rejected the manifesto. He agreed to surrender any stolen livestock when proper, legal proof of ownership was presented but he absolutely refused to surrender the Indians. With the rejection of its comic opera manifesto, the militia was in a dilemma. It paraded in strength. It postured. It threatened. Most of the men knew Fort Lane and a number of them knew of Captain Andrew Jackson Smith. After lengthy consultation, the heroes took counsel with discretion and returned to their homes, lauding their restraint in refusing to attack the fort. An investigation of the Humbug incident disclosed the real nature of the drunken brawl which had precipitated it and the tension began to ease. It looked as though peace had been preserved. Peace was not so easily attained, however. A group of Jacksonville men organized in a local saloon and decided to teach some Indians a lesson. They armed themselves, saddled up and rode out along the military road to an Indian camp a few miles from town. Carefully timing their arrival so that the Indian men were already off hunting in the mountains, the raiders burst on the camp and killed the women, children and the two old men who were there. Scalping their victims, the group rode back to Jacksonville to celebrate the triumph in suitable fashion. The Indians retaliated on a group of white settlers living in Josephine County and the war was on. It was to last for ten months marked by desultory fighting until the last of the Indians surrendered. The only notable feature of the war was that the damage claims and bills for supply submitted were so outrageously high that Congress refused to appropriate money to pay them. The men of Sterling played their part in the war. Though the town did not contribute a militia company, many men enlisted in the militia for the campaign. Washington Bailey made an arrangement with his partners whereby they served consecutive terms in the militia. Others refused to desert their claims with the winter rains coming on. For the most part the war was fought far from Sterling Creek. The nearest approach of hostilities came in December, 1855. Two Indians forted up in a cabin at the junction of the Applegate and Little Applegate a few miles from the mouth of Sterling Creek. A group of some sixty miners from Sterlingville turned out to help besiege the beleaguered savages until a unit of the regular Army arrived. The Army detachment brought a howitzer but discovered, when the piece was set up, that the ammunition had been left behind. A detachment was sent to Fort Lane for the ammunition and arrived with it near dusk. The howitzer was unlimbered and the hut rather badly battered. Unfortunately, the Indians evaded the vigilance of the besieging army and escaped from their perilous plight. The year was not otherwise notable at the camp that crouched on the tongue of land between Valley Flat Creek and Sterling Creek. The miners continued to wash out large quantities of the pale, flaky gold and to spend much of it in the business establishments of the thriving community. Although unnoticed at the time, one of the new arrivals was to play an important part in the history of the community. Edward Graupner wandered in from California and took up a claim on Sterling. A native of Saxe-Coburg where he was born in 1820, Graupner was to remain for more than forty years, farming and mining on Sterling Creek. The remains of his cabin can still be found, nearly covered by grass. The earth around the site is pockmarked with holes left by those seeking the fortune in gold that is said to have been buried there in four large, iron dutch ovens. The beginning of 1856 found the camp apparently thriving. A population variously estimated from six to eight hundred was scattered through the town and the small valley. A bustling business district boasted stores, two gambling saloons, a tenpin alley, four boarding houses, a blacksmith shop and a livery stable. Another report gave the town a total of thirty some buildings of all kinds. The claims continued to yield a rich harvest in gold as the winter rains provided the long-awaited water. One team of three miners was reported to have taken out $1360 in gold from their claim in one day in March. This was a noteworthy take, but the average yield seems to have been not too far below this. The winter which had begun well soon turned against the miners. January was a very dry month and February found the mines again suffering from the lack of water, more exasperating for being unseasonal. The richness of the claims coupled with the drought stimulated a group of miners to attempt a new venture in February, 1856. They organized to survey a route for bringing water by ditch from the west fork of the Applegate to the Sterling diggings. The survey proved to be a disappointment. The length of the proposed. ditch was enough to scuttle the project. It required a capital outlay beyond the means of the organizers. In addition to the length, the construction gave promise of being rather more complicated and expensive than had been first envisioned. The group disbanded and the ditch necessary to provide ample water for the upper creek had to await a later occasion for its construction. The failure of the ditch project marked the beginning of the decline of Sterlingville as a mining town. Evidence of this decline is to be found in the county records. As early as March, 1856 a store and its stock of merchandise had been sold for debts. The succeeding months saw an increasing number of property transfers within the town itself. The price of the businesses began to decline, too. The Alexander and Knox Drinking Saloon on Water Street was sold in late 1855 for a mere $689. The first months of 1856 saw a continuation of this trend in the property transfers recorded. The real harbinger of the decline came in May, 1856. A newspaper report of May 24 stated that the miners had begun to run shafts in the flats near the town and that some of the shafts were actually undermining the town. The newspaper predicted that the entire town would soon be undermined. This was always a sign that a mining camp was declining in prosperity. Although drifting under the town itself frequently marked the final stage in the life of a mining town before it became a ghost town, Sterlingville was not to suffer this fate yet. The mining operations at Sterling were entering a new phase, and the continued high returns from the mines assured the town of a continuing prosperity even though the basis of the community was changed. The easily worked ground at Sterling had been exhausted by the first miners. The nature of the gold deposits remaining required a new technique but ensured the profitability of the new technique. A principal problem of mining on Sterling Creek was getting to the bedrock. In the old channel, a prehistoric river bed, the river bed was a mass of conglomerate that defied any of the tools of the miners of the 1850s and was to resist even the efforts of "giant powder" in a later period. The sharply slanted hills also covered the gold-bearing bedrock with a huge quantity of overburden. In both instances, the only possible way of reaching the bedrock was by drifting. The miners began to drive their shafts back from the creek banks and from the bottoms of the gullies. The shift from surface placering to this type of mining brought a significant change in the character of the community. The miners who stayed on were of a different ilk from their migratory brethren who stuck to surface mining. These men had to invest capital in order to acquire gold. A shaft is an expensive piece of construction that takes time to build and more time to exploit fully. The men who stayed on Sterling Creek were permanent settlers. They brought in their families or began raising families. This brought a permanence to the settlement that boded well for its continued existence. The boom at Sterlingville was over and the community began to enter on a new phase of its existence as 1856 came to a close. It was a period that was to be less spectacular but not without a color and character of its own. CHAPTER IV
The year 1857 marks the beginning of the
period of
decline of the town of Sterlingville. By the beginning of the year the
population was estimated at approximately 500 people, a sharp falling
off from the boom years. The drop was to continue at an accelerating
rate through 1860, for the federal census taken found only 123
residents
of the mining community in that year.STERLINGVILLE: THE DECLINE The decline in population was to be accompanied by changes in the character of the population, too. The booming camps of the mining areas were predominantly male and largely composed of younger men. Sterlingville changed from such a camp to a community of families in the years following 1857. This was a transition that was necessary if the community was to achieve permanence, for the all-male community faded nearly as rapidly as it was built. The factors that brought the change were simple. The wealth of Sterling Creek was sufficient attraction in itself. The changing character of the mining operations described in the last chapter required capital investment. The men who made the investments stayed with their capital and brought their families to live with them. The dominant figure of this period at Sterlingville was the farmer-miner. The fact that they themselves gave the farmer title first place is significant. These men relied upon agriculture for their basic livelihood and turned to mining for profits. It was an ideal situation for this, for the seasons of work in the two industries were almost perfectly complementary. Mining required the water of the winter rains. Agriculture filled in the period when the mines were closed from lack of water. It was an ideal situation for developing a stable and relatively prosperous community. A significant token of the arrival of the new period in Sterlingville life was the marriage of Martin Hurst and Mary Simpson that took place in the summer of 1857. It is the first wedding known to have taken place in the town and the fact that it was not considered extraordinary in the life of the community indicates that the character of the population had already undergone a significant change. As a footnote to the event, it might be well to relate that the Hursts lived in the community for a number of years. Martin Hurst was typical of the farmer-miners, working diligently at his claims through the winter and raising some livestock on his place. Many of the men who were to be associated with Sterling Creek through the remaining years of the century arrived in the community about this time. A few were established by 1857 but many of them settled here in the period from 1857 to 1860. One of the most noted of these men was Theodric "Tod" Cameron, who purchased the bakery in 1858. He operated the bakery for several years but it is likely that the advent of the family as the dominant unit resulted in a reduction of patronage. Tod Cameron soon began to acquire mining property along the creek and was able to join his claims so that he could operate them as a mine. At the same time he acquired land on the Little Applegate just below the mouth of Sterling Creek which he developed into a prosperous and extensive cattle ranch. He was later to serve several terms in the Oregon legislature as senator from Jackson County. Another Sterling resident who began to become prominent at this period was one of the few early comers to the creek who remained on it. George Yaudes had been one of the early gold seekers at Sterling but had soon gone into partnership with his brother Mathias in one of the early stores in the town. He continued to hold mining properties and operated one of the richest mines of this period in partnership with his brother-in-law, Joseph Saltmarsh. In succeeding years George Yaudes was Sterlingville's first and only postmaster and served many years as clerk of the school district. The real backbone of the Sterlingville settlement in this period was the Saltmarsh family. The old patriarch of the family was A. B. Saltmarsh, known to all as "Cap." One of the family (there is some question as to which one) came with the early rush and others arrived within a year. The most prominent of the family was Joseph Saltmarsh who was an important civic figure in the community and represented it at the county level in most things. His cousin Reuben was active in the period we are discussing now but was to migrate to the Willamette Valley later. The remaining member of the family was Sylvester "Ves" Saltmarsh, who operated the stage from Sterling to Jacksonville for a number of years. With George Yaudes, a member of the family by marriage, the Saltmarshes dominated the district and were a formidable family unit. Rounding out the group of important permanent residents were the Pearces, the Gilsons, Riley Phillips and his brother Sam and the Armstrongs. A colorful figure who cannot be overlooked was Edward Graupner who arrived in Sterlingville sometime in 1855. He was a native of Germany which gave rise to his nickname "Dutch" and devoted his life to a variety of enterprises including running cattle--wild, California stock with long horns. At roundup times fence rails were tied to the horns to keep them from disappearing back into the brush. "Dutch" also mined and farmed just above Sterlingville. Drifting into the hillsides and sinking shafts in the flats made it possible to tap the Sterling gold deposits but both were expensive and tedious methods. A good head of water from a dependable supply would make it possible to work the ground more easily and cheaply. A ditch was the obvious answer to this problem and to those concerned with keeping miners from leaving the community. The beginning of 1858 brought a proposal to bring water from the Little Applegate into the upper creek with a continuation of the ditch on into Jacksonville, which had similar problems of lack of water in the hills back of town. A company was formed to get on with the project and it made some preliminary surveys. It was soon apparent that the project was beyond the financial resources of the proposed company. In order to get a sufficient flow of water at a proper height, the ditch would have to reach back nearly to the Squaw Lakes and would be more than thirty miles long, with extensive flume work being necessary in many places. For Jacksonville, the water would cost more than it was worth and Sterlingville did not have the capital for anything nearly that extensive. While politics had undoubtedly come to Sterling with the election of 1856, the party of Democracy (as it preferred to be known) did not arrive on the scene until 1858. On February 13 a meeting was called of the Democrats in Sterling precinct. With Reuben Armstrong in the chair and James Wood as Secretary, Sterling Democracy elected B. Bozarth, D. Crowley, Perry Bowen and James A. Van Nest to represent it at the county convention. The delegation did a good job for the community. Though none of the Sterling men received even a nomination at the county convention, its work bore fruit. In the fall of 1858 a new county road was voted for Sterling which was to begin in Jackass Gulch (now Forest Creek) and run from thence to Buncom at the mouth of Sterling Creek. From Buncom it was to run to the head of Sterling Creek and cross the divide to Griffin Creek. The new route was a valuable asset to the community for it provided a much better road to the farms along Bear Creek which were a chief source of food, especially wheat, for the community. The spring of 1858 was moderately wet. With this aid from nature, the miners made good returns on their claims. As late as April the water supply was reported as good and the ground productive. It was the best season to date and June found some 83 residents casting their ballots in the general election. Optimism returned to the camp, though miners are a notoriously optimistic lot and quickly restored to that joyous state. The return of the mining season in the late fall duplicated the prosperity of spring. These glad tidings induced the editor of the Oregon Sentinel to revive the ditch project in a series of fulsome editorials. The editor seems to have been nearly alone in his enthusiasm, however, for nothing came of his call to action. The miners were busy taking advantage of the good mining weather. Even the long-delayed news of Oregon's admission as a state failed to halt the work. There was time enough to celebrate when the dry season came. The optimistic editor of the Oregon Sentinel was unabashed. He continued to beat the drums for the high ditch project. The proposal was, apparently, greeted with overwhelming apathy, for his portrayal of the manifold benefits of the project became more fulsome. Undaunted, the editor brought forth a proposal to dig artesian wells to supply the mines. This was too much. The editor appears to have been abashed at this wild scheme himself for we hear no more of it. The remainder of 1859 seems to have passed rather quietly. The mining season came to an end in April and the summer was a typically hot, dry period. Times were neither good nor bad and, like most of the rest of the nation, Sterlingville appeared to be drifting along, almost as though anticipating the stirring events that were to plunge the country into war within two years. A token of a revival of business might be found in the application of Reuben Saltmarsh to the county commissioners in December, 1859. He respectfully requested the privilege of a license to sell "Spirituous liquors in quantities less than one quart," for the sum of $25. The county court issued a permit good for six months. This kept him in business until the election of 1860. From a perusal of the records of the court, it would appear that Saltmarsh was merely capitalizing on the electioneering season rather than planning a long-term business, for the usual license period was a year. In his new role as a prominent local businessman, Reuben received further recognition from the county court. He was appointed as the judge of election for Sterling precinct with Philip Gleave (another long-time resident) and J. C. Corbell as his associates. The election of 1860, which was to cause so much difficulty in the rest of the nation, passed very peacefully at Sterlingville. The records of the vote cast have been lost but contemporary reports indicate that there was little conflict within the county. In fact, there is strong reason to suspect that the general reaction to the election was apathy. What political interest there was was completely engrossed in the brand-new state government. There is a valley legend that 400 votes were cast for Abraham Lincoln at Sterlingville in 1860. The interesting thing about the story is that it is unadorned with the usual embroidery of incidents about the tremendous national loyalty of the people or the frightful dangers these loyal citizens faced as they saved Oregon from a fiendish southern plot. The report must be viewed with a good deal of skepticism. Throughout most of its history Sterling precinct was pretty evenly divided between the two parties. Furthermore, the federal census taker found only 123 residents, men, women, and children when he visited the area at this time. The census of 1860 provides some interesting information about the town. There were six females in the community, five of whom were married women and one a two-year-old girl. This meant that one in seven of the dwellings were occupied by families with one other family unit consisting of a widower and two minor sons. This gives a statistical indication of the transition in the character of the community. The census also presents a clear picture of the decline of Sterlingville. The census taker found some thirty dwellings which he considered worth noting as unoccupied. There were probably others like Jim Sutton's little cabin that were not considered significant enough to notice. A further evidence of the decline of the district as a placer mining camp is to be found in the presence of Chinese and Kanaka mining claims. The presence of the Chinese is an inevitable sign of decline, for the miners would never permit them to mine until the number of vacant claims reached a significant number. The Kanakas are a group that seem to have played a large part in placer mining in Jackson County. The first of these Hawaiians had come to the Northwest as fur traders. This later group was brought in by the gold rush. Jacksonville had its Kanaka Flats and there were several Kanaka Gulches in the mining districts. Sterlingville had six of them in 1860 but all of them had moved on by the time the next census taker arrived in 1870. The Chinese were to stay longer though it is not possible to say whether they were the same ones who appear in later census reports. Only one of them is named in the return and he was living by himself, an unusual occurrence. The other three are lumped together as three Chinese, male, in one dwelling with ages given. There is a suspicion that the recorded ages represent guesses by the census taker. A common practice with the gangs was to install some of the members on a mining claim. When the whole group was unemployed, it would appear and help to work the claim. It is not certain but it appears that the miners still worked for their contract wages and the boss was able to keep everything above his overhead. The census is also our source of information on the construction of a ditch to carry water to the lower creek from the Little Applegate. Fifteen miners were banded together under the leadership of the Tennessee-born Gallagher brothers, owning the ditch jointly and living together. It is not known whether the claims were worked jointly or not. The ditch is still in use and is known as the Gallagher ditch, though the water right has now been transferred to agricultural purposes. The census also gives a graphic picture of the decline of the business community. The Yaudes brothers, George and Mathias, operated a store which is listed as being worth $5,000 with its inventory. The household also included a packer so it seems reasonable to assume that the Yaudes brothers took care of the community freighting needs. James Corbell operated a blacksmith shop, and the remaining member of the business community was M. D. Eastlick who listed his occupation as gunsmith. Reuben Saltmarsh apparently felt that his career as a businessman was over by the time the census taker made his rounds. He chose, at least, to list his occupation as miner rather than as saloonkeeper. The loss of the saloon was felt in the community, however. We find Reuben's younger brother, Sylvester, receiving a license to sell spirituous liquors in quantities less than one quart in January, 1861. The fee was again $25 and the terms otherwise the same as Reuben's earlier license. The residents of the creek also received a convenient dispensary of beverages when Mr. J. T. Williams of Buncom received his license. He had to pay only ten dollars, however. There is no explanation for the smaller fee in the records of the court though it is doubtful that it was an attempt to attract new business to the county. While the East was rushing headlong into civil war, Sterlingville pursued the placid tenor of its existence as a small farming-mining community. The mining season of 1861 was a fairly successful one according to the Oregon Sentinel though a shortage of water was hampering operations. The season was salvaged in late March and April. While the nation plunged into civil war, heavy rains hit Southern Oregon. By April it was reported that more than one hundred miners were at work on Sterling Creek and were averaging three to five dollars a day. The Gallagher ditch was also contributing, for it made mining on the lower creek a year-round operation. The burst of prosperity in the spring of 1861 seems to have been responsible for the establishment of a new business. Jenning's Express began operations on the first of June. It provided twice-a-week express and passenger service from Jacksonville to Sterlingville, Buncom and returned to Jacksonville via the Little Applegate and Forest Creek. November, 1861 brought the winter rains to Southern Oregon with a vengeance. Heavy rains swelled the streams and brought severe flooding in all areas. Some communities were completely wiped out by the raging waters and none escaped serious damage. Buncom was completely inundated, and all of the flumes and sluices on the Little Applegate and lower Sterling Creek disappeared in the roiling waters. Sterlingville was less hard hit than many of the communities. The small drainage area above the community largely accounts for this. There was a good bit of damage but the miners surveying their claims after the floods subsided felt that the gains equaled the losses. The Saltmarshes reported that the floods had scoured their land and removed most of the overburden which saved them a great deal of expensive work. Another gain was in the water supply. For the first time the miners of the upper creek had ample water to work their claims. Makeshift reservoirs were constructed and ground sluicing was begun on a large scale. Some of February was lost when an unusually cold spell of weather froze the creeks and reservoirs, but March brought warmer weather. There was plenty of water and the newspapers reported that the miners were so busy working their claims that they did not even have time to make a cleanup. The scouring action of the flood waters and the extensive mining operations brought tragedy, too. Joseph A. Seymour was killed by a fall into a deep cut and a number of others were seriously injured or died in similar accidents. The depth of bedrock made it inevitable that deep cuts and shafts dotted the area. Both were dangerous in the sandy loam of the valley and proved to be a special hazard. June brought the normal decline in the water supply and the off-year elections. As with the presidential election of two years before, this one passed quietly at Sterlingville. A total of 32 ballots was cast in the precinct and the three-to-one majority for the Unionist ticket indicates that the complexion of the electorate had changed or that the war had united the rivalries to a large extent. On the local level, the voter chose John Wright as Justice of the Peace and selected S. McCallister as constable. The unusually good season of the spring of 1862 was balanced in the fall. The usual fall rains did not come and the miners on the upper creek suffered again from lack of water. Five companies were in operation at Buncom where the ditches and sluices had been repaired or rebuilt. The papers reported them as making good wages and well supplied with water. The lack of activity in some districts from the water shortage and the prosperity of Buncom may account for the small crime wave that engulfed that lower creek community. Johnson and Company reported that its sluice box was robbed on December 10th with the culprits getting an estimated $300. Several small incidents occurred and were capped by the theft of several horses. The horses were recovered near Jacksonville but the thieves were never identified. The advent of 1863 improved the mining situation. The winter and spring rains arrived on schedule with slightly more than normal moisture and brought a return of mining to the upper creek. Though the loss of income from the drought of the fall was not recovered, the returns from spring mining were sufficient to make it a fair year. Buncom, supplied with water from the Phillips and Gallagher ditches, was able to operate on a year-round basis so it did not suffer from the seasonal oddities. The lower creek began to displace the upper creek as the center of mining activity. The claims around Sterlingville were nearly all in the hands of the permanent settlers which brought a staid stability that contrasted sharply with the nearly all-male population of the settlement at the mouth of the stream. The fall of 1863 brought a revival of interest in the ditch project. The Southern Oregon Water Ditch and Mining Company was organized to undertake the project and a survey was made of the projected route. This was a much more ambitious undertaking than the previously constructed ditches. Realizing that considerable flume work would be necessary, the company ordered a saw mill with the intention of providing its own lumber for the new venture. The mill had arrived in Crescent City, California by the beginning of February. Winter snows made the mountain road into the valley impassable to such a load, so the concern marked time. The foundations for the mill had been laid and the winter had been used to advantage in acquiring a deck of logs. The ditch project was not to materialize. The company set up its steam mill in the early spring and found so much profit in the product that the ditch project went into discard. Sterlingville had a new industry but the middle and upper creek areas were still without a reliable water supply. This lack was particularly felt in the spring of 1864, for the first three months of the year brought drought and the rains which finally arrived in April saved the farm crops but failed to help the miner. The election of 1864 proved to be the most exciting to that point in Sterling's history. Here as elsewhere, there was much excitement and the campaign waxed hot and heavy. Invective flowed freely on both sides as the partisans of "Honest Abe" and "Little Mac" both laid claim to the only genuine patriotism and asserted that they monopolized truth and virtue. Though the campaign at Sterlingville did not attract outside attention, it must have been an exciting one. The tally of the ballots following the June election showed that the Democrats had a majority of one in the twenty-nine ballots cast in the precinct. The town followed the country, for the Democrats carried the county by the scant margin of 50 votes. The fall of 1864 brought floods to the area again. They were not as devastating as the big flood of the spring of 1861, however. Buncom emerged virtually unscathed by the high water, and Sterlingville experienced a mild prosperity as the extra water supply enabled the miners to work much ground that was normally untouched. Mining in Jackson County in general was slowing down. The best of the placer deposits had been cleaned out or, at least, skimmed off. The gold rushes to north and south Idaho drained off many of the miners. These were followed by the fabulous strikes at Virginia City and Bannock City in Montana which drew off another delegation of Southern Oregon miners. Sterlingville seems to have lost few, if any, people at this time for its floating population had drifted off before 1860 for the most part. Even at Sterlingville, mining was slowing down. The community was drifting into the semi-limbo of so many other gold camps. Excitement was generated in May, 1865 when James Sutton, the genial reporter of early days on the creek, was robbed of some $1,600 in gold as he crossed the Applegate. A quick search soon apprehended his assailants and brought recovery of more than half the loot. It was, however, a two-day wonder. It served only to accent the doldrums into which the community was drifting. A new ingredient was needed if Sterlingville were to be revivified. CHAPTER V
There were several directions that might
be taken to
revive the fortunes of Sterlingville. The success of the saw mill
seemed promising despite the small area that could feasibly be logged
to supply it. Hard rock mining also seemed to offer some possibilities.CAMERON AND HAYDEN BUILD A MINE A quartz outcropping that appeared to have real potential was discovered in 1865. Named the Ives ledge, possibly for its discoverer, the claim was purchased and development work undertaken. January, 1866 saw the installation of a new arrastra at the mine and it looked as though mining on the creek might take on a new life. The longed for potentialities of the new mines were never realized. Little more is heard of the mine though a report in May, 1868 stated that Mr. Ives of Sterlingville had brought three tons of quartz to the Occidental Mill in Jacksonville. The ore was reported as producing fifty dollars a ton which is sufficient to explain the quick demise of the hard rock mining boom. The newspaper went on to relate that Ives was further hampered by the difficulties of draining the mine. Quartz outcroppings with traces of gold were found in the area in later times and several mines were developed. None were successful, however. Like most quartz mines in Jackson County, "far more gold went into the ground than ever came out." Sterlingville's future as a mining community was going to have to depend upon placer mining. The year 1867 brought a revival of placer mining on Sterling Creek and laid the foundation for the new development. The first major step toward the reorganization was taken on January 15 when a new set of mining laws for Lower Sterling Creek were drawn up to supersede the laws of October, 1859 [1854?] which had been in effect to that time. Inasmuch as these are the only known set of mining laws for the creek, it might be interesting to examine them. Sect. 1--The title of the mining district shall be known as The Lower Sterling Creek District and lying from the mouth of Deming Creek to the Mouth of Sterling Creek. Sect. 2--Each miner is entitled to hold by preemption one creek claim 100 yards long including the flats or bars of said creek on each side of the creek. Sect. 3--Flat or hill claims to be 100 square yards. Sect. 4--Each miner is entitled to hold by preemption in addition to the said creek claims one flat, hill or gulch claim. The gulch claim to be 100 yards long and 60 yards wide. Sect. 5--Any man holding claims in this district is required to put up notices describing the same and if he does not work them he is required to renew the notices once a month. Sect. 6--Any man can hold a claim or claims by purchase by renewing the notice once a month in addition to his preemption claims. Sect. 7--Any changes made in the laws of the District must be given ten days notice. The Jackson County volume of mining laws records that these laws were filed and received on April 15, 1867. The delay is not surprising, for the laws were made up just before the beginning of the spring mining season which proved to be a most profitable one. An interesting feature of these laws is the list of names of the signers of them. In order of signing they are: Lyman Chappell, R. J. Cameron, William Cameron, Newton Haskins, William Haskins, Theodric Cameron, S. Phillips, R. Phillips. The shortness of the list indicates that the lower creek was losing population as the more regular water supply had enabled the miners to work it more intensively. The group is composed entirely of what might be termed the "hard core" of Sterling settlers. Such a reorganization was rather common in the mining districts which continued as mining districts. The decline of the district brought an exodus which left a number of claims unoccupied. The remaining miners usually made the requirements for holding a claim more liberal and increased the size of the claims. Sterlingville was in the process of such a change-over. A newspaper report of August 3, 1867 stressed the fact that there were no longer any Chinese there. This would mean that the white miners had determined to stay and had begun to push out the orientals from the claims. At the same time, there had not been enough amalgamation to employ the Chinese as a labor force. The fact that this spring was bringing good cleanups to the miners probably influenced the actions. Saltmarsh and Co. were reported as picking up $154 in nuggets in one day while shoveling dirt into the ground sluice and $66 another day. The cleanup brought in $2,200 for two months of spring with three of them working the claim. Other claims reported good cleanups as well, though not so spectacular. One of the first results of the reorganization was some amalgamation of claims. On April 15, 1867 "Tod" Cameron, William Cameron and Lyman Chappell posted notices claiming six hundred yards of Sterling Creek on both banks. They cited pre-emption and purchase under the authority of the revised mining laws of Lower Sterling Creek. This was the beginning of the Sterling Mining Company which was to dominate the creek in later times. This first large-scale amalgamation of holdings attracted little attention. Community interest was aroused by the tunnel being driven by Spaulding and Johnson into the old channel. Unable to penetrate the conglomerate of the channel, the new company attempted to run a drift to the bedrock. By March the Oregon Sentinel was reporting that the company was making an average of one ounce per day per hand on the site. Quartz mining also came in for some attention. On January 5, 1867 the Sentinel had reported the sale of the Ives ledge to a San Francisco concern. The mine was described as consisting of a lead with several veins from two to seven inches in thickness. In spite of the fact that these veins pinched out frequently, it was felt that they could be followed and would yet prove productive. Neither of these was to be more than a "seven days wonder." The quartz mine, as we mentioned above, was returned to Mr. Ives and failed to produce to expectations. The tunneling into the bedrock beneath the old channel was, in that soil, too expensive in view of the return. The productive mining at Sterlingville continued to be in the claims of the Saltmarshes, George Yaudes, "Dutch" Graupner and the others who worked the middle creek area. They were still plagued by the lack of dependable water supply and danger from slides of the excavations which were necessary in order to reach bedrock. Real productivity in the mines of Sterling Creek required more extensive development than the individual claim holders were able to afford. The year 1870 finds the next recorded step in the move toward creating a large company. A notice filed with the County Clerk on March 2 states that R. S. Armstrong, S. Burrell, Theodric Cameron and U. S. Hayden claimed, by right of purchase, 1800 yards of Sterling Creek commencing on the lower line of the Yaudes and Saltmarsh claim and running downstream to the Harkness claim. The amalgamation represents the largest scale move in this direction that had yet been attempted on the creek. It was a necessary move toward the establishment of a mining company that would be financially capable of solving the water problem that had afflicted Sterling Creek mining since Jim Sterling's discovery in 1854. The next step in the movement toward a large company was the narrowing of the ownership. Reuben S. Armstrong left Sterling with his family shortly after the notice was filed, probably within a year. S. Burrell soon disappeared from the partnership, too, though the method is uncertain. It may well have been through inability to pay his share of the assessment costs. This same year, 1870, saw the formation of the Sterling school district. District 33 of Jackson County was created and Reuben S. Armstrong was designated the clerk. He reported a total of 36 youngsters of school age in the new district. The number of youngsters indicates the completeness of the transition from a predominantly male population of the mining camp days to a permanent settlement of families. Though the school district was organized in 1870, the first school session of the new district was not held until 1871. A school building was acquired in the old town of Sterlingville. It is not known whether a new building was erected or one of the old buildings of the town reconditioned for educational purposes. George Yaudes, who succeeded Armstrong as the clerk of the district, reported a total of 35 pupils in the first session of school, of whom 19 were male and 16 female. The district paid its first teacher the princely salary of $105 for the three-month session and received $75.38 from the county as aid to education. The succeeding years saw a fluctuation in the enrollment from a low of 29 in 1872 to a high of 35 in 1874. The annual session of instruction was three months. There was no graded instruction, of course. Nor were there any standard textbooks for county schools. Students were limited to what books the family might provide and to those provided by the teacher. Each teacher was expected to provide books for instructional purposes as a part of his teaching responsibility. The student, arriving at school, was assigned to a book. He worked at that book until the session ended or he completed it. Then he moved on to another book. General instruction was provided in spelling and penmanship and whatever else the teacher felt capable of teaching or wanted to teach. Old timers who attended Sterling school in this period recall that the board hired male teachers and that they were unsatisfactory. Two of them were unable to keep discipline and a third, satisfactory in this respect, drank heavily and was too brutal in maintaining order. The solution to the teacher procurement problem was the hiring of older daughters of local residents. Though they may not have had any schooling beyond that received in the local school, they seemed to be much more satisfactory in all respects. This was a quiet time at Sterling. Rainfall was normal and the mining activities continued unspectacularly. The panic of 1873 struck the nation a devastating blow but the only effect this may have had on the community was to prevent Cameron and Hayden from acquiring capital for further development of their mine. Sterling was ideally situated for riding out the panic. The residents had been devoting more time to farming for self-support while the principal export product was placer gold, which found a ready market regardless of general economic conditions. The only notable event in these years was the origin of the tale of the lost mine of Sterling. The story broke with the death of one of the early settlers, Jacob "Jake" Roudebush, in 1874 and has continued to find believers to the present day. Jake had been one of the early settlers of Sterlingville. He was married sometime before 1860 to the widow of one Mulligan, who had accompanied her husband to the area in the early days of the gold rush. The two had lived on at Sterling where Jake continued as a miner until he became ill in 1870. A doctor was called in and the illness was diagnosed as consumption and the particular variety known then as "long consumption." The treatment advised was to take long walks for exercise and get lots of rest as the only possible cure for the disease. Day after day Jake walked the valley and hills surrounding it. The illness did not, however, respond to this treatment and Jake finally found himself bedridden. Old "Cap" Saltmarsh proved a real friend at this time as he supplied the family with food and helped in the nursing of Jake. In gratitude for this assistance, according to the story, Jake one day asked "Cap" to drag out a box that was beneath the bed. In it were a number of exceptionally rich quartz specimens. Jake showed these samples to his friend and said that he had found them in the course of his walks in the hills. Jake went on to say that he had taken pains to hide the discovery. He had picked up all of the float from the ledge and had worked assiduously to hide the outcroppings so that no one would stumble on it accidentally, a real possibility, for the hills near Sterling were a favorite resort of local deer hunters. Jake was sure that he had made the richest quartz strike in the history of the area. As Jake grew worse, he was taken to Jacksonville and placed in a nursing home at county expense. He lingered on for three months before succumbing to his "long consumption." He died without revealing the secret of the location of his strike to anyone. A strike had been made. "Cap" Saltmarsh had seen the ore samples. But where was the ledge? Many men have searched for the lost Sterling mine but it has never been found. A few small strikes have been made in the hills surrounding Sterling Creek but none of them have been of really high-quality ore. The secret of the location lies buried with its discoverer in the old cemetery in Jacksonville. It is possible that what Jake found was only a small pocket. Being too ill to explore and develop the claim, he did not know that it was merely a pocket. The Siskiyous are strange mountains. Small pockets of rich quartz have been found in a number of locations with no trace of any similar rock formation in the vicinity. A recent find not too far from the head of Sterling Creek was a few hundred pounds of float shot through and through with heavy wire gold. It would assay at several thousand dollars a ton. Extensive searching, however, has revealed no source. Perhaps what Jake Roudebush found was a similar field of float. There is always the possibility that he made a real strike. The best paying quartz mine in the county lies only a short distance in the same chain of hills. Jake's discovery might well have been as rich as the famous Opp mine. One prospector has searched off and on for the lost mine for nearly fifty years. He still believes that the lost mine of Jake Roudebush exists and awaits discovery somewhere near the old town of Sterlingville. Perhaps it does. 1876 was the centennial year for the United States. The nation felt that it marked our coming of age as a power. A great celebration was held in Philadelphia to commemorate the occasion when, a century before, the new nation had been launched in that same city with the Declaration of Independence. Across the country other celebrations were held and all of them looked toward the future and confidently foretold the great advance of the coming century of independence. Sterlingville in this centennial year was a sleepy, rural community. The old town had largely disappeared. The little plot below the cemetery was now reduced to the store of George Yaudes and the neighboring school house which served District 33. Joe Saltmarsh drove a three-seat hack to Jacksonville every Saturday and this served to tie the community to the world outside the little valley. The local residents mined in the winter and farmed in the summer. On the upper creek farming was predominantly unrestricted grazing of livestock. On the lower creek the old mining ditches provided water for raising hay and extensive gardening. A new era was coming to Sterlingville with the centennial year. The firm of Cameron and Hayden had reluctantly come to the conclusion that a high ditch was the only way that its holdings could develop their potentiality. Water was needed in large quantities in order to strip the ground so that it could be effectively worked. A rig had been developed in California that solved the problem, the hydraulic. It was a high pressure jet of water. It required a high ditch in order to develop sufficient head to do the job. The ditch would, of course, also provide the dependable water supply needed. [Hydraulic mines had been operated in Southern Oregon as early as 1857.] Once the decision was made, the partners acted at once. J. S. Howard, a prominent local surveyor, was employed to survey the line of the high ditch for the mine. The party returned in mid-April to report that a route had been surveyed which would meet the requirements of the company. The ditch would tap the waters of the Little Applegate, thus guaranteeing the dependability of the water supply. Howard's proposed route required a ditch 23 miles long. Although longer ditches had been constructed, it was a huge project for such a small district as Sterling, and the 2,500 inches of water it would deliver on a year-round basis was not generally believed to be sufficient volume to repay the cost of the construction. This latter was a principal feature of the plan, for a good deal of flume and trestle work was required on this line. The magnitude of the undertaking amazed the Southern Oregon area. Even the ebullient Jacksonville Democratic Times, which had not yet found any project too fantastic for its editor's imagination, was doubtful about the proposition presented by Cameron and Hayden. The extreme length of the ditch and the added costs arising from the flume work seemed, in the view of the editor, factors which would prevent completion of the project. The editor was correct in one respect. Cameron and Hayden were not prepared to begin construction of the ditch. They had been investing heavily in the mine and were prepared to dig a 600-foot tunnel to drain the workings. Although both men had property holdings that were fairly extensive by Southern Oregon standards, neither wished to liquidate these in order to finance improvements in the mine. The only thing that could make it possible for them to build the ditch would be to make a spectacularly heavy cleanup in the coming mining season. It is possible, in fact, that the partners had no intention of building the ditch but had engaged in the preliminary work merely in order to help them in making an attractive sale. The winter of 1876-77 was a profitable one for the mines on Sterling Creek. Cameron and Hayden made a heavy cleanup from the mine which was now operating on a larger scale than anything yet seen in the county. The tunnel had been completed and had more than paid for itself. An experienced observer, Jim Sutton, reported that pay dirt at a depth of forty feet below the surface was proving to be extremely profitable. Unfortunately no figures are available to sharpen the picture. The Cameron and Hayden operation had virtually monopolized mining on Sterling Creek. George Yaudes and the Saltmarshes did very well, as usual, from their jointly held lands just above the company holdings, and "Dutch" Graupner was more than making wages from the labor of himself and his hired hand on his land above the old town. Jim Sutton reported that mining had virtually ceased on the creek below the company claims. He found a few Chinese working old claims there but said that Buncom was deserted and the area around the mouth of Sterling Creek was entirely free of mining. Riley Phillips had taken over the land, using the old mining ditches for irrigation, and had put most of the land into vegetable garden. The spring of 1877 continued with little out of the ordinary. "Cap" Saltmarsh reported that an unseasonable cold spell in early April killed most of the fruit at Sterling, and a miner reported that his cabin had been robbed of his watch and a small sum of money during his absence. A rumor was reported to the effect that the English company which was operating an extensive placer on Galice Creek was interested in the Cameron and Hayden holdings. Things seemed quite normal. The biggest news was a report that the Saltmarshes had found a $35 nugget on their claim. On June 2, 1877 a stupendous piece of news broke. Cameron and Hayden had sold their mine to a Portland concern for a reputed price of $25,000 cash, a figure that may not be far from the truth. The new company incorporated as the Sterling Mining Company and prepared to undertake intensive development work on the claims. This ended the long association of U. S. Hayden with Sterling Creek. He concentrated his attention on his mercantile interests in Jacksonville which had been thriving since the days when he had been appointed first Justice of the Peace for Sterlingville. "Tod" Cameron retired to his stock ranch in the valley of the Little Applegate just below the mouth of Sterling Creek. As the years passed, he developed it into a highly profitable enterprise through sound management and constant improvement of his stock. He continued to speculate in mining claims from time to time. He later served as State Senator from Jackson County with the same unspectacular competence which distinguished all of his activities. Sterling Creek was about to embark on a new phase of its mining history. CHAPTER VI
The Sterling Mining Company was
incorporated on June
7, 1877. The moving spirit in the group seems to have been David P.
Thompson who became general manager of the property and supervised its
operations.THE STERLING MINING COMPANY The Ohio-born Thompson was a colorful figure. He had just completed a term as the Territorial Governor of Idaho when he came to this enterprise. This stint granted the title Governor which he retained for the remainder of his life and, as Governor Thompson, he became an important and respected figure in Oregon. He was typical of his day and his time. He came west with little in the way of assets other than ambition. Like most of the Idaho territorial governors, he retired from that office with quite a respectable accumulation of capital assets. It must be remembered that this was the era of the presidency of U. S. Grant which proved to be a most profitable period in which to hold political office. At the time that Thompson began his participation in the Sterling venture, his capital had reached the size of a small fortune by Oregon standards. His activities and this capital had made him one of the prominent, wealthy figures of financial circles within the state. Thompson went to work almost immediately. The company began some preliminary work on the ditch shortly after taking over the property. The plans called for a ditch along the route of the Howard survey with a capacity of 2,000 inches of water. By the end of June the company was calling for bids for the construction, offering to let contracts for lengths varying from one to five miles. Within one week, contracts had been let for nine miles of the proposed twenty-three-mile venture and construction began on these sections under the general direction of Thompson. By the end of July more than 300 men were employed on the ditch and Thompson was driving toward completion. He hoped to have the work completed in time to use the ditch during the coming winter mining season. August found the work progressing and Thompson let the contract for the lumber needed in the construction. Mr. Irwin of Sams Valley got this contract and moved his mill to Sterling Creek to save on costs. The mill soon developed a capacity of 13,000 feet per day which was a nearly unheard-of figure for Southern Oregon at this time. The whole area looked on in amazement as the dynamic Thompson pressed forward with his project. By September he had 400 men working on the ditch and was giving the valley the first view of large-scale construction work. He planned for a ditch that was to be seven feet wide at the top, tapering to four feet at the bottom and to be three feet deep. Some sections were carried by flumes. For twenty-three twisting miles it followed the hillsides and crossed the gullies. It is no wonder that the valley folk were impressed with the enterprise and its dynamic leader. The burning of part of the sawmill in early October slowed construction somewhat but Thompson achieved his goal of opening the ditches for use for the winter mining season. Mid-November brought the project to completion. Water was turned into the ditch and, for the first time in the 23-year history of the diggings, the mine had an ample quantity of water and a dependable source. The company installed two hydraulics to work its ground. They operated with a head of 761 feet which made stripping the ground a much easier process. The water pressure was enough to move boulders the size of an automobile, and a skilled operator could push one of these huge rocks up a bank and out of the way. A new era had come to Sterling Creek. Shortly after the first of January, 1878, the mine was operating at full capacity. Governor Thompson returned to Portland and his family, leaving Frank Ennis in charge of the operations as superintendent of the mine. It was a position that Ennis was to hold for several years. Newspaper reports state that the two hydraulics were stripping the overburden at the rate of 800 cubic yards per day. The amount of bedrock being exposed to intensive mining was far larger than at any previous time in the history of Sterling, even surpassing the work done by the great flood. This boded well for the new ownership, and local observers looked forward expectantly to the cleanup which would measure the success of the project. The cleanup lived up to expectation. The company reported a total of $27,987.24 in gold taken out of its claims against an operating expense of $7,408.23. The amount far exceeded anything that Cameron and Hayden had taken out of the mine in a single year. The profit picture changes somewhat when one realizes that the capital improvements were not charged against the operating budget. Governor Thompson and his associates apparently had gone into the mine as promoters rather than to operate it as a long-term investment. The Governor wished to retire from active business life for a time and take his wife on an extensive tour of Europe. There is the possibility, of course, that this decision was reached as the result of his close contact with the mine which tended to make it less desirable than he had first thought. It did not require the knowledge of Thompson's desire for retirement to produce rumors of possible sales. One report in circulation in the Southern Oregon area was that the company had refused an offer of $450,000 for the property. This seems to be merely one of the usual visions of immense, outside capital being interested that always developed whenever a mining property showed a good profit. The property was sold in 1879. The purchaser was Captain A. P. Ankeny of Portland. The sale price is difficult to assess, as the actual deal was a trade. Ankeny acquired the mining company in exchange for the block of land in downtown Portland on which the New Market Theater stood. The theater, the most lavish in the Northwest, had opened in 1875 and the block included business buildings as well as the theater itself. It was valuable property by any standards and gives an idea of the value placed on the mine. The Portland Oregonian was flabbergasted by the transaction and there were many in the northern part of the state who felt that Cap Ankeny had been taken on the deal. In Southern Oregon, of course, it was a vindication of the local mining industry and hailed as being an astute move. Cap Ankeny had come to Oregon in 1850 with his son, Henry, and his adopted son, Levi. The title Captain, by which he was known throughout his career in the Pacific Northwest, had been gained when he was captaining steamboats out of his native city, Wheeling, West Virginia. He became a merchant in Portland and prospered as a small businessman until the discovery of gold in northern Idaho. Hearing the news of this discovery, Cap joined the rush to the mines and was one of the first on the ground at Lewiston, which was a sort of rallying point for miners en route to the gold fields. He was one of the first to realize the potentialities of the site and was instrumental in organizing the town which was beginning to develop. The land was part of the Nez Perce reservation so it could not be filed upon. Cap Ankeny persuaded the owners of property in Lewiston to try for a patent. A complicated arrangement was arrived at whereby he applied for a patent on the land as a town site and gave quitclaim deeds to the property holders so that, if the government ever conveyed the land to Ankeny, they would be in full possession of it. Cap opened a store in Lewiston and placed Levi in charge of it with Henry as an assistant. He then returned to Portland where he took charge of that end of the operation. He purchased the goods and saw that they were safely transported to Lewiston where the boys sold them. The business grew rapidly as a succession of rich strikes in north Idaho all depended upon Lewiston as their supply center. Levi Ankeny became quite wealthy from the operation and invested his money in the Walla Walla area where he became the leading banker, one of the wealthiest men in the state of Washington and later served in a distinguished fashion as Senator from Washington. Henry stayed on with his father. Cap had continued to speculate in business and mining after making his fortune from the Lewiston operation. His Southern Oregon placer holdings and the New Market Theater and block were just two facets of a colorful career. Now an old man with only one eye, Cap Ankeny was still a vigorous and aggressive business man. The first five years of Ankeny ownership is the period for which we have the only complete record of the operation of the Sterling mine. Frank Ennis was kept on as superintendent of the mine and he kept a detailed ledger which has found its way into the museum in Jacksonville. It runs through until Ennis had to retire from the mine because of illness in 1884. The first year of operation was not a financial success. A flume had been constructed to extend the long ditch up the valley so that some of the higher ground might be worked. The cost of this construction, which the company carried as operating cost rather than under a separate heading on capital investment, raised the operating expense for the year to $10,500. The flume enabled the company to strip much new ground, but water gave out before the company was able to start cleaning the gravel uncovered by the stripping. The total sale of gold dust that year, according to the record of mint certificates, amounted to $4,200. This small total gives support to the idea that the first year of the Ankeny ownership was largely devoted to development work rather than mining. The following year saw a concentration on mining. The operating costs went up to a total of $13,918.83 for the year. The increase was largely spent in wages. Frank Ennis received a salary of $200 per month as manager. The labor force also included blacksmiths, hydraulic operators, ditch walkers and a force employed in maintenance work on the ditch. The Chinese returned to Sterling Creek this year, too. The basic, unskilled labor of the mine was performed by a gang of Chinese hired under contract and housed in an area long known as "Chinatown." The size of the cleanup for the year indicates the increased concentration on mining, though some of it must be laid to the stripping done the year before which cleared a large area for work, the returns of which showed on this season's profit sheet. The sale of gold to the mint in San Francisco brought in a tidy $17,781.79 which helped to balance the deficit of the previous year. The company's profit was augmented by subsidiary operations. A store was maintained which sold goods to the labor force and showed a small profit at the end of the year. The company also maintained a boarding house which brought in additional profits. Farming activities were a further source of income. Some cattle and pigs were raised on the company land. Some of these were sold to the boarding house but others were sold in the open market. The year of 1881 saw mining activities increase sharply as Ankeny worked for a big cleanup. Operating costs, chiefly in the form of additional labor, rose to a new high of $16,574.14 for the year. The hydraulics slashed away at the new ground opened up by the flume extension while a busy force of Chinese cleaned up the bedrock, probing the irregularities of the rock with camel hair brushes and putty knives. The cleanup justified the added costs. Mint receipts for the year reached a new high of $28,841 and the subsidiary operations prospered as well. Cap Ankeny was delighted with the returns and presented gold watches to two of his employees, Lawrence Paulsen and Anton Rose. Rose, a Portuguese, was a long-time Sterling resident who worked as a ditch walker. He was later to acquire a small farm, marry a local school teacher and live out a pleasant life not far from Sterlingville. The spectacular returns brought the usual train of rumors concerning the sale of the mine. One report stated that Cap Ankeny had refused an offer of $400,000 for the property from a group conveniently identified by the vague appellation "eastern capitalists." Other rumors, less circumstantial than this, were reported but they seem to have been figments of the editors' imagination, for they served as opening statements in editorials that dilated on the immense wealth to be made in local mining by those who would provide the capital. Whether or not any offer had been made, Cap Ankeny put some of the money from the big cleanup into capital investment. He purchased the Kleinhammer claim which adjoined the mine on the upstream side. This left only two parcels of important mining ground outside of the company holdings, the Saltmarsh-Yaudes holdings and Ed Graupner's claims. This latter was of less interest as much of it lay so high that the ditch would reach only a portion of it and that only for ground sluicing. Another improvement that was made at this time was the widening and deepening of the ditch. Ankeny had decided to add a third hydraulic to the battery that was slashing away at the hillsides. With these improvements, the Sterling mine became the largest hydraulic mine in Oregon and one of the largest anywhere, so much larger that it became something of a tourist attraction for the area. Unfortunately the new investment produced no immediate return. The fall of 1881 was a dry one and early November brought an end to work with the hydraulics due to lack of water. The situation in December improved enough that Ennis reported that he could operate one hydraulic. To take advantage of the limited run, the company bought a large size locomotive headlight to provide illumination for night work. The troubles of Ennis were not at an end. In late January a cold spell froze the ditch and brought operations to a complete halt. It was not until early March that the weather improved to the point where the mine could begin a full scale operation. From this time through early July the mine was able to operate at full capacity due to generous spring rains. The mining season was quite successful on Sterling Creek that spring. Several large nuggets were reported, Cap Ankeny finding one that weighed out at $80. Saltmarsh and Yaudes did so well that they had taken one hundred ounces of gold even before starting the cleanup, most of this in nuggets. The heavy rains in the spring aided the work and an unseasonal deluge in late June, though it temporarily blocked the Sterling Mining Company ditch, provided an additional week of full-scale operation for all. The operating costs for the mine in 1882 reached their highest point under the Ennis management. The total came to $17,905.57 and included the cost of ditch improvement and the third hydraulic as well as the locomotive headlight. The part of the labor force engaged in actual mining remained about the same as that for the year before. In spite of the additional expenditure, the cleanup in this year did not produce quite as much as that for the previous year. Mint receipts totaled only $25,688.23, a drop of just over three thousand dollars. The balance was swelled, however, by a profit of $1,084.20 on the auxiliary operations. The mine was not producing as well as Ankeny had hoped and certainly far less than local reports indicated, the wild guesses ranging as high as $100,000 for this year alone. There is a partial explanation for the drop in receipts. The ditch was closed during the enlarging process and this shut down the mine for a time. When the ditch was reopened, the company was able to strip and work a considerable amount of new ground by employing the third hydraulic. The season of 1883 began auspiciously. The company was able to operate with a full head of water through the fall of 1882. In February winter came with a vengeance. Snow accumulated to over a foot in depth at Sterlingville and mining operations came to a complete standstill. News from Sterlingville mentioned that Frank Ennis, the mine manager, was employing the time in working on a farm that he had taken up while Ed Graupner sold out most of his cattle at $18 a head to a speculator making up a drive for the California market. The Parks' sawmill was the only activity on the creek that was still operating and the snow helped in skidding the logs. By the end of March mining operations were resumed again and the Sterling Mining Company was reported to be in full operation with the ditch running a full head of water. It was a good season and the water supply held out through April with the company running two of the hydraulics on a 24-hour basis in spite of not having a full head of water in the ditch. The water supply held out nicely until the usual cleanup that was begun at the end of June. The profit figures for the year were not, however, auspicious. The operating costs were reduced to $9,306.50 for the year. Unfortunately the returns from the mint receipts totaled only $13,306.99 for the period. The auxiliary profit climbed to $1,342.50, which helped to improve the position but it was a comparatively small return on the investment that Cap Ankeny had in the mine by this time. To add to the costs, the county assessor raised the assessed valuation of the mine from $14,500 to $15,300 in recognition of the improvements made. This, of course, raised the tax bill. The assessment figure was to remain at this level for a number of years rather due to rarity of reassessment than to any calculations on the fluctuating value of the mine. The ledger comes to an end at the conclusion of 1884, for this was the last year of the superintendency of Frank Ennis. This year saw a further drop in the operating costs of the mine to $8,881.50 but the savings in operating costs were more than offset by a drop in the amount of gold sold to the mint. The total of the receipts for that year was a mere $9,613.29, for the smallest return that Ankeny had received since his first year of ownership. There was a corresponding drop in the profit from the auxiliary operations which amounted to only $627.20 for the year. It is apparent that the first few years of the Ankeny operation of the Sterling mine were not exceptionally profitable. In relation to his capital investment and the improvements in the property the returns were rather insignificant. Cap Ankeny's faith in the property was unshaken, however. In an interview published in Portland in the Daily News in December, 1886 Cap reaffirmed this. Asked to comment on rumors that Governor Thompson had "taken him," he replied, "I want nothing better as a legacy for the Ankeny family than the Sterling mine." An unexplained action of this period was the incorporation, in February, 1884, of the Buncombe Mining Company. The Captain, his son-in-law Vincent Cook and D. P. Kennedy were the incorporators. This may have been a move to begin exploitation of the lower creek and some of the Little Applegate itself. The new company soon disappeared without trace, and Kennedy's connection with the project is a mystery. The year 1885 found little change in company operations. Operating costs dropped again, in part due to an economic slump in the area which lowered wages and food costs. A part of the explanation seems to lie in an increasing use of Chinese labor and the employment of skilled white labor on a short-term basis rather than on yearly contracts. The returns were somewhat better than for the preceding year with half the mint receipts figuring as net profit which reached $7,000. This more encouraging return, plus the capital it made available, may have been responsible for additional capital improvements made in 1886. The lack of water in the summer months was to be remedied by a reservoir, construction of which had begun in 1885. The reservoir was to be built up fifty feet "high" according to the Oregonian and the water entrapped used for ground sluicing the higher ground. Another improvement development came with the purchase, in November, of the Saltmarsh claims. Including some of the richest ground on Sterling Creek, these claims were a real asset to the company and were acquired for $10,000 in cash. The sale had its origins in a cloudburst in August that devastated Sterling Creek. The Saltmarsh claims were buried under a mass of debris brought down from Sterling Mining Co. lands that lay above their claim. The farm was wiped out and even continuation of mining required an immense amount of stripping. The Saltmarshes were happy to sell out and move into town. The Ankenys figured that the storm had not been especially costly. The cloudburst closed down the ditch for several months. Sections of flume were carried away and sections of the ditch were washed out while other sections were buried in debris carried by the flood waters. To balance this damage much of the high ground, which would have had to have been stripped by ground sluicing, a time-consuming and expensive method, was now cleared by the floods from the cloudburst. Cap Ankeny reported that the stripping more than balanced the costs of ditch repair but one is inclined to suspect him of optimism. Returns for the year fell by 18% while operating costs remained stabilized in the $7,200 to $8,000 range for the year. This year brought an end to the middle period of the Sterling mining era. When Cap Saltmarsh and his family sold out, ending an association of more than thirty years with the creek, the company was virtually unchallenged in possession from Buncom to the old town site. Only German-born Ed Graupner remained of the old timers operating his own lands. The Sterling Mining Company was to dominate the next period in the history of the creek and most of the activity was to be centered around it. The mine was now being publicized as the largest hydraulic mine in the West and touted as a tourist attraction even in Portland, which usually disdains to notice the southern part of the state. Visitors were taken on special tours of the mine and marveled at the tearing away of the hillsides and the juggling of huge boulders by the hydraulics. Once again it appeared that a "real payoff" was about to be wrested from the reluctant earth of Sterling Creek's small valley. CHAPTER VII
The formation of the Sterling Mining
Company meant
the end of the old town of Sterlingville. The large-scale hydraulic
operation was not conducive to the development of a community while the
continued expansion of the holdings of the Company effectively reduced
the population of the small valley.STERLINGVILLE: INDIAN SUMMER Life on Sterling Creek in the last quarter of the nineteenth century became a bucolic existence. The isolation of the valley served to protect it from the violence and crime that afflicted the communities along the line of the Southern Pacific or within easy reach of the railroad. This same isolation served to give the community a cohesion that represents the best in the life of a small town of that period. The presence of gold served to prevent the poverty that was such an evil in many American communities of the era and also freed the town from the effects of the panics that struck American economic life at this time. Despite the attractions of its situation and the pleasant friendliness of the inhabitants, life at Sterlingville was not easy. The tragic accidents that were common to the period gave an undertone of violence, and the ravages of disease, especially diphtheria, took a heavy toll. These were the tarnish on the golden surface of the quiet life. The center of the community was still the old town in 1876. Here was the school and the cemetery, the two public institutions, and the store of George Yaudes. The location of the mining company's headquarters just down the creek from the town and the junction of the road from Jacksonville with the road from Griffin Creek also helped to continue the site as the center of the community. The decline in population at Sterling is indicated by the election of 1876. Only fifteen votes were cast in the Sterling precinct. When John B. Farley met the school in October, there were thirty pupils in attendance for the three-month session. The nucleus of this group was provided by the Saltmarshes and George Yaudes. The construction of the big ditch followed by the sale of the Sterling Mining Company to A. P. Ankeny tended to turn attention away from the lesser events of community life. The influx of ditch laborers helped to swell the population for a while, and the sawmill that was set up remained to add population and to diversify the economy of Sterling Creek. Normal activities of the community continued. School met for its short sessions, community dances lasting till dawn were social highlights and the livestock running the brush provided thrills and excitement. There is a story that Ed Graupner used to tie fence rails to the horns of his cattle at roundup so that they couldn't duck back into the brush. The cattle could be dangerous, too. One of these wild ones got into a family vegetable garden. The lady of the house dashed out to chase it out of the patch and got hooked seriously by the belligerent cow. There was a brief housing boom in 1879. Both were ranch houses and not in the town. Newton Haskins built a new house on his farm, and Phipps had what was described as "an elegant home" built for him on his Sterling Creek property. This was succeeded by a brief period of fires. The Wisdom and Snider sawmill was destroyed in early September, a fate that frequently leveled the steam sawmills of the period. It was quickly rebuilt and back in operation within a month. The mill of this period was not an elaborate structure. When Ed Graupner's barn went up in flames in the following week, more than a suspicion of arson attached but nothing was ever proved. The year ended with the closing of the Sterling school in late November for a recess until the warmer weather of spring. The spring of 1880 brings our first mention of a feature of Sterling under the Ankeny ownership of the mine. A party of ladies of Jacksonville drove out to the mine and spent the day looking at the mine and enjoying a fine lunch. The extensive improvements made under the Ankeny ownership made the mine one of the largest in the West, and the drive from Jacksonville is a most pleasant one. It became a favorite outing for the young couples of the town, too. After a tour of the mine, the ladies would be instructed in the art of panning gold and permitted to try their hands. Whatever gold they managed to wash out was theirs to keep. This feature of the trip was eliminated in the early 1890s when two young ladies took the proffered pans and went to the head of the sluice. They did very well from the little expedition, of course. Henry Ankeny, however, did not feel that such a practice was in keeping with the spirit of the invitation and dropped panning gold from the program of entertainment for visitors. Sterlingville got a post office in 1879 when George Yaudes was appointed to the office of postmaster. He maintained the office in his store building. The venture was to prove short lived. There was no profit in the post office and the store never proved to be a great success. The post office was closed in 1883 and never reopened. A post office was later opened at Buncom. A long-time Sterling resident, J. Parker, was appointed the postmaster and the official opening date was December 5, 1876. A small store building with a false front served as the post office. It remained open until December 15, 1917. These were the only post offices on Sterling Creek. There was little demand for the services of a post office. The Sterling Mining Company probably made the greatest use of the postal service but it tended to use the Jacksonville office, as frequent trips to town on company business made it convenient. An interesting development of the period was the invention of a sheep-shearing machine by Thomas Gilson of Sterlingville. Gilson was one of the old timers of Sterling Creek and was operating a sawmill at this time. He applied for a patent on his invention but nothing more is known of it. It was not, apparently, a great success. Life drifted along at this even tenor until 1888. The school enrollment remained near thirty pupils and the elections found some 28 to 30 voters turning out. The community had found a brief period of economic stability. Hunting, which had always been a popular pastime at Sterling, hit the news in 1885 when John B. Griffin claimed a kill of seven deer and three bears in a half day on Sterling Creek. The Chinese provided an interesting contrast to the life of the settlers. The Sterling Mining Company under Cap Ankeny employed a number of Chinese in the mines and they lived together in the middle creek area. It was a miniature China town with a small store which supplied them with goods from their homeland. The store, of course, was operated by the "boss" of the miners. The Chinese New Year celebration was always a highlight to the children of Sterling Creek and they eagerly looked forward to it each year. The firecrackers were a prime attraction, of course, but the rest of the celebration was equally exciting to the small fry. The Ankeny children particularly enjoyed the festival for, as children of the mine owner, they were the recipients of presents from the Chinese labor force. The gifts included a wide variety of Chinese foods but Mrs. Ankeny would let them eat only the candy, the ginger and the lichi nuts. The rest of the food items were quietly disposed of after the donors had left. The girls were also delighted with the silk handkerchiefs that inevitably formed a portion of the gift. There was another large group of Chinese not far from Sterling Creek. Just below the mouth of the creek on the Little Applegate was the large placer mine of Gin Lin and Company. Gin Lin had come to the region quite early as a gang boss with a crew of laborers. He had then acquired a group of claims on the Little Applegate and had developed an extensive mining operation there. He became quite a noted figure in the Rogue Valley and the sight of Gin Lin driving his buggy behind a smart stepping horse was a familiar one to valley residents. He was a frequent visitor at the Sterling mine and always visited with Henry Ankeny at the house whenever he came up to Sterling. Gin Lin also acquired a local reputation for his wives. He made occasional trips to China and returned with a new wife each time. Prior to setting out on one of these trips to his homeland, he sold the old model to one of his men. Although he amassed a fortune from his operations in the United States, Gin Lin was not to enjoy it. He sold out his American interests and returned to China but he was murdered and robbed on the docks almost as soon as he left the ship in China. The political complexion of Sterling remained much the same through this era. There was a fairly even split between Democrats and Republicans. When prohibition appeared on the ballot in the fall of 1887, Sterling precinct united. It was unanimous in rejecting the measure with a tally of eighteen votes to none. In the presidential election of the following year, the usual split occurred with Harrison edging Cleveland by a fifteen to fourteen margin. Religion on Sterling Creek was a sporadic thing. No church was ever established in the community. For special events, a funeral in the old cemetery or a wedding, a minister would come out from Jacksonville to officiate. For a time during the 1890s the Methodist pastor from Jacksonville held services at the school house in Sterling once a month except during the winter months when travel was too difficult. This, of course, varied with the incumbent. The Reverend W. B. Moore was most conscientious in attending to the spiritual needs of the community. Others who held the Jacksonville pastorate were not as enthusiastic and one of the ministers only appeared two or three times a year. During the ministry of W. B. Moore, the Jacksonville congregation held several picnic socials on Sterling Creek near the site of Sterlingville. In 1895, enthusiasm ran so high at the meeting that it was reported that a congregation was to be organized on Sterling Creek and steps taken to acquire land for a church building. The flesh proved weaker than the spirit. The church was never started. Itinerant preachers occasionally found their way to the isolated community. The usual stay of these wandering gospel merchants was overnight. They did not ever stay more than two nights. These men could always count upon the hospitality of Henry Ankeny during their stay in the community and Ankeny sponsored them. It would appear that no religious fervor developed along the creek. Whether this was due in part to the influence of the atheistic arguments presented with such overwhelming logic by Welborn Beeson in the newspapers of the valley or whether it was the apathy not unknown in our own day, we cannot say. In 1889, the enrollment in Sterlingville school climbed to fifty pupils. The arrival of Henry Ankeny's family from Salem accounts for a part of this increase, as his children attended the school. In the following year Miss Cora Ankeny was appointed as teacher of the Sterlingville school. The new incumbent was not enthusiastically hailed by her younger sister in this role. Her tenure in the position was short and she was succeeded by another daughter of a local resident. This was a practice much in favor in rural communities at this time and not a local peculiarity. Those who have read The Hoosier School-Master will realize the practice had several points to recommend it. One of these girls attained some prominence in county educational circles. Miss Mayette Gilson, daughter of Thomas Gilson, had started her teaching career at Sterling school and had, after some experience, transferred to the Jacksonville schools. In the election of 1892, she had received the Democratic nomination for County Superintendent of Schools, the first woman so honored in the state. She lost the election though she ran ahead of the average on the ticket and soon retired from school teaching to marry another long-time resident of Sterling Creek, Anton Rose. The organization of the Populist Party on the national scene found receptive ears in Oregon. Jackson County had long had internal strife in the Democratic Party and the dissenting element quickly embraced the new political faith. A newspaper was organized and wildly enthusiastic rallies were held throughout the county, much to the dismay of the regulars of the two major parties. Sterlingville again showed its isolation from the rest of the county in the election of 1892. Largely dependent upon gold production, Sterling electors were satisfied with Harrison's fiscal regularity and the Democrats seemed to be quite happy with "Gold Bug" Cleveland. The election returns showed only one vote cast for the Populists and Harrison carried the precinct, a testimonial to the leadership of Henry Ankeny who was becoming prominent in county Republican circles in these years. A newcomer to Sterlingville in 1894 was to prove of more than passing interest to the community. Mr. M. J. Donaldson-Selby of Seattle, Washington purchased the Graupner place in partnership with his brother. The Donaldson-Selbys were Englishmen who had been residing temporarily in Seattle while they scouted investment possibilities. Ed Graupner had decided to retire from Sterlingville and had sold his land to a Seattle promoter, Charles Stewart. He, in turn, had sold an undivided quarter interest in the 880-acre property to the two Englishmen. The price paid was $6,000, a goodly sum for Sterling Creek property in those days. Later the brothers apparently bought the remainder of the property, for Stewart quickly disappears from the scene. Local newspapers, of course, went into rhapsodies over this new development. They immediately assumed that the two men were representatives of London capital (a magic word in those days) and that this was the first step in a campaign to acquire the Sterling mine, itself. The Ashland Tidings went so far as to report that Ankeny and Cook had been offered one hundred thousand dollars for their property. The property itself was described as consisting of valuable timber lands and immensely rich agricultural land as well as being a valuable mining property. The paper promised a sawmill as the first step in development and predicted that untold wealth would flow from the soil in which "the rootlets of the tree and vine are embedded (with) the golden ingots of boundless mineral wealth." The newspaper's glowing vision was never realized. There was little water for mining purposes and Ed Graupner and his hired man had taken out most of the easily mined gold. The young Englishman was not a miner and made no attempt to learn the techniques and practices. He developed the gardens and orchards on the place and raised pigs as his chief market crop, once driving some two hundred of them across the mountains to the vicinity of Weed, California where he sold them. M. J. Donaldson-Selby remained on Sterling Creek for a number of years. He was a very shy man and became a figure of mystery to many of the inhabitants. His only friend was Henry Ankeny and the two spent many an evening together talking of politics, literature and other subjects which interested them. He stayed only a short time after Henry Ankeny and Vincent Cook sold the mine. Then he, too, sold out and disappeared as mysteriously as he had arrived. There was another side to life at Sterling. Sickness took a heavy toll on the creek. The absence of a resident doctor made little difference in this. The most tragic event was the death, within twenty-four hours, of three children of George Yaudes in May, 1884. The killer was diphtheria which was a regular visitor to the creek. At this time the doctors were helpless in dealing with this dread disease. In the 1890s, a Jacksonville physician was to achieve a great success in treating the disease by swabbing out the mouths and throats of the victims with a solution of hydrogen peroxide. Another helpless victim of this period was young Roland Ankeny, age five, who died of tonsillitis, another affliction that was beyond the skill of the local doctors. Tuberculosis, which had claimed Jacob Roudebush, also claimed an occasional victim and treatment of this disease was largely "the Lord's cure." Accidents, too, claimed their share of victims. Deer hunting resulted in several fatalities. The crumbling banks of the cuts made by the miners were a source of fatal accidents and claimed the lives of many, including a superintendent of the Sterling mine. The cuts were particularly deadly, for the falling banks inevitably contained a large quantity of large, heavy rocks which did irreparable damage. Even so, there were those who lived to a ripe old age. George Yaudes, who died in 1889, was sixty-five at the time, and Ed Graupner's hired man, who died in 1891, was reported to be nearly one hundred years old. He was at least eighty. "Cap" Saltmarsh, the old dean of the Sterling miners, also lived to be eighty-one. Another who lived to an honored old age was one of the organizers of the Sterling mine, "Tod" Cameron, who died at age 85. The picture that emerges of this period of Sterlingville's history is, on the whole, a pleasant one. There was virtually no crime and that little was small-scale theft. The violence that erupted in brutal beatings, knifings and murders in other parts of the region were never a part of life in the little valley. Its isolation, the stable character of the population and the solid economic foundation provided by the placers gave Sterlingville quiet and a freedom from the dislocation suffered by other communities in the period. Disease and accidents took their toll, certainly. This was a hard fact of life in the 19th-century United States. These tragedies left their marks on the survivors and filled the plots in the cemetery overlooking old town. The memory that lingers, however, is a golden one. It is a picture of the barefoot children slowly walking to school in the springtime, reluctant to arrive, then impatiently waiting for the end of the day and a return to the out of doors that claimed so much of their time. It is a picture of the strange Chinese and their exciting celebration of the New Year with the crackling firecrackers and the exotic delights of ginger and lichi nuts. In this sense it is the Indian summer of Sterlingville. It is also the time of the passing away of the old town. CHAPTER VIII
March, 1888 saw the arrival of Henry E.
Ankeny to
take over as mine superintendent. Frank Ennis had been forced to resign
the position because of ill health. Despite the best medical treatment
he could find in the East, Ennis did not recover and returned to
Jacksonville, where he died.HENRY ANKENY TAKES OVER The new manager faced a severe trial almost as soon as he took over. A severe cloudburst in May wreaked havoc with the company holdings. A farm above the mine was washed into the diggings; house, fence and topsoil. This and other debris from the flood created a serious problem for the company. Coming as it did in the middle of the spring run, it was a disaster. The damage alone amounted to some $5,000 while the loss in the cleanup cannot, of course, be estimated. A considerable part of the loss came from the destruction of several miles of the ditch, which was filled by slides. Cap Ankeny was undeterred, however. He continued to exude optimism concerning the future of his mine and added to it by purchasing two parcels of land in the middle creek area that helped to round out the company holdings. Neither was particularly valuable ground, for the total purchase price was less than $1,100. It is not possible to say how the company operations for the year balanced out. Figures are not available. It is probable that the company wound up with a deficit. The following year proved to be more profitable. An ample amount of rain, well spaced, and a freedom from the damaging facets of nature made it the most profitable year of Ankeny ownership. It looked as though fortune were finally favoring the old man. One thing that may have helped was a stoppage on a loss that must have eaten into the margin of profit. The Chinese crew that worked the mine were, as we have mentioned, under the control of a boss who fed and clothed the men and paid them a small sum. He reimbursed himself by collecting the wages of the crew as the contractor for the group. Frequently he would make additional profit from gambling and other activities. In this instance, the boss brought out a complete set of new trousers for his gang. By chance, all of these trousers were too long in the leg and the bottoms had to be rolled up. One evening, Henry Ankeny became suspicious of the trousers and ordered the Chinese to roll them down. The mud that was scraped from the cuffs was panned on the spot and averaged out at $1.50 per man. From that time on the Chinese worked in cuffless trousers that were distinctly short in the leg. The winter of 1889-1890 was a severe one to Southern Oregon. A series of snow storms in December and January brought an accumulation of 38 inches of snow to Sterling Creek and a suspension of placer operations. Disaster followed in the wake. A heavy rain set in that washed the accumulation of snow away and brought some of the most severe floods ever recorded in the region. For the Sterling mine, it was a disaster. The derrick which had been put into operation the year before to lift the huge boulders out of the mine was smashed in the flood waters. The pipe and the giants were buried in a sea of mud and rock and the wall of the reservoir was washed away by the flood waters. The ditch suffered, too. It was choked with mud and debris along its entire length. The spring passed in cleaning up the mess and restoring the equipment. The ditch was cleaned out along its twenty-five-mile length and put back into operation. Before the mine could get back to operation, the mining season had nearly passed. Henry Ankeny remained optimistic, however, and issued a report that the mine had derived considerable benefit from the floods, too. Large quantities of tailings had been swept away and quite a bit of land had been stripped to the gold-bearing gravel by the scouring flood waters. The Ankeny troubles were not over. In August, old Cap Ankeny became seriously ill and was taken to Portland for treatment. His illness was diagnosed as "softening of the brain." The old man never recovered and died in March, 1891. The mine now passed to his son, Henry, and to his daughter, who was married to Vincent Cook. The fall of 1890 was not a prosperous time for the miners. The weather compensated for the spring deluge by bringing a dry spell that lasted out the year. Rain began in January and there was sufficient water at Sterling mine by mid-February to run two six-inch nozzles on a twenty-four-hour basis. This was far below the operation of two years previously when the company had been running three eight-inch nozzles. A fall of snow in early March that left some nine inches on the ground at Sterling and good deposits in the mountains guaranteed a good spring season. The year ended profitably as the company ran well into July and hit several good pay streaks. The mining season of 1891-92 was a moderately successful one. Winter rainfall was at normal levels and no immoderate weather intervened to ruin the run. The transfer of the property following the death of A. P. Ankeny brought little change, for Henry Ankeny remained as resident manager. Election news tended to focus the attention of the newspapers on other topics so press reports are slight. The year of 1893 brought a panic and hard times to the rest of the nation but brought prosperity to Sterling Creek. A good water supply enabled the company to work a lot of ground that year. Furthermore, it was believed that the company had now solved the problem of blasting away the conglomerate of the old channel in order to reach the gold that lay beneath. Vincent Cook moved out to Sterling to help run the mine and it became a period of intense activity. The good returns from the cleanup of this summer were followed by a good mining season in the fall and spring. A reasonably mild winter with a good supply of water brought smiles to the faces of the placer miners. Sterling mine also hit a good pocket of rich ground. By February of 1894 the mine had two six-inch nozzles operating on a seven-day-per-week basis and it promised to be one of the most profitable seasons of mining in the Ankeny tenure. The favorable reports of the new pay streak may have brought the sluice robber who struck in mid-July. When the men broke off work for lunch, someone sneaked in and rifled the flume at the foot of the work, cleaning out most of the riffles in it. The man was never caught but safety precautions were taken after this to prevent a recurrence of the incident. The season of 1894 was ideally suited to the Sterling operation. Ankeny kept the ditch going into mid-August and did not begin the cleanup until the end of that month, a chore which kept him busy breaking down the amalgam well into September. One evidence of the amount of the take is to be found in the sending of 50 ounces of nuggets from the mine to be placed on display at the state fair in Salem in that year. Newspaper estimates of the take for the season placed the amount at $50,000. It is possible that this sum is close to the actual amount. It was certainly a good year and the ground worked over was rich ground. It did revive, of course, the rumors of sale and the Ashland Tidings reported that the mine was under contract at a figure of $400,000. That fall a tragedy occurred at the mine. There had been some suspicion of sluice robbing since the incident in July and some reports of unauthorized persons wandering about the property. Henry Ankeny and his family had left for a visit in early November and had left Ankeny's son-in-law, Frank Crump, in charge of the mine. Worried by the reports, feeling his responsibility and faced with imminent fatherhood, young Crump was more than a bit nervous and violated Henry Ankeny's strict prohibition against guns on the property. One of the crew working the mine at that time was 19-year-old Edward Maultby, a high-spirited youngster. Whether he intended to play a joke on Crump or was just wandering about the claim is not clear. Crump spotted what looked to be a suspicious character and let fly with a barrel full of No. 6 shot which peppered the young man. Identification of the victim and the serious nature of the wound brought prompt action. Maultby's older brother was one of the mine crew. He and Crump brought the wounded lad to Jacksonville immediately, where he was treated by Dr. Robinson. The company met the expenses of the convalescence and the young man recovered in a few weeks. He did not return to the mine though his elder brother continued to be one of the most valuable members of the crew. Another insight into the company's success at this time is found in an article in the Portland Sun. Vincent Cook placed a display of nuggets weighing 350 ounces in a miner's pan in the window of Eggert, Young and Company. The display did not include any of the state fair exhibit and featured nuggets ranging in value from $1 to $400 each. It was a spectacular proof of success. It may have been this extravagant display that attracted the attention of some local sharpshooters. Within a month a group of men around Jacksonville announced that they had checked the records and had discovered that the company did not own all of the ground that it had been claiming along the creek. They threatened to file upon this land and sue the company. The excitement was short lived. The title of the Sterling Mining Company was clear. An emphatic letter from Henry Ankeny on the point brought apologies from the paper for publicizing this irresponsible outburst. The spring of 1895 passed without remarkable incidents. The water held up and the ditch kept the company operating well into the summer. A court battle over the water rights of the Gallagher ditch produced a verdict in favor of the mining company and an injunction against Philip Gleaves, who had been using the ditch for agricultural purposes. In October, 1895 the Sterling mine again displayed a large sample of its season's cleanup in Portland. This was the largest display to date and was valued at $10,000 in dust and nuggets. The largest nugget on display this year was valued only at $110 but the display was impressive in size. The Portland Oregonian, which carried a good story on the display on October 10th, also gave some interesting information on the mine. The largest nugget was said to have come from only one foot below the surface of the ground while the second largest on display came from a layer seventy feet below. The story went on to say that the owners would not divulge the size of the cleanup but that this display was all from the cleanup of that season and it was rumored that 500 ounces of gold had been sent to the mint, too. From what we know of annual production figures, this would appear to be an accurate estimate of the production for this year. Times continued good for the mine in the following season. Reports in January, 1896 stated that the mine was in full operation. Henry Ankeny, visiting in San Francisco in March, told a reporter from the Call that the Sterling mine "is conceded to be about the best placer property in Oregon" and added that the mine was currently employing a work force of 22 men. Little is known of the operation during the remainder of this year. Again election news dominated the papers of the region as the exciting campaign between William McKinley and William Jennings Bryan seized public attention. Politics was all-absorbing to the editor of the 1890s, in large part because the local papers were all tied to the local political parties and depended upon the elections for their prosperity. A good winter brought another successful mining season in 1897. A freeze in January shut down things for a while but this was compensated for by a good supply of snow in the higher elevations. The Sterling mine was just beginning its cleanup on the first of September and local estimates placed it as the largest in the history of the Company, though the Tidings estimate of $75,000 seems a bit high. The extensive operations of these years made it necessary to revamp the works a bit in order to reach untouched ground. Early in 1898 work began on a number of improvements. New flumes were built and a new and larger reservoir was constructed that would offer more water storage for the hydraulics than the hastily repaired reservoir that had been damaged in the big storm of 1890. Other alterations were also made at this time to enable the company to work the old channel more effectively. The repairs to the reservoir resulted in a shorter season than usual. The mine closed down on June 30 to begin the cleanup and the Tidings reported that some three to four acres of bedrock had been cleared during the season and promised good returns. By August 22, the same paper was able to report that the cleanup had been completed and the owners had left for Portland with the proceeds which amounted to "12 gold bricks of the value of $3000 each." The alterations and improvements in the mine promised well for the mining season of 1898-99 in view of the excellent returns from the season just concluded. The hydraulics went on around-the-clock operation in mid-February and the weather provided sufficient water for a long run. The cleanup did not commence until late July and bid fair to outdo the fine returns of the previous year. The expectations were justified. A sample of the cleanup was placed on display in Portland in late August and was estimated as being worth between eight and ten thousand dollars. The display included nuggets that weighed out as much as $300 and "a lot from $50 to $150 each" according to the Oregonian of August 28. An August report from Medford stated that one shipment to the mint in San Francisco aggregated $15,000 and said that it was only one of several made that year. A report from January, 1900 gives an interesting account of the mine's operation. Henry Ankeny was interviewed for the Ashland Tidings and stated that the hydraulics were already operating night and day under a full head of water. There were 26 men working at the mine and eight of them were employed in drifting under the old channel. He went on to state that the operating expenses of the mine averaged $14,000 a year which would indicate that the proprietors were making a return that fully justified Cap Ankeny's faith in the property. It was at this time that the company began experimenting with blasting the conglomerate of the old channel in order to work the bedrock. Giant powder was used and the drift referred to above was for the purpose of placing charges. An accident in February, 1900 brought this information to light. There was an explosion of powder that did considerable damage to the mine and was heard in Jacksonville. The powder monkey had been attempting to thaw out some giant powder which had been frozen by the cold weather and had, apparently, been attempting to speed up the process which resulted in the explosion. Ankeny told the papers at this time that the mine was using a ton of powder a month in working away at the old channel. The experiment with the blasting powder was not a success. The quantities necessary, the problems of handling and the nature of the conglomerate combined to make the venture uneconomic. The experiment was continued in a desultory fashion for some months after the accident but it was apparent that this was not the answer to dealing with the old channel, and this problem was never satisfactorily solved by the owners of the mine despite considerable efforts in later periods. The season of 1900 was another spectacularly successful one for Ankeny and Cook. In April the sluice boxes yielded seven gold bricks valued at $17,000 and this was just the beginning. A partial cleanup in July resulted in another 1270 ounces of gold valued at $23,000 while the final cleanup in August was to produce another $14,000 in gold bricks and an additional $10,000 in coarse gold and nuggets. It would seem that this was the largest single season take ever made in the history of the mine. After the spate of publicity, Ankeny and Cook became less communicative about the mine. It may be that cleanups in the succeeding years became less spectacular. It is a fact, however, that Cook tended to spend more time in Portland after 1900 and that Henry Ankeny traveled more, too. He began moving in the higher echelons of the state Republican organization, a pursuit that culminated in his being a member of the delegation that called on Theodore Roosevelt in 1904 to bring him the hardly unexpected news that he was the party nominee for President for that year. As the owners began spending more time away, the operation of the mine was turned over to Frank Ankeny, Henry's son, who took over the position of superintendent of the company. There was little change in the operations but the new superintendent was not in the position to divulge information of the sort that his father and his uncle had been feeding to the press. There was little else of interest in the period. A heavy spring storm in 1903 did considerable damage to the ditch but it was soon repaired. The cleanup that summer produced a display of gold nuggets that impressed the public. The largest nugget was valued at only $140 but the total was estimated at $4,000. This display, however, was held in Medford and not in Portland as in previous years. Henry Ankeny was also becoming interested in other ventures. He began looking over the irrigation systems around Klamath Lake in 1901 and became impressed with the possibilities of them. One of the major problems there was that insufficient capital was available. Consequently a number of small companies were operating in the field and none was efficient. This was further complicated by the fact that some of the main ditch lines paralleled each other. In 1904 Ankeny and Cook began negotiating the sale of the mine to a Roseburg, Oregon promoter, Fred J. Blakeley. It is not known how much was paid for the mine but it is known that Henry Ankeny was able to invest more than $50,000 from his half share in acquiring Klamath irrigation projects. The new owners took over the property in early 1905. It brought the Ankeny ownership to an end after a quarter of a century of vigorous exploitation. It was the end of an era for Sterling Creek. Henry Ankeny did not live to complete his work with the irrigation project. The federal government had become interested in the district and moved to acquire all of the water rights of the companies operating there. It was a long and tedious business and was still being negotiated when Henry Ankeny died in Portland on December 22, 1906. His death was widely mourned in Oregon where he had been an active figure for fifty-six years. CHAPTER IX
The Sterling mine was now the largest
placer mining
property in Oregon. There were 1200 acres of ground on Sterling Creek.
The company also owned water rights on Sterling Creek, the Little
Applegate, Griffin Creek, Grubb Creek, Dutch Creek, Glade Creek, Deming
Creek and the Squaw Lakes. Some of these water rights were not useful
for working the creek but they were valuable property. Irrigation in
the area was on the increase.THE INTERIM PERIOD The only important acreage on Sterling Creek not yet owned by the company was Ed Graupner's old ranch. It was still owned by Donaldson-Selby. This ranch comprised some 878 acres of ground and lay above the Sterling mine property. There had been a reasonable quantity of gold found on some of the property but no real survey of it had been made and there had been no extensive exploitation. Graupner and a hired hand had worked some of the ground and some of it had been worked at the time of the rush but most of it was untouched by mining, and approximately two hundred acres of it were under cultivation at this time. An essential feature of the Sterling mine was the long ditch. It still wound some twenty-six and a half miles around the hillsides before emptying into the reservoir. The other ditches owned by the company were of little value for mining purposes as they served the land around the mouth of the creek and this had long since been mined out. The chief area yet unworked was the ground of the old channel. The portions of the channel that had been worked were of high quality. There was also some land lying at the base of the hills along the creek which had not been worked and it appeared to be productive. In earlier years some of this ground had been worked by drifting and had paid well. There was another side to the picture. Operations were reaching the limit of profitable working with the mine as it then stood. The main workings were then operating with a head of only 65 feet of water. This was far from sufficient for working the old channel. In order to reach the high quality ground that lay immediately above the ground worked in 1905 and to follow the old channel, something had to be done to increase the water pressure. In fact, it would not be long before the old ditch was providing a head of water sufficient only for ground sluicing. The new owners were primarily promoters. Little is known of T. N. Barnsdall, and his connection with the mine seems to have been slight. He held a share in the mine through this period and was a partner of S. S. Bullis, the next owner of the mine. The other owner was Fred J. Blakeley of Roseburg, Oregon. His name was to be connected with the property off and on for a number of years in ways that seem impossible to untangle at this date. Blakeley had been the promoter of the Umpqua Water, Light and Power Company, a firm which served Roseburg. He appears on the letterhead as the president of the firm. The capital he used in purchasing his share of the mine seems to have come from selling out the Umpqua Water, Power and Light to the City of Roseburg. He retained a debatable interest in the property which later resulted in a threat of litigation. He filed suit against the city but the case was never tried. Connected with the new firm were T. R. Sheridan, who served as treasurer, and Jefferson D. Heard. Sheridan had served the Umpqua Water, Power and Light in a similar capacity and was the president of the First National Bank of Roseburg. His share of the Sterling mine was probably sufficient only to qualify him to hold an office in the company. J. D. Heard was listed on the letterhead and in other sources as the manager of the mine. He seems to have been an investor-promoter of the sort that was common at this time. He had held an extensive interest in the Shasta County Mining Company of California and owned, for brief periods, mining and agricultural property in Josephine and Klamath counties in Oregon. His first known connection with the mine is a letter of authorization from Henry E. Ankeny under the date of November 30, 1897. He is named sole agent for the sale of the Sterling Mining Company for the sum of $250,000. It is not clear whether Heard actually owned a share of the mine or not. Papers exist which grant him a 10% commission on the sale of the mine, one dated February 6, 1911. His own account book for 1905 indicates that he had a quarter interest in the fee paid for the sale of the mine at that time. The new owners began mining in May, 1905 with the operations directed by Mr. J. D. Heard, the foreman. There was little change from the last years of the Ankeny ownership. Giant powder had been given up in favor of dynamite for working the old channel and this seems to have been the major change. Initially the holes for the dynamite were hand drilled. The drillers became a permanent part of the mine personnel. To stimulate them, the company began to award a prize to the team which could win a drilling contest held in Jacksonville as part of the Fourth of July celebration. We have a description of the dynamiting of the channel from an eyewitness of the largest of the blasts. One of the Sterlingville youngsters, hearing of the event, sneaked out of the house on a summer evening to watch the show. The holes had all been drilled and prepared for the loading. Chinese laborers were brought to the powder house in the evening. Dynamite was notoriously unreliable stuff and it was felt that it was safer to handle after sundown. The coolies worked in pairs. Dynamite was brought from the powder house, two sticks at a time, and placed gently in a vertical position in a bucket made of an old, square can, When the bucket was loaded, the Chinese carefully picked up a pole, from which the bucket was suspended, and walked slowly to the holes. The dynamite was packed and fused hole by hole until the whole blast area was completed. The area was carefully cleared of all personnel. Then the blasting chief lit the main fuse. The charges were set to explode simultaneously and our observer reports that they seemed to. It was a tremendous blast, the largest in the history of the mine. Newspaper reports state that it was heard as far away as Phoenix and Jacksonville. The dynamite did the trick. The old boulder channel was broken up enough that the hydraulics could operate, though many of the masses of conglomerate had to be derricked out. The tailings were washed down onto previously worked sections of the mine. In this first season, a bobtailed one that ended in early August, the mine lived up to its reputation. The owners reported gold to the value of $9,481.19 for the period but showed no figures for operating expenses. It is probable that these did not run to more than half the sum from the cleanup. The following year was a more profitable one. The first cleanup was weighed out on March 14 and brought 101.56 ounces of gold. Successive cleanups followed with the final one coming on August 20, 1906. The total for this full season came to $19,450.71 from 42,000 yards of dirt and at a reported operating cost of approximately $9,000 for the year. The effectiveness of the ditch was already starting to be strained and the limitations were to become apparent in the following year. The cleanups began on March 6 and ended on July 30, in 1907. The ground worked for the season amounted to some 60,000 yards but the returns from this dropped to $16,828.90 for the year. In the lack of evidence to the contrary, one must assume that the reported average operating costs of nine thousand per year were held for this year, too. The profit margin was a little higher than this indicates for the owners reported a later sale of a gold brick and some nuggets of an estimated value of $4,301.80 which brings the total to the excellent figure of $21,130.70 for the season. (The confusion in this report as given here is a reproduction of the confusing original.) There is some suspicion attaching to the report for 1907. A letter of that summer, written apparently by the office manager of the firm, states that all of the work on the mine, including improvements (not specified), had been done with no capital expenditure. It may have been that the promoters needed all of the profit from the year to keep their financial empire intact. It may be that they were milking the property. There seems little to choose between the two. The mine continued to operate in succeeding years under the ownership of Blakeley but detailed figures are not available. These given above are from a report prepared as a sales prospectus for the mine. There is a suspicion that later figures were not so impressive and an examination of the ground that was worked bears this out, for the hydraulic was of little use after the 1907 season in working the old channel. A report published by the U.S. Geological Survey as Bulletin 380, Contributions to Economic Geology, 1908, gives an interesting picture of the mine in that year. The property is now reported as exceeding 2,000 acres (reflecting the purchase of the Donaldson-Selby ranch). It extended from a point below the mouth of Sterling Creek the entire length of that creek and across the divide to Griffin Creek. The report indicates that nothing more had been done to improve the ditch. The proposed Squaw Lakes project is mentioned and the statement made that an additional 17 miles of ditch would be required to tap this source. The description is worth quoting for the light it casts on the workings at that time and some of the subsequent difficulties encountered by the later owners. "The gravel bank on the west side of the present workings is 40 feet in thickness, but on the east side it is only about 20 feet thick. The section consists of gravel and boulders, the latter being rather uniformly distributed throughout the section. Many of the boulders are small, but some are more than 2 feet in diameter and a few exceed 8 feet. They are mainly of greenstone. "… [to the east of the present stream bed] … Here a channel, which is named Boulder Channel, was struck, and this has been followed for about a quarter of a mile to the present workings The bedrock of these workings is a little higher than the present stream bed and is about 100 yards east of it. The values are found across a width of 200 feet. The gold is of medium coarseness and is usually well rounded, although angular nuggets are also present. The average thickness of the gravel in the Boulder Channel is about 40 feet. The bedrock at the mine is greenstone, in which are patches of slaty tuffs. These rocks have been considerably sheared and veinlets of quartz are present. "… In the present workings is a dike running N, 20° E., containing cross-veins which do not extend beyond the dike. "… In 1908 mining was in progress from March until August, during which time about 1 acre was mined. The value of the gravels was about 40¢ to the cubic yard." The above report would indicate that the cleanup for the year's operation returned about $24,000 gross, which would be in line with preceding years. The mine was still paying well but the time was approaching when the Ankeny improvements would be insufficient to keep the mine going on this scale of operation for much longer. Something needed to be done in order to get water to the higher ground. Blakeley had had a survey made by J. S. Howard, a noted engineer in the Medford area, with a view to tapping the water of the Squaw Lakes with a new ditch. The project stopped at that point. The company did nothing toward constructing the new ditch and showed no sign of going ahead with it. In the absence of evidence it is impossible to say why this development was not carried through. There is a strong suspicion that Blakeley did not have sufficient capital to contemplate such a project. On the other hand he was primarily a promoter rather than a developer. The Squaw Lakes project which had begun as an attempt to solve the problem of hydraulic pressure at the mine soon burgeoned into an immense irrigation scheme whereby the waters of the lakes would be carried by a high ditch across the Griffin Creek divide and used to irrigate some four thousand acres of valley land. This project was obviously beyond the financial capabilities of the owners of the mine. Some publicity was given the venture and some abortive efforts were made to attract attention to it but little was done toward attracting capital for the venture. It was a time when great projects were talked of all over the West and many areas had their multi-million dollar schemes that would, according to the drum beaters, convert their own districts into veritable Ophirs. There was little change in the operation of the mine in 1909 and 1910 from the pattern described in the geological report of 1908. A series of suits were brought against the company by interested parties who objected to the company running "slickens" from its placer operations into the Little Applegate. Oregon law was beginning to follow the pattern of other western states in legislating against the placer operators. The law was not as firm at this time as it was to become later, when settling basins were required and restrictions placed upon the amount of sediment permitted in water discharged into streams. In 1910 the mine hit the pages of the local newspapers for a while and attracted letters to the editor. Blakeley brought in a nugget valued at $134 and reported it as one of the largest nuggets ever taken out of the mine. Silas Reynolds wrote in to claim that he had found a nugget in 1867 that weighed out at $200 which he claimed as the largest ever found, and various other writers told of large nuggets they had found. The largest nugget reported from the mine seems to have been the one valued at $300 which Henry Ankeny placed on display in Portland in 1899. This was the last season of operation under the Blakeley ownership. The "run" had been much smaller than the previous years and the difficulties with water had slowed down operations, too. The lawsuits had added to the expenses. It would appear that the season was not a profitable one and the irrigation venture was showing no signs of attracting financial support. Mining was no longer an exciting occupation in Southern Oregon in 1910. The great Medford pear boom was attracting all of the attention and whatever local capital that was available, while other irrigation projects were building. Whatever hopes Blakeley had had for the property, it had become obvious that he was not going to be able to realize them. In 1911, the mine changed hands. A number of bonds had been sold, probably to pay off Ankeny and Cook. These were acquired by Spencer S. Bullis and Mr. T. N. Barnsdall of the Barnsdall Oil Company as a speculative venture. Mr. Bullis made the journey to Southern Oregon to look over the property in company with his eldest son, Raymond S. Bullis. A survey of the property was made and a close investigation of the operation was conducted. There was little doubt as to the value of the ground yet to be mined but it remained to be seen if the engineering problems involved could be met cheaply enough to put the property on a paying basis. This event brought a man into the Rogue River Valley who was to play an active and important role in its development over the next fifteen years. For the Sterling mine it was to be a period of improvements and developments and the final chapter in its history as an important mining property. Spencer S. Bullis was born in East Aurora, New York in 1848. His business career began in southwestern New York where he became interested in hardwood lumbering. He became primarily concerned with marketing the lumber and developed an organization that became quite extensive. In the course of his business he also became interested in railroads and invested in several short lines in western New York and northern Pennsylvania and engaged in some construction. It was here that he became interested in trolley lines. In the 1890s, Bullis decided to embark on a major development project in partnership with a Captain Jones of Buffalo, New York. The two acquired property in Gulfport, Mississippi. Bullis immediately began a large-scale development of the port. Piers were built on the waterfront and a maritime trade built up revolving principally around the export of the wood of the longleaf yellow pine of this heavily forested area. It was only natural then to construct a railroad from Gulfport to Jackson, Mississippi to augment the operation. With the Gulfport development in this stage, Bullis began to look for another field of operations. Primarily a builder, he lost some of his zest for a project when it had been completed. He sold out to his partner and used the proceeds to purchase electric power plants and distribution systems in Natchez and Vicksburg, Mississippi and in Lake Charles, Louisiana. With this as a nucleus, he began developing an electric interurban system and also invested heavily in the developing street railway system in Beaumont, Texas. By 1911 he had achieved his purposes and the development of these various interests. He cashed in on his work and sold the various interests to a Chicago firm that was acquiring such properties. It left him with a considerable capital and looking for opportunities for investment and development. It was at this juncture that the opportunity came to acquire the Sterling mine. By this time the Rogue Valley of Oregon was becoming well known nationally as the result of the fabulous pear boom. It was a region that exhibited quite a potential for the prospective investor. This was the man who appeared in early 1912 to survey the property and investigate its possibilities. For the first time, the mine had passed into the hands of an owner who had capital for real development and who could visualize it as a part of a regional development scheme. One of the first steps taken by S. S. Bullis in his broader development scheme was the acquisition of the Southern Oregon Traction Company, which had a franchise for constructing a street railroad in Medford. The trolley line was actually constructed by Bullis. In 1915 he purchased the Rogue River Valley Railroad, which ran from Medford to Jacksonville and electrified the line to Jacksonville. To the valley newspapers, always anxious to boom new schemes, these moves provided a field day for speculation. Inasmuch as Bullis owned the Sterling mine, it was confidently predicted that an extension would soon be built to the mine. Mr. Bullis did plan an extension of the line but certainly had no thought of building on to the Sterling mine. The Bullis Logging Company was formed and a modern mill was erected near the line of the railroad in Medford. The railroad was then extended beyond Jacksonville by the logging company to tap the timber on the hills. Further development was considered, and the passage of a measure authorizing a bond issue by the City of Medford to subsidize construction of a railroad to the coast via Smith River caused Mr. Bullis to survey the proposed route. Nothing came of the scheme, however, for a survey of the area indicated that the route was not practicable. The final blow to the project was administered by the Oregon Supreme Court which held that such bond issues were unconstitutional. The Sterling mine was merely a part of a larger development scheme for the region developed by Bullis. As events developed it proved to be the most profitable of the many projects, though some arguments could be made for awarding this honor to the logging and mill operation. All of the projects were to become casualities of the first World War. Labor costs and materials priorities were to strike crippling blows that eventually destroyed them. CHAPTER X
There was no mining done in the year of
1912. The
new owner had surveyed the property and was making plans for extensive
developments, but little could be done until the proposed changes had
been put into effect.THE MINE REOPENS During the mining season of 1912-13 some leases of mine property had been granted on a royalty basis which brought in a little money. A drift was carried into the old boulder channel and some working of ground outside of the channel was carried on but the returns were small. A heavy snowfall in the mountains had produced some optimism but the cleanup failed to justify it. The mint receipts totaled only $1,529.51 for the season. Excitement was generated in February, 1913 when Spencer S. Bullis granted an interview to some local newspaper men. It was announced that the tidy sum of $200,000 was to be put into the development work at the mine. There was little concrete information on the specific projects which were to accrue from this investment. The major portion of the money was to go for the construction of a high line ditch. This was essentially the Blakeley project which would put the ditch in high enough to develop a good working head of water at the mine and an extension which would tap the waters of Squaw Lakes which would ensure that the mine had an adequate water supply for extensive working of the group. Mr. Harry E. Foster of Medford was retained to survey the new line and to prepare the necessary profiles and cost estimates. It was the first time that anything concrete had been done to improve the mine since Henry Ankeny and Vincent Cook had completed their improvement projects in 1899. Mr. Bullis returned to the east following this announcement but the work went forward in his absence. By mid-July a contract had been let to James Garvin and James Briner to rebuild a good bit of the flume work on the old ditch so that it would be available for full-scale operation of the hydraulics in the approaching mining season. Apparently it was while he was on this trip to the East that Bullis gave up the idea of the high ditch. He may have received preliminary cost estimates from the surveys and made the decision on these grounds. We cannot be certain. The long ditch was an immensely expensive undertaking under any circumstances and the problematical returns from a mining operation did not make such an investment attractive. Unlike Blakeley, who gave up the mine in the face of the discouragement, Bullis put his ingenuity to work. He came up with an alternative to the high ditch that promised to achieve the same results as far as the mine was concerned. Large high-pressure pumps had come into use for carving away at hills. Seattle, Washington had used pumps on leveling some of its hills to improve street gradients. Mr. Bullis looked around for such a pump and found one for sale in Seattle. It had been used for filling Topographer Gulch, east of Seattle, during the construction of the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad. Bullis purchased this great pump for delivery to the Sterling mine. According to the news releases it weighed 13 tons and required a power input of 800 horsepower. The figure on the power was accurate but the weight of the pump was approximately 30 tons. The pump arrived in Jacksonville by rail in August, 1913. The problem of transporting this huge piece of machinery to the mine was soon solved. A contract was let to Charles A. Berdan who was locally acknowledged as an expert in moving heavy loads. The pump was loaded on to a huge frame of a type used for house moving. Two large steam tractors were hitched to the load and the ten-mile journey to the site of installation was accomplished without incident. It was a spectacular achievement and attracted much local attention. A picture of the load en route to the mine was taken by Emil Britt, son of the famous pioneer photographer, and was widely distributed in the county. It bears a legend giving the weight and the name of the mover. The pump had a number of advantages over the high ditch in addition to its rather large saving in expense. The water pressure generated by it was at least as great as the maximum to be expected from the high ditch. The pump also offered some flexibility in operation. There was the possibility of impounding the runoff from the mine working and using the pump to return this water to a catchment basin for re-use. It was an idea with interesting possibilities but does not seem to have been put into actual operation. The pump itself was a five-stage one. To power it, an electric motor was installed to operate the pump. It was rated at 1000 horsepower and was connected to the pump in direct line. It was to prove quite satisfactory. A hydroelectric power generating plant was established down the creek below the workings at a point where an eight-hundred-foot head of water could be developed from the ditch. The dynamo had a capacity of 1500 horsepower and was rigged to transmit a 6600-volt current on the lines to the mine, a distance of some three miles to the actual workings. Seth M. Bullis was put in charge of the electrical plant and that side of the company operations. The generator proved to be quite effective and the plant was later sold to the community of Joseph, Oregon, where it served for many years. The new pump proved to be effective in that it considerably increased the pressure of the water directed through the nozzles and, in fact, gave at least as much pressure as the new high ditch would have done and at considerably less expense. It did not solve the problem of breaking up the old boulder channel, however. Water pressure was not sufficient to the task at hand. The company had to revert to blasting in order to break up the channel so that the hydraulics could take over. In the spring of 1914 the blasting operation was reported to have consumed 15,000 kegs of high explosive in loosening up the channel. The returns from the mine for this season are not available. The one mint certificate that has survived is for a quantity of amalgam that weighed out at $300.50, and this is certainly far less than the mine produced for the year. The returns did not pay for all of the development cost but did cover the normal operating expenses for the season. There is, however, no way of. estimating these costs in order to arrive at an estimate of the probable return from the season's operation. The following season saw the works back in full scale operation with the improvements all functioning. The pump proved to be highly effective and the more efficient powder did a good job with the old channel. There was only one thing to prevent the mine from producing a huge quantity of gold. The ground was not rich. The total value of the gold from the cleanups from that season amounted to only $11,489.48, which was a small figure in view of the past history of the mine. It provided a fairly reasonable margin of profit above operating costs but did not represent a good return on the total investment of the company. The fall of 1915 was a good one for the miners. The rains came early and the supply of water continued through the winter and enabled the mine to operate well into the summer. The new pump proved to be of benefit in that the hydraulics could function at full pressure much later than they could when the sole reliance was placed on the head from the ditch. A series of cleanups through the summer of 1916 produced the fine total of $17,538.29 for the mining season. It looked as though the company might begin to get its investment out of the property and optimism was reflected in the local scene. The Sterling mine began to crop up in the newspapers again as one of the largest placer producers in the state. It was destined to be the last good season in the history of the Sterling mine. The United States was becoming more and more involved in the great war in Europe, and the mine was to be one of the casualties of the war. The mining season of 1916-17 promised to be a good one. The fall was a bit dry but the coming of winter brought rainfall in abundance. The snow piled up in the mountains and held there, ensuring a long season with plenty of water. Another new improvement was made in the spring of 1917. Electric lights were installed in the mining area so that the operation could be carried on night and day through the mining season. In spite of the good water supply and the electric lights, the season was not a prosperous one. The total value of the cleanups came to only $7,613.29, which was a meager return for the extensive operation. To add to the difficulties of the Sterling Mining Company, there had been a continuous rise in operating costs since the outbreak of war in 1914. Wages had more than doubled in this time and the cost of explosives, under the impetus of wartime demand, had risen more than that. The problem was further exacerbated in April, 1917 when the United States declared war. This accelerated the inflationary trend of the previous years. These problems were to plague the company during its operations in the 1917-18 mining season. Despite every effort to pare costs and to take full advantage of the improvements that had been made in the operation of the mine, the returns were not good. The total value of gold taken during this season was only $8,138.95, a figure that was insufficient to meet the operating expenses for the year. The end of the war with the signing of the Armistice in the fall of 1918 encouraged the company to continue operations for the mining season of 1918-19. Cost had not dropped appreciably but there was hope that a less extensive operation might, at least, pay for itself and might even realize a small margin of profit. The returns for the year were a disappointing $5,266.20 and this brought a firm decision to shut down the mine. The company could not afford to operate on ground that averaged no more than 40¢ a yard when costs remained at or near their wartime levels and the price of gold remained unchanged. The company could survive only if some vastly cheaper way of handling the ground could be developed. Without this, the days of the large company and large-scale placer mining on Sterling Creek would end, and mining would revert to the small-scale operation that had prevailed in the days before Cameron and Hayden had begun organization of the district. The 1919-20 season found the mine completely shut down. Had Bullis been tempted to reopen the mine, the exceptionally dry summer that brought destruction by fire to much of the Pacific Northwest would have been sufficient to discourage the project. Bullis began to cut his losses in his extensive investments in the local area. He had earlier divested himself of the Southern Oregon Traction Company. It had already passed through one reorganization and had been leased to the Opp mine, a quartz operation near Jacksonville. The burning of the power station in Medford had ended the electrical interurban operation and the railroad soon ceased to operate. Bullis also sold out his lumber mill at this time. There was a little work done at the mine in 1920 but it seems to have been a ground sluicing operation and was, apparently, done by a lessor. The return to the mining company was the small sum of $323.60, a pitifully small amount of gold for what had once been the largest placer operation in Oregon. The company made no attempt to operate the mine in 1922. Another lease arrangement brought in $706.67 while the sale of timber returned $1,296.12 and a lease of grazing rights on the ranch produced an additional $99 for the firm. The property was worked again in the summer of 1923 and cleanups that year brought in $3,188.40 according to the mint certificates. It would appear that this was the total taken by a small operator who paid a 25% royalty, for the company showed a return from the gold for the year that is exactly one fourth of this sum. Additional sources of revenue brought the total receipts for the year to $1,489.96. The succeeding season was less successful. The company reported its income from gold as a trifling $83.47 for the year. The total income from the property was only $1,086.28, and taxes and other expenses took $85 of that. A doubter still existed, however. Fred J. Blakeley appeared on the scene in 1925 with two partners, Jack Mathews and H. Hutton. Publicity poured forth that intimated that the new proprietors were about to bring in a bonanza. The reporters were given to understand that the mine had changed hands though, in point of fact, Blakeley and his partners were operating it on a lease arrangement with the company. The ditch was repaired and Blakeley issued a grandiose statement to the press that four hydraulics would be placed in operation that season. A dam was to be constructed on Sterling Creek itself which would impound sufficient water, according to the news report, to make this large-scale operation possible. The statement to the press went on to say that "Engineers and inspectors have been employed at the mine for several months, testing out the quality of the deposits and constructing new ditches." It was claimed that already $20,000 had been expended in getting the mine back into operating condition and asserted that the "mine remained idle during the past years for lack of anyone with sufficient funds to develop it and put it on a paying basis." The actual results of the operation failed to justify all of the advance publicity. The end of the mining season found only $1,641.80 realized from the cleanup. It was slightly more than half as much as the company made from timber sales that year. The operation quietly folded and disappeared from view. The new, imaginative ownership had failed to make a profit from the workings. After this failure, interest in working the mine ended. The quality of the ground, which never seems to have exceeded the 40¢ a yard value reported in 1908, and the high costs of operation effectually prevented any working of the mine on a large scale from succeeding. One or two men could work the ground on a lease arrangement and make wages but nothing more elaborate than this would pay. If the mine were to resume operation on a large scale, two factors would have to change. The price of gold would have to rise and costs, especially labor costs, would have to decline. Spencer S. Bullis died in December, 1928 and the mine passed to his heirs. During the last years of Mr. Bullis' life, he had operated the Rogue River Canning Company which packed pears for the national market. The management of the company devolved upon Seth M. Bullis, who had been in charge of the electrification of the mine. He had later gone to work for the California-Oregon Power Company and was to become district manager of that firm before his retirement. He had little interest in operating the mine and had been convinced by his father's experience that it would not pay a large-scale operation. Although no special effort had been made, the mine had been for sale throughout the 1920s. S. M. Bullis was still anxious to dispose of the property but buyers were scarce, even in the boom year of 1928. When the country plunged into depression with the stock market crash of the fall of 1929, prospects for selling the mine became quite dim. The depression had brought a widespread revival of interest in placer mining in Southern Oregon but not on a large scale. Many local residents, without employment and with little prospects of obtaining any, bought tools and pans and took to the hills as the forty-niners had done before them. There was still a lot of ground in the area that would pay subsistence to a lone miner or family operation in the depths of the depression. Farmers leased rights on their land on a royalty basis to the new gold-seekers and a good many farmers actually turned to working their own ground in order to make expenses and pay taxes as the economy of the country plunged down into the dreadful cataclysm of 1931. In Jacksonville, people began sinking shafts in their back yards and drifting under the town. Old shafts were reopened and new ones made. Banks dusted off their gold scales and small stores throughout Jackson County installed scales and sold groceries for gold dust. The Jackson County Court came up with a novel idea for easing the pressure on the relief funds available to the county. The Court decided to institute a school to teach mining techniques in the hope that some of the people thus trained could become self-supporting. This would free the scanty relief funds for the support of the most desperate cases. The federal government, through the Oregon Office of Vocational Education, made available the sum of $270 for this purpose. The county court provided an additional $150 for the operation of the school. The Medford school system undertook the task of setting up the school and securing the instructors under the capable direction of the superintendent, the late E. H. Hedrick. A survey of the local situation showed that there were nearly a thousand people already at work panning gold who had no experience or training and, consequently, were probably losing more than they took through inefficiency. There appeared to be a number of others who would be willing to try mining if they could be instructed in proper techniques. The school district hired two experienced miners, Mr. George Barton and Mr. C. C. Clark, as instructors. The course was designed to take three days and instruction was for six hours per day during this time. The first two days of class were devoted to practical matters of vital importance and included: 1. How to care for
the gold pan.
On the third day the instructors took
the class into the field for practical experience in panning gold.2. How to pan for gold. 3. How to trace and locate placer gold. 4. How to trace and locate quartz gold. 5. How to build and operate a sluice box. 6. How to build and operate a rocker. 7. How to make a valid location of a mining claim. The funds available provided three classes with instruction and reached a total of 127 people in registrations for the course. Only ninety-seven of these completed the three-day course, however. An interesting feature of this is that six of the successful students of the course were women. The school also assisted "graduates" to locate if they desired this assistance. Hedrick reported that 18 of them were located on claims by the school personnel. In addition to the formal courses of instruction, the school felt it desirable to instruct those miners already in the field who needed help. Mr. J. V. Neff was hired as an instructor and traveled around the country. He reported contacting 225 miners and giving them assistance in improving their techniques, the utilization of their equipment and assisting some to locate on claims, either through informing them of proper procedures or in moving them from poor ground to paying territory. For the students of the school, the director also undertook an additional service. He secured laborers with funds provided by the Reconstruction Finance Relief Committee. These men were put to work in stripping the overburden on the claims of the graduates and other necessary development work. This helped to keep the miners on the claims as it allowed them to work pay dirt almost immediately rather than having to go through this long and discouraging process before obtaining any returns. Since these people had been on the relief rolls, they needed immediate returns from their work in order to support themselves. The successes of the program did not, however, ensure its continuance. The program was limited to the one session in the spring of 1933. It may be that additional sessions of the school would not have reached a sufficient number of people to justify continuance. Furthermore, placer mining was not a long-range solution to the employment problem. It was merely an excellent stopgap measure. As the New Deal got under way, programs evolved to meet the problems of unemployment, and the philosophy of these programs was not favorable to this type of project. Sterling Creek was involved in the program. The Sterling Mining Company granted permission to these miners to use company ground below the working and outside of the areas that were already leased. This ground was available free of charge to the graduates of the school and free of royalty. The county court was also permitted to assign others to the land. At the time that Hedrick made his report in late 1933, he estimated that nearly one hundred men and women had taken advantage of the offer and were located on the deeded ground of the mining company. CHAPTER XI
There had been an influx of miners at
Sterling Creek
even before the establishment of the group as the result of the mining
school. A number of men had leased ground from the Sterling Mining
Company and some men had moved onto the old tailings to rework them.
By the middle of 1933 gold mining was more attractive as the result of
the devaluation of the dollar by Franklin Delano Roosevelt. With the
new price of gold the forty-cent dirt was now seventy-cent dirt and
worth enough to work.THE LAST ACT The late model gold rush brought a revival of life along the creek. A store was opened in Sterlingville that became the center of the community. It was a rough shed but it served the needs of the local residents. It was run as a cooperative by the men in the district and supplied them with basic necessities of life and with tools. On Saturday nights the building was opened for a community dance which was always a lively affair. For those who wanted some real old-time gold rush spirit, local bootleggers appeared. A quick passing of money in the dark near the hall and a surreptitious trip to the cache back in the bushes put the miner in possession of the pale product of the distiller. The store building also served as a meeting place for the community. It was here that the miners gathered to organize the district and to settle any problems that came up that needed community action. The mining laws of the district were few in number and quite simple. Sluices, rockers and other equipment were to be left strictly alone. It was a simple and eminently practical regulation. Claims were limited to a 24-foot creek frontage but had no depth restrictions except that they must not interfere with right of way or with the living quarters of anyone. No one was to interfere with the claim of another or to dam the stream. The mining council was the organization of the miners and was charged with the enforcement of the laws. It hired two guards who walked the creek and were armed to enforce the laws of the community. Each of the claim holders on the creek was required to contribute to the pay of these two guards and they were paid about $5 a day each. The figure was taken as the average of what they could have made by working a claim. Persons who were charged with violations of the mining laws were to be brought before a miner's court. Evidence was presented in the court and a decision was reached by it which was to be enforced by the community. If the court decided that the action was a violation of state or local laws, the accused was to be taken to the county sheriff and the men who accompanied him were to prefer charges against the accused. The two armed guards seemed to have no official status as law enforcement officers. There is no hint that they were recognized by the county authorities. In any event, the problem did not arise as it would appear that few cases, if any, arose that required any action by this grass roots government. Many of the miners wore guns in belts and all of them were armed with some weapon. The reasons for this are uncertain. The guns may have been worn purely for local color. The community took this method of expressing its relationship with the earlier gold seekers. If this were the reason, the miners of '33 were more amply provided in this regard than their predecessors of 1854. There may have been a feeling, too, that this display of armed might was a sensible precaution that tended to discourage anyone who had theft in mind. The heavy armament certainly did not lead to violence. The community functioned largely on general agreement and operated for the benefit of all. The presence of women and children on the creek probably helped to tone down the community. There was less danger of irresponsible violence in a settlement of families than in an all-male community. In this respect the community was a true descendant of the gold rush town of Sterlingville, for it was a very law-abiding settlement. While the miners were busily working on Sterling Creek in the new model gold rush, events behind the scenes were taking place that were to bring the boom to an end. The Bullis and Barnsdall interest was sold to E. Ford McCormick, who was acting for the Yarra Engineering Company of Jersey City, N.J. McCormick had an idea that he felt would solve the problem of working some of the ground owned by the company. He brought in J. B. Garrand and built a concentrator. The idea was that dirt would be placed in the concentrator and, using the principle of the centrifuge, the gold would be concentrated for easy recovery. The concentrator was operated by a 75-horsepower electric motor with a Reeves variable speed drive. Power for the project was obtained from California-Oregon Power Company, as the generating plant of the mining company had been long since dismantled and sold. The machine was put into operation in the mining season of 1933-34. It was an ingenious idea but it did not work well. The ground that was worked had a clay content that prevented the gold from concentrating according to the theory. After several attempts, the machine was given up. Using normal recovery methods, however, the company did reasonably well, as the ground worked that season averaged $1.35 a yard. In 1934 a transfer was made of the Sterling mine to the Quercus Corporation, a company incorporated in Delaware. The direction of the mine was left to Ford McCormick, who was to retain this position until his death. There were some problems of title arising from some multiple incorporation by Blakeley, and the history of the legal maneuvers could provide a complex section in themselves. We will make no attempt to trace them here, however. In May, 1934, the new owners moved to begin extensive operation of the property. The company went into court and requested an injunction to restrain "squatters" from living on its property or continuing to work the property. On the presentation of proof of title, the injunction was granted and the company moved to clear its land. A number of the miners signed agreements with the company which permitted them to continue to operate their claims on a lease-royalty basis. This arrangement was continued through 1939 and some of these men did very well, making up to fifty dollars a day in the mining season. The general average was less, however. Having completed all of the necessary maneuvers necessary to clearing its title and having gotten rid of the squatters, the company organized the mine and incorporated it under the laws of Oregon as Sterling Mines, Inc. There are some penalties for foreign corporations operating in Oregon that were thus evaded. There is no record of the officers of the corporation under this application of May, 1935. The new operators of the mine immediately began work to get it back into operating condition. The ditch was repaired and cleaned out and the hydraulics prepared for operation again. Initially the work was very much like the operation under Ankeny. The hydraulics were used to work away at the banks and the ground was washed through sluices where the gold was recovered. As the workings moved upstream, it got beyond the reach of the hydraulics and a drag line was installed which carried the dirt down to a point where it could be effectively washed by the water from the ditch. The operation appears to have paid expenses but that is about all. The company ran into a further difficulty, too. The workings reached the dike that ran across the stream. This brought a real problem for the operators. The land above the dike was too high to be reached by the ditch, and a careful survey through test borings indicated the return would not pay for a continuation of the drag line method of working the grounds. The recent developments in earthmoving machinery, particularly under the impetus of the construction of major dams such as Grand Coulee and Fort Peck, suggested a solution to McCormick. The company placed notices with a number of firms in the field and requested equipment to test in its operations. Bulldozers were brought in which were engaged in stripping the ground in the new area. This was an immense task as the overburden was not less than forty feet and was reported, in some places, to be as much as seventy-five feet. Earthmovers were employed, too, and the largest that were generally available on the market were put to work at the mine. These, however, had only a three-yard capacity, which was insufficient for the scale of the earthmoving project at hand. The ground was moved, either by earthmover or bulldozer, to a tower where it was dumped. Heavy steel plates with large apertures screened out the rock from the gravel and dirt. The latter dropped down to be washed by the hydraulics or moved into position for ground sluicing. It was an attempt to take advantage of the latest earthmoving techniques with comparisons being made between the dozers and the earthmovers as to efficiency and cost. The company worked hard through the summer. The results were disappointing. Much of the ground showed only traces of gold, and the whole averaged out at less than 75¢ a yard. Borings taken of the ground above the dike showed even less favorable returns than this. The return that could be expected gave no hope of paying for the cost of the operation, and a profit was inconceivable. The cleanups for the season were made in June and July, 1937. The returns appear to be heavy. The gross reported by the company on its sales to the mint totaled $24,046.01, a very respectable showing. The profit margin was quite good, too. On closer examination, the picture is a discouraging one. The company had obtained all of the earthmoving equipment free of charge as demonstrator models. This technique could not, of course, be employed indefinitely. There was also the fact that most of the gold was recovered from ground below the dike and there was little of that left to work now and that little was not well placed for large-scale operation. The company suspended its operations on Sterling Creek and the mine lay idle. It was not to be re-opened by the company. The discouraging surveys of the land above the dike and the other factors mentioned, coupled with inflation which ate steadily into the margin of profit to be made from gold mining, were enough to give pause to the most enthusiastic ownership. In the fall of 1937, Ford McCormick shut down the mine. Bull Campbell was retained on the company payroll to act as caretaker of the property. McCormick called Paul Pearce, son of one of the early miners of Sterling and the owner of mining property on nearby Forest Creek. The two came to an agreement whereby Pearce would lease the property from the mining company on a royalty basis. A handshake sealed the bargain and served to renew it annually until the death of McCormick in 1957. Paul Pearce moved to Sterling Creek and put one of the hydraulics into service. He began washing away at the banks along the foot of the hills on the east side of the creek. The ground was rich and paid out handsomely for him. It could pay well for an operation that used only two men. It was largely pockets of ground that the company had not found it profitable to work in the days of large-scale operation. There was another factor here, too. Pearce was the best of the hydraulic operators in the region and was able to make good money, where a less capable operator would have been defeated by the difficulty of the task at hand. The last of the miners of the depression days was gone by 1940. A recovering national economy and the peacetime draft combined to improve the employment picture across the nation. With the departure of the last of these men, the need for Campbell as caretaker came to an end and he departed for a better job. Paul Pearce remained to work the mine and handle the job of caretaker for the company as well. Pearce continued to work the mine through the mining season of 1957-58 and did well. It became largely a one-man operation as his son went to war and returned to other employment. He made some essays at mining the old boulder channel and got quite a collection of teeth, tusks and bones of the elephants that once roamed the region. Some of the huge tusks are more than six feet in length and well preserved in the bed of the prehistoric river. Except for Paul Pearce, mining ceased on Sterling Creek with the advent of World War II. Some "snipers" have showed up from time to time since the war. These men sneak in and make a quick run on a pocket of ground that seems promising. The speed of their operations may account for their failure to make a leasing agreement with the owners of the ground. The marks of these operators can be seen yet along the creek. There is a rumor, with no names mentioned, that one of these snipers made a real strike in the mid-fifties. He is said to have found a rich pocket that paid out several thousand dollars for some two weeks work in a quick, surreptitious operation. It is certainly quite possible. It wasn't far from Sterling Creek that a county road crew began making a cut for the new road. It struck good dirt in the cut. The men began arriving early and staying late in order to fill their pickup trucks with the rich ground from the cut. They took these loads home nightly and washed them out in their backyards. One of the men claimed to have made three hundred dollars from the job. The history of the Sterling mine seems to be done for all time. An investigation was made last summer of the possibility of rebuilding the ditch and putting in some small, earth fill dams on Sterling Creek. The idea was that a water conservation district would be organized and federal funds obtained for part of the cost of rebuilding the old ditch. Today the creek winds down through the bottom of the small valley on its easy way to the Little Applegate. Cattle graze on the flats above the company workings and west of the old town. A number of houses are to be found along the creek, most of which are only summer residences. There are few year-round residents of Sterling Creek. These few have nothing to do with mining. Willows and other brush are growing up now to cover the scars of a century of placer mining. They only hide the scars, they don't heal them. No land ever recovers from placer mining on a large scale. Even so, when you stand today in the old cemetery above Sterlingville and look out over the small valley, it isn't hard to visualize the scene that greeted Jim Sterling's eyes in 1854. EPILOGUE
The old town of Sterling has long since
disappeared.
The only building at the Four Corners of Sterlingville is the abandoned
log cabin that served as the home of the foreman of the mine in 1937.
Across the creek, the headquarters of the mine stand. You can see the
old store, the boarding house and the house that Henry Ankeny built for
his family.Overlooking the town site is the old cemetery. Several of the graves date only to the 1950s. Descendants of the old families of Sterling still live in the Rogue Valley and retain a sentimental attachment to Sterling Creek and the days that were. Gold mining is dead. The price of gold and the continuing inflation have killed whatever hopes there might be. There is still gold on Sterling Creek but it would not repay any real investment, and what is there is largely in pockets. Old timers still get a far away look in their eyes and talk about the gold that is lying "out there" just to be taken. They will tell you, with the fervor of missionaries, that "there's more gold in them hills than was ever took out. If the government would just raise the price of gold to the world market, say $75 an ounce, all our problems would be solved." They tell you that this would bring full employment, prosperity and sound money. A few prospectors still wander the hills and there are farmers who go out in the winter and pan out enough gold to pay the year's taxes. A new breed of gold seeker is swarming the rivers of the gold country. He wears a skin diver's gear and sweeps the riffles with a vacuum apparatus. Many of the prospectors now are weekend miners. They hold other jobs and go out weekends hoping to strike it big. Sometimes a valley resident will get carried away and go out prospecting. A couple of young men came to Sterling Creek one spring recently. They thought they had color and asked for water to pan out their dirt. The farmer agreed if they would do their panning in an old galvanized stock watering tub. They worked about six hours and washed out four or five dollars worth of gold. The farmer chuckled as he showed us a bottle of dust worth about fifteen dollars that he panned out of the tub after they left. The final word on gold mining on Sterling Creek was spoken by this same man. We were standing there watching the placid movements of the Herefords as they grazed in the upper valley. "Sure, there's gold on my land," he said. "No, I won't pan it out. Gold mining isn't a living, it's a disease. It ruins a man and it ruins the land." He paused and looked for a moment at the scene. Then he waved his hand at the cattle. "Now that's a real way to make a living." - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - - - -
CALIFORNIA LUCK
We heard a good story the other
day, connected with the discovery of the mines on Applegate Creek, now
Sterlingtown.During the past summer an elderly gentleman, coming to this country on a visit to his sons, living in the neighborhood of Jacksonville, thought that before returning to his home in the Atlantiic states he might as well try an experiment in mining. Out he went prospecting for several days without success. One day, however, he found a good color, packed as much dirt in a bag as he could carry and brought it to the house of his sons. The dirt was washed and yielded eight dollars. The next day was election day and the old gentleman and his sons agreed to keep mum about the matter until after the election. But unfortunately for them two hired men in their employ had seen and heard what had passed. The next day everybody being at Jacksonville to cast his vote, the two men entrusted the secret to their friends, and those to their acquaintances, until before evening the whole town was initiated into the secret. The gentleman with his sons returned home late in the evening, while during the day all the miners about Jacksonville emigrated to the new diggings. Next morning the old gentleman and his sons upon their arrival found the place overcrowded with people, the ground staked off in hundreds of claims and nothing left for themselves but to start another prospecting tour. We learn that at present over one thousand miners are at those diggings and Sterlingtown numbers already some twenty or thirty houses. Crescent City Herald, November 29, 1854 Reprinted in the Del Norte Triplicate, Crescent City, May 3, 1924, page 6 After only a few months, the discovery story has already entered the realm of myth. NEW DIGGINGS
Last June new diggings had been discovered on a branch of the left-hand
fork of Applegate Creek, a tributary of Rogue River, about 80 miles
from Jacksonville. A town has since sprung up at that place, containing
already several substantial houses and bearing the name, we understand,
of Sterlingtown. Report says there are some 1500 people about those
diggings, of whom, however, only about four or five hundred are
actually at work, the others waiting for water and preparing for winter
work.Crescent City Herald, October 11, 1854 Reprinted in the Del Norte Triplicate, Crescent City, March 7, 1924, page 7 GLEANINGS
FROM THE CRESCENT CITY
HERALD
Last June new diggings had been
discovered on a branch
of the left-hand fork of Applegate Creek, a tributary of Rogue River,
about eight miles from Jacksonville. A town has already sprung up at
that place, named Sterlingtown, containing already several substantial
business houses. Report says that there are 1500 people about those
diggings, of whom however only four or five hundred are actually at
work, the others waiting for water, and preparing for winter.OF OCT. 11, 1854 Del Norte Record, Crescent City, November 26, 1892, page 1 FROM JACKSONVILLE.--We learn, from a gentleman who has arrived from Jacksonville, that the miners in the vicinity of that place, and at Sterling, have been doing well for some time past. The weather was dry, and the miners apprehended that water would soon be scarce, if rain did not fall again this spring. Business was rather dull. Umpqua Weekly Gazette, April 14, 1855, page 2 Correspondence
of the Gazette.
Sterling, April 26,
1855.
Mr. Editor: Push along, just keep moving,
has been our
maxim for life, and obeying the mandate we have found ourself snugly
stored away for the night in the big house with heaven for a roof, near
Sterling, On every hand it is dig! dig! dig! and all for gold. Thank
God (if it be not profanity) that there is something that will induce
men to work. The miners are doing well; the greatest cry is
water--water to cool--to fill our toms and no coin for the dust. Once
in a while we have a row to keep up excitement, now and then an
accident to keep up sympathy, a horse or two stolen for talk's sake or
to help some poor devil off to parts unknown. The roads are bad, the
Grave Creek Hills and on to Rogue River absolutely dangerous; they
steal flour from widow women, threaten to kill calves, run off horses,
occasionally hang a man, pickpockets, no telling, while Judge
Lynch quietly leans against the old pine with the lasso in one hand and
the cowhide in the other, around him the pick-and-shovel men in humble
attitude watching the proceedings of the civil law. Ah me, how times
have generated. No more till I get another sharp stick to write with.Yours, N.T. Umpqua Gazette, Scottsburg, May 19, 1855, page 2 DIED.
At Sterlingville, Jackson County, Mr. GODFREY EIGNER, aged 27 years, formerly of Augsburg, Bavaria.Daily Alta California, San Francisco, August 8, 1855, page 2 We understand that about forty miners from the Rogue River Valley were in Oregon City a day or two since, going to the Colville mines. We have seen here several from Yreka, Jacksonville, Sterling, Althouse &c., bound for these new gold fields. From their appearance we opine that these men will not be easily intimidated from giving these new mines a thorough prospecting, and will develop their resources without regard to Indians, mountains or hardships. We shall expect something effectual from them. Oregonian, Portland,
August 18, 1855, page 2
Administrator's Notice.
TO all persons interested in the Estate of GODFREY EIGNER,
deceased, notice is hereby given that I have been appointed
administrator of said Estate by the Honorable Probate Court of Jackson
County.
All persons, therefore, having claims against said estate will present them to me for allowance, at my house, in the town of Sterlingville, Jackson County, O.T., within one year from the date of this publication, or they may be forever barred. ALEXANDER M. BERRY, Adm'r.
September 22, 1855.Weekly Oregonian, Portland, September 29, 1855, page 2
Preamble, Resolutions and Bylaws
of the Sterling, Jacksonville and Applegate Water Ditch Company.
We, the undersigned, hereby agree to form ourselves into a company, to
be called "The Sterling, Jacksonville and Applegate Water Ditch
Company," for the purpose of conveying the waters of Applegate Creek to
Sterling and Jacksonville, for mining and such other purposes as we may
think proper. Therefore,
Resolved, That the name and style of our company shall be the Sterling, Jacksonville and Applegate Water Ditch Company. Resolved, That the stock of the company shall consist of twenty shares to be divided equally among twenty subscribers. ART. 1. Each and every subscriber shall be a bona fide stockholder, and every stockholder shall represent his own share in the company, provided said stockholder is an able-bodied and good working man, who shall be approved by the Foreman of said company, and if said stockholder shall not be approved by said Foreman, then said stockholder shall furnish a man who shall be approved by said Foreman. ART. 2. No stockholder shall hold more than one share of stock; neither shall a stockholder hold stock in the name of another person, and no stock shall be transferred without a vote of a majority of the stockholders. ART. 3. A majority shall have power to call a meeting whenever they think proper. ART. 4. Every stockholder on joining the company shall furnish himself with two good picks with handles for the use of the company. ART. 5. All monies that may be required for carrying on the work of the company shall be raised by equal assessment from the stockholders. ART. 6. Each and every stockholder shall conform to the established working hours that may be decided upon by a majority of the stockholders, and should any stockholder neglect or refuse to conform to the established working hours for six consecutive days, said stockholder so offending may be expelled from the company and forfeit his interest in the same. ART. 7. Should any stockholder wish to withdraw from the company, he shall give the remaining stockholders the preference to purchase his stock in the name of the company, and should the remaining stockholders not desire to purchase his stock, he may then sell to any other person he pleases, provided the person to whom he sells shall be approved by a majority of the remaining stockholders. ART. 8. As soon as the company is ready for work, they shall proceed to select from among themselves a suitable person to act as Foreman, who shall hold his office at the will of the stockholders. ART. 9. It shall be the duty of the Foreman to take charge of the work in progress, to keep a correct account of the labor performed and he shall report any neglect on the part of the stockholders to perform their equal share of labor; also, such other matters as he may deem of interest to the company; said Foreman shall not, however, be exempt from labor in consequence of his office. ART. 10. No stockholder shall absent himself from the works of the company for more than three consecutive days, without giving satisfactory reasons for such absence; and should any stockholder absent himself for a period of three consecutive days and refuse, or be unable to give satisfactory reasons for such, said stockholder so offending may forfeit his interest in the company and be expelled from said company. ART. 11. Should any stockholder be in arrears for labor, occasioned by unavoidable absence or sickness, said stockholder shall furnish a man as soon as possible to make up for such arrears; and should any stockholder refuse to furnish a man when his arrears amount to more than three days, said stockholder may forfeit his interest in the company and shall be expelled from the same. ART. 12. No stock shall be purchased by any of the stockholders save in the name of the company, and all stock so purchased shall be held jointly by the remaining stockholders. ART. 13. Every stockholder shall have the power of being represented by proxy. ART. 14. The company will be bound for such an amount of provisions or other articles as they may give orders for, through their Foreman, and the stock of the company shall be bound for said amount to all persons receiving such orders, until such indebtedness is paid. ART. 15. The company will not be responsible for any debts made by the individual members of the company, nor for any debts of the company except such as arise from orders of the Foreman. ART. 16. All the company debts will be paid as soon as funds arise from the sale of water after the ditch is completed to Sterling, or sooner if at the option of the company.
Feb. 11th 1856. Table
Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 1
NEW DIGGINGS.--Considerable excitement has prevailed at Sterling and vicinity for the last three or four days, on account of rich gold diggings being discovered some five or six miles above Star Gulch, on Applegate. We are informed that some three men, while prospecting a few days ago, struck a rich prospect, taking out some hundred dollars in a few hours. Many of the miners at Sterling have taken their tools and struck out for the new diggings, regardless of the Indian difficulties. It is supposed that the new diggings are rich and extensive. Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 3 DIGGINGS AT STERLING.--Those having water to work their gold claims at Sterling are doing remarkably well. The claims at Sterling pay well when they can get water to work them. There is no diggings in Southern Oregon that will pay better than those at Sterling, when the water ditch company succeed in bringing the water from Applegate. Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 22, 1856, page 3 STERLING MINES.--The prospectors at Sterling have made some good strikes in the flat where the town stands, and miners are sinking shafts and literally undermining the town. It is only from 15 to 20 feet to the bedrock and pays well. This new discovery will add much to the prosperity of the miners, as well as the whole country. Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, May 24, 1856, page 2 STERLING.--Where water can be had to wash with, at Sterling, the miners are doing very well. Many are drifting and stacking up the dirt until the water comes. As soon as it rains gold will be washed out in great abundance at Sterling. We have seen and conversed with some of the returned party who have been down Rogue River and in the vicinity of the coast. They report that on Galice Creek the miners are doing well, perhaps better than at any former period since the mines have been worked on that creek. "Later from Oregon," Sacramento Daily Union, August 23, 1856, page 2 The Daily Democratic State Journal of Sacramento printed the same information on the same day, crediting the Table Rock Sentinel of August 16. We learn from Dr. Brooks that a few days ago he was called to visit a miner at Sterling, who was severely bruised by the falling of a drift. He had one leg broken and the other severely injured; also his face and arm badly bruised. The Dr. thinks he will recover; he was unable to learn the name of the unfortunate man. Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, December 6, 1856, page 2 WABASH HOUSE,
The subscriber has renovated and thoroughly fitted up the Broadwell
House at Sterling, O.T., where he is prepared to accommodate Travelers
and Boarders at reasonable terms. His Table will be supplied with all
the country affords. From his experience and attention he hopes to
receive a liberal share of public patronage.STERLING, O.T. His Stabling is of superior accommodation. Hay and Grain, constantly on hand. Also, Horses to hire. JAMES HUBBARD.
Oct. 25, 1856.Table Rock Sentinel, Jacksonville, December 6, 1856, page 3 Munn and Bowen advertise in the Sentinel that they are now burning lime of a superior quality at a quarry which has recently been discovered at Sterling, in Rogue River. Oregon Argus, Oregon City, May 2, 1857, page 2 MARRIED.
At Sterlingville, Oregon Territory, February 12th, Mr. MARTIN L. HURST to Miss MARGARET F. SIMPSON, and Mr. JAMES WALKER to Miss CATHERINE T. SIMPSON.Sacramento Daily Union, May 5, 1857, page 2 The mines in the Rogue River country, O.T., are paying the miners a better average this season than at any previous period. At Jacksonville, some rich and extensive mines are being worked with good success. There are at present a great number of Chinese at work in the immediate vicinity of Applegate Creek, the waters of which a joint stock company is being organized to bring into the mines at and near Jacksonville. At Sterling miners average from $3 to $5 per day. The mines down Rogue River have but few persons at work in them, but they are reported as doing well. In Klamath and Del Norte counties the flattering reports given of the richness of the mines on Sucker Creek and Orleans Bar are verified by good authority. Sacramento Daily Union, May 12, 1857, page 3 For the Oregonian. Southern Mines.
STERLINGVILLE,
May 13, 1857.
T. J. DRYER:--Sir:--Having
a moment of leisure, I thought I would drop you a few lines from this
mining region. At my present writing there are about one hundred miners
at work here. They are all doing well--indeed, some are making large
strikes. Allen W. Hakill, who left Portland last fall, is one of the
lucky ones; he washed out two slugs last week, one of which weighed
three and a half ounces, worth $59.50, and the other two ounces, worth
$34. Mr. Hakill owns several claims that pay well. The mines here, I
think, bid fair to pay better this summer than they have done any
previous year since their discovery. New leads are being struck every
few days, some of which prove to be very rich.Yours
truly, P.
Oregonian,
Portland, June 6, 1857, page 2A correspondent of the Oregonian, writing from Sterlingville, Southern Oregon, says he thinks the mines in that vicinity will pay better this summer than ever before. About one hundred miners are at work and all doing well. "Additional Items of News from Oregon and Washington Territories," Sacramento Daily Union, June 13, 1857, page 2 DITCH ENTERPRISE IN OREGON.--From the Oregon Sentinel, of the 23rd ult., we learn that a mass meeting of the citizens of Rogue River Valley is to be held at Jacksonville, on the 6th inst., for the purpose of making an energetic move towards bringing the waters of Applegate to the Sterling and Jacksonville mines. The Sentinel thinks there is no other question of so great importance to the whole population of Jackson County as that of procuring a supply of water to miners throughout the year. It has long been well known that the mines near Jacksonville and Sterling are rich and extensive, but the absence of water has prevented their being worked except a short portion of the year. If the proposed enterprise succeeds, it will open a new era of prosperity for Jackson County.--Yreka Union. Daily Alta California, San Francisco, February 4, 1858, page 3 The Water Ditch.
We published the proceedings of a meeting of the citizens of Sterling
two or three weeks since upon the subject of holding a MASS
MEETING
at this place today to devise ways and means to bring water to the
Sterling and Jacksonville mines. This is an enterprise in the success
of which all are interested. That it is practicable to bring the water
into these mines all admit, but the cost of doing it is yet unknown.
Jackson County, Southern Oregon, has only been settled about six years,
during which time the people have been involved in two Indian wars,
embracing at least one-third of the whole period of time since the
white settlements commenced. Notwithstanding, the industrious
population have zealously continued to improve their farms, erect
comfortable buildings, and increase in wealth. Jackson is one of the
first counties on the Pacific Slope in point of soil and capacity for
agricultural pursuits, having within its limits inexhaustible gold
mines which only require to be supplied with water to yield their
millions annually, employing thousands of persons who would otherwise
be driven to operate in other sections, and affording a market for all
that the farmers can produce, and that, too, without expense of
transportation. Then, is it not equally, if not more, [in] the interest
of the farmers of Jackson County to enlist in the enterprise of
supplying the mines with water, instead of leaving the matter alone for
the miners and a few others who may feel disposed to lend their aid.
Let us inquire: suppose the effort to organize and raise capital to supply the mines with water at the present time fails, is it problematical the products of the farmer will command any price at all? We think not. Who is it that will consume your flour? Not the miner, for he cannot get water to work. Who, then, is to consume your surplus? You cannot send it to foreign markets to compete with those having easy and less expensive transportation. And suppose you do not produce a surplus, where is your money to come from with which to obtain the necessary articles for family use which are not and cannot be produced in this country. Located as we are in the finest and richest mining region in the world, it would be absurd to retard the progress of the country for another generation by allowing that "masterly inactivity," which has ruined less intelligent and enterprising communities than ours, to prevail here. Turn out, assist, contribute, and keep doing, until the water is furnished to work all the mines, and our word for it, Jackson will be the most populous and wealthy county in the state of Oregon. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 6, 1858, page 2 THAT DITCH.--As was generally anticipated, that water ditch was not constructed on Saturday last. There was quite a number of farmers and miners in town, but no action was taken; considerable talking about the practicability of supplying the mines with water; some thought it would be much cheaper if it would rain and furnish the mines with water; others were of opinion that Butte Creek could be turned into the mines with less expense than Applegate; finally, nothing was done! Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 13, 1858, page 2 The mines on Jackson Creek still continue to yield a fair compensation to the industrious miner. During the past week we have conversed with several of the miners from Jackson Creek, and all say that their claims are paying well. Sterling diggings, as usual, pay well when there is water, and the miners are busily engaged while the water lasts in washing out the "filthy lucre," and it is our wish that they be furnished with pockets full of the "stuff." From all the mining districts there is good report. Jackass, Poormans Creek, Applegate, Evans Creek and particularly the diggings lately discovered west of the Willow Spring ranch. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 24, 1858, page 2 "NOW YOU SEE IT, AND NOW YOU DON'T SEE IT."--In his speeches at Jacksonville and Sterling, last week, Col. Kelly, the "national" candidate for Congress, endorsed the Administration side of the Kansas question, and the decision of the Supreme Court in the Dred Scott case. At Gasburg, where Republicans are numerous, he was silent in regard to these questions. We last week predicted that this would be the game with the "national" candidates. In the company of pro-slavery men, they are pro-slavery, and in the company of Republicans, they are black as the blackest. In this they are following out the example of good St. Paul--they "become all things to all men, that thereby they may win some" votes.--Jacksonville Herald. Oregon Statesman, Oregon City, May 18, 1858, page 1 STERLING.--These mines, we are informed, are paying well. In fact, the news from all mining localities is good. It is to be hoped that the company who are concerned in the Sterling and Jacksonville Water Ditch may successfully complete their undertaking, which, when done, will afford work for thousands of hands and produce millions of gold annually. Every mile of the ditch from Sterling to Jackson is rich in gold, and only requires the water to work it out. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 19, 1859, page 2 Sterling, as usual, continues to pay well, and those who have remained upon their claims will now reap their harvest, for the prospect of water is better than since the diggings were discovered. "Mining News," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 12, 1859, page 2 At Sterling and Bunkum the miners are generally employed, and receive good remuneration for their toil. Water is still scanty at Sterling, but this want is not so much felt at Bunkum, where Gallagher's ditch affords a steady and nearly adequate supply throughout the year. "The Mines," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 9, 1861, page 3 At Sterling diggings, over one hundred men are engaged, all making fair average wages--from three to five dollars per day--and some doing much better. Water is rarely had in these diggings beyond the early spring, but this year the supply promises to continue until June. "The Mines," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 9, 1861, page 2 The miners at Sterling and Bunkum are generally doing well, and none meet with ill fortune. It is confidently believed that the gold product of Sterling for the season will be greater than ever before obtained. The claims can be worked longer this season than usual, as the late copious rains have enabled the miners to save up good supplies in their small reservoirs, for future use. "The Mines," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 6, 1861, page 3 PLACER MINES.--Reports are flattering from Gasburg and Forty-nine, also Willow Springs, Upper and Lower Applegate, Sterling and Bunkum continue to send in their bags of dust; but all are complaining for want of coin, which is scarce just now, owing to the closing of the mint for repairs. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, June 8, 1861, page 3 The miners at Sterling sustained but very little damage; a few flumes were carried away and two or three claims filled up; the miners as a general thing are nearly all at work ground sluicing, and it is expected that the yield of gold this season will far exceed that of any former. "The Mines," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, December 14, 1861, page 3 The Southern Oregon Water Ditch and Mining Company will commence the construction of a water ditch from Applegate Creek to Sterling as soon as the snows on the Crescent City road melt sufficiently to enable them to get their sawmill over the mountains to Applegate. All work preliminary to that has been done. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, February 6, 1864, page 2 LARGE TOOTH.--Our old friend, Capt. Saltmarsh, laid on our table this week a relic of the days that were, in the shape of a huge molar tooth of some extinct species of animal. The tooth was taken from his claim, at Sterling, fourteen feet below the surface, and measures three by four inches across the molar surface. It is completely petrified, the enamel being preserved perfect. As it is very little worn, it must have belonged to a very young animal. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 25, 1865, page 2 A FEW mornings since John Kesler, of Sterlingville, Jackson County, Oregon, was discovered on the bed in his cabin dead, apparently from the effects of a gun shot wound, the ball entering under the chin and coming out at the top of his head. His rifle was lying across the bed, the ramrod lying near by. It is supposed that he placed the muzzle of the gun under his chin, and while in that position pressed the trigger with the ramrod. The cabin doors were fastened on the Inside. No cause is assigned for the commission of the awful deed. "Pacific Coast News Summary," Sonoma Democrat, Santa Rosa, California, October 6, 1866, page 1 ANIMAL REMAINS.--The Oregon Sentinel, of July 5th, speaks of huge bones having been found near Jacksonville. It describes a tusk eleven feet long, which was much decayed. There are no more definite particulars. The editor says: "This is the third locality in Southern Oregon in which the bones of these antediluvian monsters have been found; some have been dug out at Sterlingville a few years since in an excellent state of preservation, and these discoveries show that this would be an interesting and profitable field for scientific research." Weekly Sutter Banner, Yuba City, California, July 27, 1867, page 2 "Mr. Titus represents the Sterlingville camp as being a live place. The miners are all doing well, with a good prospect ahead. There are no Chinamen at work in these diggings. Messrs. Saltmarsh & Co.'s claims are paying well. Mr. T. saw one hundred and fifty-four dollars picked up in one day by the company, while shoveling dirt into the ground sluice, and sixty-six dollars as the product of another day's labor. When the final cleanup is made, they expect to take out a large sum of money. This company have ground enough to keep them employed ten years. The claims of Wm. Wilkins & Co. are paying equally well. The boys are a jolly set of fellows, and aim to make life as pleasant as possible." "Mining
in Jackson County," Oregonian,
Portland,
August 9, 1867, page 3
BETTER YET.--We stated last week that Messrs. Yaudes and Saltmarsh, of Sterling, had cleaned up $1,400.00. We were misinformed. They cleaned up over $2,200.00 for about two months ground sluicing. and have plenty of the same kind of ground left. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, August 24, 1867, page 3 Jacksonville Sentinel, Nov. 16th: Times in the Sterlingville mining camp are as prosperous as ever. Spaulding and Johnson are driving their tunnel into the boulder channel, and expect to strike pay in a few weeks. There is work for 100 men in this channel, at good wages, if the waters of Applegate Creek are ever brought to work it. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 30, 1867, page 343 GOOD PAY.--We are informed that the claims of McDaniel and Therman at Sterlingville are averaging $20 per day to the hand, without any prospect of giving out as yet. The claim of Johnson & Co. is paying an ounce per day to the hand. Messrs. Kleinhammer and Mentz are taking out good pay--about $10 per day to each man, and the well-known claim of Saltmarsh & Co. is panning out as usual, and its owners getting rich fast. Sterling is by far the richest mining camp in Southern Oregon and will for a long time probably, give the lie to the assertion that our mines are worked out. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, March 7, 1868, page 3 We take the following from the Jacksonville Sentinel of March 7th: The claims of McDaniel and Therman, at Sterlingville, are averaging $20 per day to the hand, without any prospect of giving out as yet. The claim of Johnson & Co. is paying an ounce per day to the hand. Messrs. Kleinhammer and Mentz are taking out good pay--about $10 per day to each man, and the well-known claim of Saltmarsh & Co. is panning out as usual, and its owners getting rich fast. "Oregon," Daily Alta California, San Francisco, March 20, 1868, page 1 GOOD YIELD.--Mr. Ives, of Sterlingville, had three tons of quartz drawn to the Occidental quartz mill this week, which being crushed, yielded fifty dollars to the ton. Mr. Ives has a good ledge, but unfortunately it is very difficult to drain it--hence it is hard to get out rock. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, May 30, 1868, page 3 QUARTZ MINING.--We learn that the "Ives" lead near Sterling is now paying handsomely. It was purchased almost a year since by a party from San Francisco, who, from some cause, became discouraged. It is being worked with an arrastra, and its owner appears well satisfied. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 18, 1868, page 3 Jacksonville Reveille, May 30th: Milling for the Timber Gulch ledge was suspended for a time last Monday, after a run of 206 tons, it having been ascertained that the quartz could be worked more profitably by assorting it. Meanwhile the mill has been kept running on rock from other ledges. Three tons from Ives' mine in Sterling yielded $50 per ton. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 13, 1868, page 385 Owing to a scarcity of water, very little placer mining is being done this season. It appears that this region was visited with less snow and rain, during the past winter, than any portion of country either north or south. At Sterlingville, however, there are a few claims doing a very fine business, for a short season. Their ground is good, and plenty of it; what they need is capital to bring in water. "Mining in Jackson County, Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 18, 1868, page 34 The Jacksonville Sentinel of March 6th says that mining in that section during the past winter has been a complete failure on account of the scarcity of water, and urges not only the miners, but the farmers, to unite and contribute a small sum each to be expended in bringing the waters of Applegate Creek to the Sterling mines. The editor says that the enterprise can be completed at a cost of less than $60,000, and that the ground thus provided with a sufficiency of water cannot be worked out in the next 40 years. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 20, 1869, page 183 Accidental Killing.
JACKSONVILLE (Or.), September 10th.
A man named Guilford B. Comstock was accidentally shot and killed near
Sterlingville, in this county, today by a man named Silas Burr. The
parties were out hunting, and Burr unfortunately mistook his comrade
for a deer, shooting at him and killing him instantly.Sacramento Daily Union, September 13, 1869, page 2 PERSONAL.--We see that an old citizen of Sterlingville, Mr. Geo. Yaudes, has returned from "the States," where he has been on a visit. He is looking well, and prefers Oregon to any place he saw on his travels. Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, September 18, 1869, page 2 John Head, A. M. Berry and I. Reynolds appointed viewers to locate a road from Jacksonville via Sterlingville terminating at Robt. Cameron's. "County Court," Democratic News, Jacksonville, June 11, 1870, page 2 Sterlingville district, about eight miles due south from Jacksonville, was organized in 1854. This has been, and is still, a thriving mining camp. The gold in the placers is coarse. The supply of water, however, is limited, as there is no ditch in the district which taps any considerable stream. Buncom district, on the other hand, a southern extension of Sterlingville district, has an abundant supply of water during most of the year, brought in three ditches from the North Fork of Applegate Creek. "The Gold Fields of Southwestern Oregon," Rossiter W. Raymond, Mines and Mining of the Rocky Mountains, the Inland Basin and the Pacific Slope, New York 1871, pages 213-221 The Ditch.
We hope that our citizens will not allow this important enterprise to
fail, now that its practicability has been definitely ascertained. The
principal objection to the Applegate ditch project was predicated on
the ground that a sufficient quantity of water could not be obtained
from Little Applegate, and hence a general unwillingness to engage in
the enterprise was manifested by the people. But in the case of the
ditch under consideration no such objection can be urged. An ample
amount of water can be obtained by means of this ditch, to keep the
miners of the rich placers of Sterlingville, Kerr's Gulch, Rich Gulch
and Jackson Creek constantly employed for from five to seven months
after the natural flow of water in these creeks and gulches has ceased.
It requires no very extraordinary penetration to perceive the immense
impetus to business of all kinds which this employment of the miners
would give. We believe the boulder channel of Sterling Creek cannot be
equaled on the coast for the value of its gold deposit, and the work
which would be done on this creek alone would pay a large interest on
the ditch investment. But if we take into consideration the placers of
Kerr's and Rich Gulch, and Holman's Gulch, and Jackson Creek, all of
which are exceedingly rich, and only await a supply of water to yield
immensely, the advantages of this ditch enterprise can readily be seen.
If this ditch is brought in, it will open up an extent of placers fully
twenty miles broad and nearly forty miles long, of unequaled value, and
cause the halcyon days of Jackson County to return again. The subject
demands the early and earnest attention of the citizens of this county,
and we hope that it will receive the consideration which its importance
clearly demands.Democratic Times, Jacksonville, April 29, 1871, page 2 BORN.
MENTZ--Sterlingville, Jackson County, June 24, 1871, to the wife of Fred Mentz, a son.Democratic Times, Jacksonville, July 1, 1871, page 3
NOTICE.
Notice is hereby given that I, Theodric
Cameron, am
the claimant of 10 mining claims adjoining each other, and extending
along Sterling Creek 1,000 yards in length, and in width to the high
bedrock on each side of said creek, and being in sections 8 and 17, in
township 39 S., range 2 W., in Jackson Count, Oregon. Said claims are
known as the Tod Cameron claims, are placer claims, containing gold
dust, are in lower Sterlingville mining disrict, and on surveyed lands,
and were acquired by me--one by location and the others by purchase.
The claims of Armstrong, Cameraon & Co. adjoin on the upper end,
and the claims known as the Johnny Wright claims on the lower end. The
course of the pay channel is N.E. and S.W. through said claims.That it is my intention to apply for a patent to the following described premises, on which this notice is posted, and within which said claims are situated, to wit: The S.W. ¼ of N.E. ¼ of S.E. ¼ of sec. 8. The N.W. ¼ of S.E. ¼ of S.E. ¼ of sec. 8. The S.W. ¼ of S.E. ¼ of sec. 8. The S. ½ of S.E. ¼ of S.W. ¼ of sec. 8. The N.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of N.E. ¼ of sec. 17. The N.W. ¼ of N.E. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of sec. 17, all in Township 39 S., R. 2 W., and containing 100 acres. THEODRIC CAMERON.
May 19, 1871.U.S. LAND OFFICE,
It is hereby ordered that the above notice be published for the period of 90 days.ROSEBURG, OREGON, July 20, 1871. WM. R. WILLIS, Register.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, September 23, 1871, page 4
NOTICE.
Notice is hereby given that we, George Yaudes, J. B.
Saltmarsh, Reuben Saltmarsh, Sylvester Saltmarsh, and C. K. Klum, are
the claimants of certain mining claims on Sterling Creek, Jackson
County, Oregon, extending from the lower or north line of the mining
claims of Cameron & Co., down on both sides of said creek, a
distance of nearly three-fourths of a mile, to the upper or south line
of the mining claims of Kleinhammer & Co., and in width one hundred
yards. Said claims are placer claims, containing gold dust, and are in
Sterlingville Mining District, Jackson County, Oregon, and on surveyed
land, to wit: In section 4, township 39, S. range 2 west. There are no
other mining claims adjoining, or in the immediate vicinity, except as
before stated.That it is our intention to apply for a patent to the following described premises, on which this notice is posted, and within which said claims are situated, to wit: The N.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of Section 4. The E. ½ of N.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of Section 4. The W. ½ of N.E. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of Section 4. The W. ½ of S.E. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of Section 4. The E ½ of S.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of Section 4. The E. ½ of N.W. ¼ of S.W. ¼ of Section 4, The S.W. ¼ of N.W. ¼ of S.W. ¼ of Section 4. The N.W. ¼ of N.E. ¼ of S.W. ¼ of Section 4, all in Township 39 S., R. 2 W., and containing 132 58/100 acres. Witness our hands this 9th of September, 1871. GEORGE YAUDES,
J. B. SALTMARSH, REUBEN SALTMARSH, SYLVESTER SALTMARSH. ROSEBURG LAND OFFICE,
It is hereby ordered that the foregoing notice be published for 90 days in the Oregon Sentinel.September 15, 1871. WM. R. WILLIS, Register.
Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, December 23, 1871, page 4BINGER HERMANN, Receiver. The Times (Jacksonville) says the English company now working extensive diggings on Galice Creek is considering the purchase of the Sterling Creek mines. There is a vast strip of pay dirt yet remaining in that section which requires only capital and enterprise to make it pan out. "Oregon Items," Sacramento Daily Record-Union, May 25, 1877, page 1 The Sterling ditch, in Jackson County, is about completed. "Oregon Items," Sacramento Daily Union, September 26, 1877, page 1 Mining Then and Now.
To the Editor:Fifty-five years ago [around 1878] I drove a butcher wagon from Jacksonville over the Applegate road, by Union Town, where the Camerons lived, and around by the Sterling mine, where Gilson, Saltmarsh, Towne, Kleinhammer and others were mining, and sold them meat once a week. They were good customers and always had the money to pay their bills. They used to show me nuggets that would make your heart beat faster even today, nuggets like big marbles that I used to play with when a boy. It took a whole day to make this trip with a span of horses and wagon, and today the same trip can be made in one hour. In the old days the miners used a wood flume or sluice box and large fir blocks for riffles. Now they use a steel-bottomed flume and steel rail iron riffles, which are comparatively easy to take up and easy to clean and also save all the gold. Today, George Barton, H. L. Bromley of the Copco, Mr. Shurtleff and myself were invited by Mr. Blakeley, the owner of the Sterling mine, to be at the mine at 2:00 o'clock to witness the cleanup which was to be made after a short run. Well, we went and I'll tell the world that we saw a sight that was worth going many miles to see. Did you ever see gold scooped up with a shovel? Not a large shovel, of course, but a shovel just the same. If you never did, and you have the opportunity just visit the Sterling mine sometime after a good run and you will see a wonderful sight. You will see a mass of gold the full width of a large sluice box slowly moving along behind the sand and gravel and then you will see Mr. Pierce scoop it up with a shovel. All of this came from a comparatively small area, and there are acres and acres of virgin ground farther up the creek that has never been touched, nor can be mined successfully until the ditch that carries the water out of Little Applegate has been extended, which Mr. Blakeley tells me will be done this summer. It will be a mighty young person now living that will live long enough to see the Sterling mine worked out. We were met near the workings by Mr. Blakeley, and, after Mr. Bromley took our pictures, we proceeded down to the flume where the cleanup was going on and stayed until they had several hundred dollars recovered so that Mr. Bromley could get pictures of it, and then had to leave, as our time was limited. The records of this mine show that this mine produced an average of $60,000 a year over a period of 30 years, one cleanup alone being more than $120,000. A commendable feature of the trip was the knowledge that Mr. Blakeley has permitted some two hundred men and women to operate by a slow hand method on this property all during the past winter and by this method make a living, without payment to him of any royalty. "Communications," Medford Mail Tribune, April 21, 1933, page 8 Only two and one-half miles of the Sterling ditch remains to be dug. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 9, 1878, page 149 SOUTHERN OREGON MINES.--The Sterling started into full operation on the first of the month, and is going at full capacity. It has three hundred feet head of water the year through, and with two giants is sluicing away the mountain at a rapid rate. They will make their first cleanup on the last of March. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 23, 1878, page 181 THE STERLING MINE.
By a letter received from Southern Oregon we learn that the Sterling
mine is being worked to good advantage, and that the prospect is
favorable. Eighteen hundred inches of water are running in the ditch,
and it is believed by the superintendent of the mine that there will be
water enough to work with a full head for two pipes until the first of
August. When the piping commenced, about six weeks ago, a bed of
boulders was struck which threatened to retard the work. This
difficulty has been surmounted by the boulder bed giving out, and the
pipes are now playing on a bank of splendid gravel with a bedrock,
which miners pronounce very promising. Hon. D. P. Thompson, principal
owner in the mine, a short time ago sent out a derrick to handle the
boulders, but it is now doubtful whether it will be needed. The dump
for the tailings in this mine will increase as the work proceeds, and
will in a short time be sufficient to carry away all the debris that
passes through the flumes. Mr. M. S. Burrell, a partner in the mine, is
now on the ground and writes to Mr. Thompson that he proposes to keep
the pipes running for a month yet before he makes a cleanup. It is
confidently anticipated that the Sterling mine will prove the most
remunerative of any of the gravel beds of Southern Oregon. The richness
of much of the ground has been proved beyond a doubt.Oregonian, Portland, May 18, 1878, page 3 The Sterling Mining Company, through their efficient superintendent Frank Ennis, have been engaged for some time past in getting their large derrick in readiness for work this winter. "Mining Notes," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, November 20, 1878, page 3 Jos. Saltmarsh reports the miners on Sterling confident of success. The Sterling and Blue Gravel mines on Galice are all ready to commence operations, and are simply waiting for water. "Mining News," Oregonian, Portland, November 26, 1878, page 1 J. E. Beggs recently brought the Sterling Company a monster derrick from Roseburg. It weighs over 5,000 pounds and can handle boulders of uncommon size with ease. "Southern Oregon Mining Notes," Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 3, 1878, page 1 The Sterling Company will soon build one or more reservoirs, which will enable it to continue operations the year around. "Mining News," The Douglas Independent, Roseburg, December 21, 1878, page 2 Frank Ennis, superintendent of the Sterling mine, was in town yesterday and reports everything working satisfactorily. The prospects are splendid, gold being visible and plenty in the gravel. "Mining Notes," Oregon Sentinel, Jacksonville, April 16, 1879, page 2 Several of the miners on Sterling Creek have just completed ground sluicing and are cleaning up, Kleinhammer & Co. among the number. The run has been a fair one. Beck Bros., on Big Applegate, have completed their ditch, which is about three miles long, and will commence active mining operations forthwith. Their ground is said to prospect well. They are to be complimented on their enterprise, which deserves success. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 12, 1879, page 28 Towne & Reynolds, in the Sterling district, have completed ground sluicing and are now engaged in cleaning up, which will occupy some time. Mr. Reynolds informs us that the spring proved an average one, the results of which have been quite favorable. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 26, 1879, page 60 A cleanup was commenced at the Sterling mine last week, which will conclude this season's operations. Some excellent ground has been washed off, and a large amount of gold dust will no doubt be realized. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 2, 1879, page 76 Capt. Ankeny, while at Sterling last week, let the contract for digging the extension of his ditch to a Chinese company at $4.25 a rod, who took it quite low. "Oregon Items," Puget Sound Argus, September 18, 1879, page 2 STERLING MINE.--Jacksonville Sentinel: Work to establish the new base in the Sterling mine is progressing rapidly. A deep cut is being opened just below the point where piping will be commenced. Everything will be in readiness to open on ground of known richness in a short time. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 11, 1879, page 236 The operations of the Sterling hydraulic company have been retarded by numerous slides in their ditch owing to melting snow.… Saltmarsh & Co., on Sterling Creek, have a splendid head of water, and are keeping it busy ground slicing. This company use a small pipe with a light pressure to facilitate moving the dirt in the ground sluice. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 7, 1880, page 92 Sentinel, Feb. 11: Thawing at Sterling and piping resumed with a fair water supply. Miners in Josephine County are generally retarded in their operations by the freeze. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 28, 1880, page 140 The Sterling company is working with a very light head of water, their ditch being only one-third full, owing to the exceedingly cold nights. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 27, 1880, page 204 Everything is ready at the Sterling and Blue Gravel mines for next season's operations. Capt. Ankeny, of Portland, the enterprising mining capitalist, is now in Southern Oregon looking after his mining interests. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 20, 1880, page 325 The Sterling company will extend its ditch 3 miles this season, which will bring water on some excellent ground. C. J. Howard has been engaged in surveying out its course. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 4, 1880, page 357 OREGON MINING STATISTICS. The Oregon Sentinel says: The following statistics in regard to mining in Jackson County are taken from the records in the County Clerk's Office, as compiled by W. J. Plymale, Deputy Clerk: Number of mine locations in the several mining districts of Jackson County from Oct. 29, 1856, to June 30, 1880--Big Applegate, 466; Little Applegate, 39; Uniontown, 2; Sterling, 151; Jackass, 491; Jacksonville, 1,463; Forty-nine, 234; Willow Springs, 785; Gold Hill, 361; Galls Creek, 95; Foots Creek, 288; Evans Creek, 115; Sardine Creek, 132; Louse Creek, 25; Dry Diggings, 33; Jumpoff Joe, 114; Grave Creek, 224: Coyote Creek, 75; Poormans Creek, 300; Steamboat 45. Of these 16 were copper locations, 124 were cinnabar, 1 tin, and the balance gold and silver. During the same time there were 1,221 conveyances of mining claims recorded and 133 transfers of water ditches. All of the above was compiled for the use of the census department. Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 11, 1880, page 380 A. P. Ankeny & F. Ennis have just refused an exceedingly liberal offer, made by English capitalists, for their Sterling ditch and mine, and the property is not for sale. It is estimated that it will take 80 years to work out the ground, patented to the owners. During the coming summer 2 more miles of ditch will be built. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 2, 1881, page 213 Frank Bills has sold his mining interests on Jackass to A. D. McKee, and purchased the interests of George Armstrong and John Haskins in some mines on Sterling Creek. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 9, 1881, page 229 Some partial cleanups have been made at the Sterling mine, which are said to have resulted very satisfactorily. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 16, 1881, page 245 Two giants are still in operation at Sterling, and nearly twice the amount of dirt washed last season has already gone through the flume.… Two nuggets were last week found in Yaudes, Saltmarsh & Co.'s claim at Sterling, weighing $30 and $12 respectively. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 30, 1881, page 277 PROSPECT.--Supt. Ennis, of the Sterling hydraulic, has piped off about 7 acres of very rich ground the present season, with a good prospect for over 2 months' more of a full head of water. Work on the ditch extension is going steadily on, and next winter 3 giants will be used. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 7, 1881, page 293 Frank Towne, of Sterling, informs us that the miners of that section are all cleaning up, as water is failing fast. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 28, 1881, page 341 J. S. Howard has surveyed the line of the extension of the Sterling M. Co.'s ditch, and work will be commenced soon. This makes the ditch about three miles longer, which will then cover the company's vast mining property entire. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 18, 1881, page 389 In
piping at the Sterling mine, Jackson County, Oregon, this spring, a
jawbone and teeth of enormous size were unearthed at a depth of 40
feet. One of the teeth is eight inches long, six inches wide and two
and a half inches through.
"Items Coastwise," Sacramento Daily Union, June 20, 1881, page 4 MINERAL RESOURCES.--West Shore, Nov. 3: The mineral resources of Jackson County, although its mines have been continually worked for 29 years, are far from being exhausted, and, indeed, it is only within three years that efficient hydraulic machinery has been introduced. The Sterling mine, owned by Capt. A. P. Ankeny, of Portland, and Mr. Frank Ennis, the latter gentleman being superintendent, is without doubt, the most valuable placer mine in Oregon. It was opened several years ago at an outlay of $100,000; although its yield is not definitely known by the public, the properly is valued by its fortunate owners at $2,000,000. The mine is situated on Sterling Creek, about 8 miles south from Jacksonville, formerly one of the richest mining camps in the county. It is estimated that 50 years will be insufficient to work all the ground owned by the company. Another large hydraulic mine, paying handsomely, is owned by a Chinaman on Applegate Creek; and still another owned by the Squaw Lake mining company on the same creek will soon be in working order, and promises handsome dividends. The aggregate yield of gold dust in Jackson County since the discovery of the mines in 1852, is estimated by the best authorities at about $30,000,000, and it is said that by the aid of modern appliances and powerful machinery the mines will produce quite as well in the future. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 12, 1881, page 317 The Sterling Co.'s ditch has been full of ice and Supt. Ennis has not attempted to run the water into it as yet. There seems to be more snow than ever on the hills and mountains, which will prolong the season to some extent. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 4, 1882, page 77 WATER.--Piping continues at the Sterling mine with a fair supply of water. The weather has been so cold high up in the mountains that very little snow is melting, and the ditch is consequently not full. This company will be able to run until late in the summer, as there is much more snow than usual. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 25, 1882, page 189 The late warm rain has given the Sterling company an abundance of water, and gravel is being moved fast. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 1, 1882, page 213 The warm weather during the week has been melting the snow in the hills, which is furnishing the miners plenty of water. The Sterling Mining Co. have plenty of water, and every pipe is in operation. Supt. Ennis proposes making the gravel fly from now on. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 8, 1882, page 229 The pipes and both giants at the Sterling mine were moved this week and the superintendent, Mr. Ennis, thinks the pipes will not have to be moved again for several years. The water will probably hold out at this mine until August. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 15, 1882, page 245 Saltmarsh & Co., on Sterling Creek, continue to pick up chunks of gold in their claim. Last week they found a neat nugget, worth $80. A good cleanup is expected here. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 13, 1882, page 309 The Sterling M. Co. is making preparations to clean up. The fount of supply has about been exhausted, but there is still a large quantity of water in a ditch. It is beginning to fail, however. A very good result is anticipated. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 15, 1882, page 37 The Sterling Co. is engaged in cleaning up, and we expect Supt. Ennis is taking out gold by shovelfuls. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 22, 1882, page 53 It will take the Sterling mining company 2 months to clean up. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 5, 1882, page 85 Cleaning bedrock is still going on at the Sterling mine, and will continue about 6 weeks longer. Very satisfactory results are promised. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 2, 1882, page 149 STERLING.--Jacksonville Times, Sept. 23: The Sterling mining company finished cleaning up this week, after a very satisfactory run. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 30, 1882, page 213 The Sterling mining company having finished cleaning up for this season. Frank Ennis left for Portland this week for a short business visit. There is not a doubt but what many thousand dollars were taken out of this claim during the past season. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 7, 1882, page 229 The Sterling company is engaged in fixing its ditch for next season's run. They have about finished cleaning bedrock.… The ground is well soaked and it will not take much more rainy weather to furnish the miners with an abundance of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 28, 1882, page 277 NOTES.--Jacksonville Times, Nov. 4: Good weather for miners.… Superintendent Ennis, of the Sterling mine, has had the long line of ditch cleaned out and is nearly ready for business. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 11, 1882, page 309 The Sterling mine has not been able to do much this season, owing to the cold weather. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 10, 1883, page 93 NOTES.--Jacksonville Times, Feb. 33: The head of the Sterling ditch is thawing out, and piping is about to commence. The prospects do not seem favorable for an extended run for many of the miners. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 3, 1883, page 149 The Sterling mine is being worked without interruption, though the ditch is not full as yet. A continuation of the weather of this week will melt the snow remaining in the mountains, when there will be plenty of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 5, 1883, page 309 Cleaning up was finished at the Sterling mine a few days since, with good results. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 11, 1883, page 85 NOTES.--Jacksonville Times, Oct. 5: Supt. Ennis informs us that the Sterling mine will be ready for business again in less than 10 days. Miners are generally preparing for winter, and expecting plenty of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 20, 1883, page 245 Saltmarsh Bros. inform us that miners of Sterling are ready to take advantage of the winter season. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 17, 1883, page 317
Miners want some more rain.
The Sterling Co. has not commenced piping as yet, but does not need much more water to set both pipes in motion, as the ditch is half full now. Several of the miners are making good use of their reservoirs. The ground is well soaked, and not a great deal more rain is needed to set all claims in motion. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, January 4, 1884, page 2 A large amount of snow lies at the head of the Sterling company's ditch, which will afford quite a run. Supt. Ennis informs us that operations have not been commenced as yet. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 1, 1884, page 162 A. P. Ankeny, D. P. Kennedy and Vincent Cook have incorporated themselves into the Buncom Mining Co., to work extensive diggings not far from the Sterling mines. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 8, 1884, page 180 Supt. Ennis of the Sterling mine has two giants busily at work. He expects to make a four months' run at least. More snow lies on the hills now than at any time during the winter, which will no doubt prove beneficial to the miners. The copious rains the forepart of the week did the miners good, and they hope to see them repeated at once. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 22, 1884, page 213 There is a large amount of snow at the head of the Sterling Co.'s ditch, which is slowly melting and affording a good supply of water. Supt. Ennis expects to make a several months' run. The season has been considerably of a failure for many of the miners, owing to the scarcity of water. Some of those who rely on the runs altogether have been able to make a short run, but generally they have been disappointed, we are sorry to say. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 19, 1884, page 277 Two pipes are in full blast at the Sterling mine, and Supt. Ennis expects to have a good supply of water until the end of July, as there is a great deal of snow at the head of the ditch. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 17, 1884, page 341 The Sterling Company's ditch is still running a full head and two pipes are kept busy. The snow in the mountains is nearly gone, however. Cleaning up will be commenced before long. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 28, 1884, page 437 The Sterling company has quit piping and is now engaged in cleaning bedrock. A good report is promised. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 12, 1884, page 26 A heavy storm in the mountains demoralized the Sterling company's ditch for quite a distance one day last week. The damage done was repaired in a very few days, and cleaning up is again progressing there. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 9, 1884, page 89 Superintendent Ennis, of the Sterling mine, informs us that they have finished cleaning up for this year, and will soon commence fitting up for next season. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 23, 1884, page 121 The Sterling Mining Co. had everything in readiness when wet weather began and is piping with a full head of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 3, 1885, page 9 Since the frosty weather began, the water has been turned out of the Sterling Co.'s ditch as a precautionary measure. The weather of the past few days has not been very favorable for the miners, though we think a change may be looked for soon. Many of the miners were at work when the cold snap began, but most of them are again at their leisure, we are sorry to say. The frosty weather is inclined to dissipate the hopes of many of the miners who have been so badly disappointed in the past few years. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 10, 1885, page 25 Jos. and Capt. Saltmarsh of Sterlingville were in town yesterday and inform us that they have been unable to mine any so far. However, that is one of the driest districts in the county. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 21, 1885, page 129 Frank Ennis, superintendent of the Sterling mines, informs us that his supply of water is getting light, which is generally the case. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 14, 1885, page 177 Capt. Ankeny is still sojourning at the Sterling mine, and will remain some time yet. It is the intention to build an immense reservoir there, to catch the surplus water, which has heretofore gone to waste, and work will be commenced at once. Plans were received from California last week. The reservoir will, no doubt, be one of the largest on the Northwest Coast. It will enable this company to run six months in the year, and ensure profitable returns. The Sterling Mining Co. is to be complimented on its enterprise. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 30, 1885, page 353 The Sterling Mining Co. has quite a force of men engaged in building its huge reservoir, which will be 250 feet wide, half a mile long and 50 feet deep. Notwithstanding the unfavorable mining season a considerable quantity of gold dust has been taken out. C. C. Beekman alone has bought and shipped several thousand dollars' worth. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 13, 1885, page 385 Capt. Ankeny is now superintending the work of building the Sterling Co.'s reservoir, and is making excellent progress. He is running a cut with a full ditch of water, and informs us that the late rains have increased the supply so much that the mining season could have been extended several weeks. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 4, 1885, page 9 BUILDING A RESERVOIR.--A few days since Captain Ankeny returned to Portland from Southern Oregon, where he has been superintending the construction of a large reservoir in connection with the Sterling mine, of which he is the principal owner. He states that the reservoir is now up 20 feet, and the water is being used to make a cut in which to lay the flume. They have 60 boxes in now, and expect to put in 120 boxes before bedrock is reached. It is expected that the work will be completed by October 1st. The reservoir, when completed, will be 50 feet high, and will furnish an adequate supply of water to run the mine. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 25, 1885, page 73 Parks' mill at Sterling is engaged in sawing 30,000 feet of lumber for Ankeny & Co.'s reservoir. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 19, 1885, page 201 The Sterling Mining Co.'s reservoir is well along and will be completed before many weeks. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 26, 1885, page 217 The Sterling Co.'s reservoir is nearing completion and will be utilized early next winter. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 7, 1885, page 313 The Sterling Mining Company's huge new reservoir is completed and being used with success. There is considerable water in the ditch and piping is going on, though more rain and snow is necessary to set everything going at full speed. Captain Ankeny is acting as superintendent, Frank Ennis still being unable to resume his duties. Piping was commenced last week at several of the mining claims in this country, but as the weather has turned off pleasant, not much is being done in most cases. The same may be said of other placers that are worked in the old-fashioned way. It will not take a great deal more rain to set the miners busily at work, and all of them are anxiously awaiting it. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 21, 1885, page 345 The Sterling mines are being operated day and night, there being plenty of water. Capt. Ankeny is still there. "Southern Oregon Mines," Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 3, 1885, page 3 Supt. Ennis was over to the Sterling mines this week and reports operations progressing finely, with plenty of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 26, 1885, page 424 The Sterling mining company's reservoir, having been repaired, will soon be used to good advantage again. "Southern Oregon Mines," Morning Oregonian, Portland, December 27, 1885, page 9 The Sterling mine has been running continuously for some time past and an eight months' season seems well nigh assured, as a great deal of snow has already fallen at the head of the ditch. Operations are kept up day and night, excepting that no work was done after dark during the cold spell. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 30, 1886, page 86 Geo. Cardwell has located [a] quartz mine in the Sterling district that seems in be quite extensive, and the ore from which assays well. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 20, 1886, page 133 A considerable force is at work cleaning out the ditch, repairing flumes and getting ready for next season's run at the Sterling Co.'s mines. "Mining News," The Eye, Snohomish City, Washington, September 4, 1886, page 2 The Sterling company has been doing some piping each week for a short time past, but now has an ample supply of water and is running two pipes on full time. "Southern Oregon," Oregonian, Portland, December 14, 1886, page 8 The Sterling Mining Co. has been operating one pipe for several days past and will soon have enough water to start the other. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 8, 1887, page 25 The Sterling Mining Co. have an abundance of water and are now operating two pipes. If there is no more frosty weather and a fair amount of rain, a good season is assured the miners. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 29, 1887, page 69 Miners are favored with an abundance of water, with every prospect of its continuance. This will be the best season that they have had for years. The well-known diggings of Saltmarsh & Co., in Sterlingville precinct, are not being worked this season, having recently been purchased by the Sterling Co. Work is going on at the Sterling mine with two pipes and a full head of water. A large amount of snow lies at the head of the ditch and the prospects are favorable for an extended run. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 19, 1887, page 193 The Sterling M. Co. has failed to assume possession of Saltmarsh Bros.' placer mines in Sterlingville precinct, for which they bargained some time since. The original proprietors are again at work, having commenced operations this week. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 26, 1887, page 209 ALL AT WORK.--Oregon Sentinel, March 19: Henry Ankeny, of Sterling, came to town last Tuesday. He reports the Sterling miners all at work, and an abundance of water. In the Ankeny mines two giants are at work day and night and are removing an immense amount of gravel. They expect a late run, as there is more snow in the mountains than there has been for years. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 2, 1887, page 225 The Sterling Co. is running two pipes day and night, and disposing of a large area of ground. Many of the mines are cleaning up, the continued warm weather having made the water light in many places. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 16, 1887, page 257 Herd & McKee, who have a very promising quartz ledge in Sterlingville district, are operating an arrastra, with every prospect of making a good cleanup. "Southern Oregon Gulches," Oregonian, Portland, July 7, 1887, page 6 Saltmarsh Bros. of Sterlingville precinct have plenty of the aqueous fluid and will make the most of it. The Sterling Mining Co. has two giants at work and is making the gravel fly. A good season is prospective there. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 11, 1888, page 93 Saltmarsh, Yaudes & Co. have sold their mines in Sterlingville precinct, which are known to be rich, to Henry E. Ankeny of Marion County, son of Capt. A. P. Ankeny. Consideration, $10,000. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 18, 1888, page 109 At the Sterling mine two giants are being operated day and night and much ground is being moved. Good results are promised. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 31, 1888, page 205 The Sterling Co., which had a large portion of its ditch and flumes destroyed by the recent cloudburst, has rebuilt the same and operations are again in progress there. It took a large force of men to repair the damage done. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 2, 1888, page 345 The Sterling Mining Co. has a good supply of water again and is moving heaps of gravel. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, June 9, 1888, page 369 The Sterling Co. is still piping, but will commence cleaning up before long. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 4, 1888, page 73 The Sterling Co. is still piping, having a good supply of water. They will commence cleaning up soon, however. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 11, 1888, page 97 Piping has been going on at Henry Ankeny's mine in Sterlingville precinct for the past few weeks. A continuation of the rainstorm, which has been raging for the past few weeks, will start operations in all the mines. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 7, 1889, page 433 GOLD DUST.--Jacksonville Times, March 29: Considerable gold dust has already been taken out here and there, and the amount will increase as the season progresses. Repairs have been completed at the Sterling M. Co.'s mines, and piping was begun a few days ago. A big run will no doubt be made there. There is still plenty of water and miners are making the most of it. A vast amount of gold dust will no doubt be taken from the placers this season. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 5, 1890, page 233 PLACER NOTES.--Jacksonville Times, Aug. 4: The Sterling Mining Co. is about ready to commence cleaning up, having had a good supply of water for several months past. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 16, 1890, page 107 The Sterling Mining Co. has a small supply of water and is cleaning up some ground stripped heretofore. Unless the weather changes soon few miners will be able to do much this season, owing to the scarcity of water. Poor weather for miners. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 6, 1891, page 2 The Sterling M. Co. has a good supply of water and two pipes at work. It is expected a good cleanup will be made at the end of the season, which is several months hence. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 23, 1891, page 325 A PREHISTORIC TUSK.
At the Sterling hydraulic mine in Jackson County, a tusk of a mastodon
was washed out a few days since from under a depth of fifty feet of
gravel. The tusk was four inches in diameter and was porous and
crumbling. Other bones of the same prehistoric animal have been found
in this mine at different depths. Just how fifty feet of gold-bearing
gravel came to be deposited atop of this tusk is a question for the
geologist to decide. It may be that the gravel was washed there by some
prehistoric hydraulic miner, who took out all the big nuggets of gold
and left only the fine scales for this day and generation. The mammoth
did not become extinct so long ago as some other animals, for carcasses
of a number of the huge beasts have been found in a frozen condition in
Siberia, in a very perfect state of preservation, and their
bones have
been found in Missouri in the same stratum with human bones, and one
great hunter and still greater liar has given out that he has seen
living specimens of the animal in the wilds of the Olympic
Range.--Portland Oregonian.
Interesting Relic Found in a Jackson County (Oregon) Mine. San Francisco Call, July 27, 1891, page 2 CLEANUP.--Jacksonville Times, Aug. 1: The annual cleanup is now progressing at the Sterling mines. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 8, 1891, page 85 The Sterling Mining Co. has an abundance of water and is taking advantage of it. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 19, 1891, page 399 The Sterling Mining Co. is running on half time, the freezing weather having almost shut off the supply of water. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, February 5, 1892, page 3 Jim Sterling has struck a rich quartz lead near the head of Hungry Creek which is considered a good one. It is 8 feet wide and he has sunk down 100 feet and it assays from $8 to $12 all the way down and across. "A Lively Letter from Phoenix," Ashland Tidings, May 6, 1892, page 3 There is still a large supply of water at the mines of J. T. Layton and the Sterling Mining Co., where piping is yet prosecuted on full time. Good cleanups are expected at both places. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, May 20, 1892, page 3 JACKSON CO.--Jacksonville Democrat, May 13: Scott & Short are working a very promising ledge in Sterlingville precinct. The quartz is not abundant so far, but very rich. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 21, 1892, page 371 Scott & Short, who are developing a ledge in Sterling district, are doing nicely with an arrastra. The quartz pays well and promises to be abundant. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, August 12, 1892, page 3 The Sterling gravel mine at Applegate have $200,000 invested and employ ten men. The Scott quartz claim also employs three men. Report of the Senate Committee on Mines and Mining in the State of Oregon, Salem 1893, pages 12-17 The history of the noted Sterling mine, made famous by the construction of the great ditch from Applegate and the putting in of an immense hydraulic plant by Hon. D. P. Thompson and the late Captain Ankeny, will form the subject of the next article on the Southern Oregon mines. This mine is now yielding handsomely under the management of Mr. Henry Ankeny, and it is rumored that the output of the present year will be much in excess of the past. Oregonian, Portland, March 11, 1893, page 3 The history apparently was not published.
The Sterling Mining Co. is engaged in cleaning up and the prospects for
a good yield are excellent.
"Mining News," Democratic
Times, Jacksonville, August 18, 1893, page 3The Sterling Mining Co. still has a good supply of water and has been engaged in piping for several months past, something never known before in the history of the mines. "Mining News," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, November 17, 1893, page 2 NEW CONCENTRATOR.--Ashland Tidings, Dec. 30: Mr. Staples, who is now in San Francisco, is expected to bring up with him on his return a concentrator for the mill on the Sterling ledge. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 6, 1894, page 13 It is rumored that Mangam & Stewart of Tacoma, who purchased the Graupner place, have bonded the Sterling Mining Co.'s property at a high figure. "Jackson County," Northwest Mining Review, April 15, 1894, page 145 THE
STERLING MINE.
The Sterling mine has been most admirably handled, and it is believed
the output this year will exceed $100,000 and possibly reach $125,000.
The Sterling camp, in the heart of which this mine is situated, has
yielded, since its discovery in 1854, something over $3,000,000. It
will take many years to exhaust the grounds of this company. There is
plenty of water--runs two six-inch giants and has 250 feet pressure.
This property is considered to be worth about $400,000. The working
expenses are probably $15,000 a year--the net yield will, therefore, be
very handsome indeed."South Oregon Mines," Corvallis Gazette, September 7, 1894, page 8 GOLD SPECIMENS.--Tidings: Hon. Theo. Cameron went north last evening with the mineral exhibit to the state fair. He had with him a hundred ounces of choice specimens from Beekman & Reames' bank and fifty ounces of nuggets from the Sterling mine. "Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 22, 1894, page 186 The Sterling Mining Co. has finished cleaning up last season's work and will resume piping at an early day. It is stated that they have done exceedingly well during the past year, gold dust to the amount of nearly $100,000 being the result. It is probably the best placer mine in Oregon. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 3, 1894, page 283 The Sterling Mining Co. have commenced cleaning bedrock and will be so employed for the next six weeks. The prospects are good for a favorable result. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 24, 1895, page 122 Over in the Applegate country there is activity in placer mining. The Sterling mine people are confident of cleaning up over $100,000 this winter. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 25, 1896, page 71 OREGON'S MINES.
San Francisco Call,
8th:What Mr. Ankeny Has to Say About the Sterling Placer. H. E. Ankeny, manager and a large owner in the widely known Sterling placer mine, eight miles west of Ashland and the same distance south of Jacksonville, in Oregon, is at the Occidental, accompanied by his family. The Sterling is conceded to be about the best placer property in Oregon. It is an old mine, having been worked for over eighteen [sic] years. The mine is being worked night and day. The water is obtained from Applegate Creek. Along this stream Mr. Ankeny and his partner. Mr. Cook, own the ground for five miles There is a force of twenty-two men at work. "This is probably the best-known mine in Oregon," said Mr. Ankeny yesterday. "It is paying a handsome profit. There are a number of both quartz and placer mines in that vicinity that promise good profits. A good many men have during the last few months gone in and made locations and bought other mines out. They will all make some money. "About Ashland, too, work has been renewed in the quartz mines. The old Ashland mine, which is situated right in the town, has started up and I understand is doing well. Then below there is a conglomerate formation, bearing gold, in which a crusher has lately been placed. Other quartz properties along Bear Creek are also being worked. The mines all through that part of Southern Oregon look well. "The fruit and grain around Ashland.,Medford, Jacksonville and other sections of the Rogue River Valley also promise big yields. I do not know that I ever saw better indications. The recent snow we had there fell just at the right time. Altogether it looks as though there would be a good deal of prosperity in Southern Oregon this year." Mr. Ankeny, after remaining here a short time, will visit Monterey and other places. He has been an owner in the Sterling mine for five years. Oregon Statesman, Salem, March 12, 1896, page 5 If report, as we get it, is not untrue H. E. Ankeny's Sterling mine is supplying one of the prettiest and most attractive exhibits at the Portland industrial exposition. It is an exhibit of $40,000 in gold nuggets, the same being a part of this year's cleanup of the famous Sterling mine. "News of the City," Medford Mail, September 25, 1896, page 7 THE STERLING MINE.
On Sterling Creek, eight miles south of Jacksonville, is the Sterling
mine. This is the most productive hydraulic mine in Southern
Oregon--not that the ground is any richer than other mines in the
section, but it has been provided with greater water and other
facilities for extracting the gold and in this way makes a better
showing. It is the property of the Sterling Mining Company, of which
the chief stockholders are Henry Ankeny, of Jacksonville, and Vincent
Cook, of Portland. The amount of gold produced by the Sterling mine can
only be estimated, but it is safe to say that its annual yield is from
$125,000 to $150,000.The history of this property is interesting. In 1870 a part of the ground, 2½ miles on Sterling Creek, was secured by location or purchase by Tod Cameron and W. S. Hayden, and they worked it until 1877, with water from Sterling Creek, when it was conveyed to the Sterling Mining Company, then composed of David P. Thompson, of Portland, Levi Ankeny and W. S. Burrell, for $25,000. The new company thereupon paid out some $70,000 for ditch and water from the Little Applegate, and some $15,000 for contiguous ground. In making these improvements, J. S. Howard, the Medford surveyor, acted as engineer. In 1878 Thompson seems to have lost faith in the enterprise, for in that year he "swapped" his interest in the company to Captain Ankeny for what was known as the "New Market block" on First Street, in Portland. Captain Ankeny died about four years ago and his interest fell to Henry Ankeny, who still owns it. The feature of the Sterling mine is its 25-mile ditch, taken from the Little Applegate, and carrying 2,500 inches of water. This ditch gives water enough for two giants, nine months in the year, with a pressure of 250 feet. The gold is found in a red clay gravel deposit, about 80 feet in height. The mine is also equipped with three miles of flume, 4 feet wide and 2½ feet deep, blocked the entire distance, and with a water-power derrick with a 60-foot boom, operated by a Pelton wheel. Oregon Mining Journal, Grants Pass, Midsummer Edition 1897 AN OREGON KLONDIKE
Vin Cook and Henry Ankeny and a son of each arrived here yesterday from
the Sterling mine, with 26 gold bars and about 100 ounces of nuggets,
the result of the cleanup on a run since July l. The gold from their
first cleanup this season was shipped to the mint in San Francisco. The
bars and nuggets were displayed in a window of A. Feldenheimer's
jewelry store, and there was a crowd around the window all day long.
Notwithstanding that several photographs of the mine with the "giants"
at work were displayed with the gold, and also large printed cards
stating that the gold was from the Sterling mine, in Jackson County,
Oregon, nearly everyone who came along at once concluded that it was
from Klondike, apparently not being able, in the glitter of the
precious metal, to see the cards. It kept a number of the spectators
busy explaining to others that the gold was produced in Oregon, and
telling them where the Sterling mine is.GOLD BRICKS, FROM STERLING MINE, DISPLAYED IN PORTLAND. Twenty-Six of Them Valued at About 975,000, Attract Great Crowds. Although this is one of the oldest hydraulic mines in Oregon, having been worked for nearly 20 years, and yielding liberal returns all that time, it has produced more and more each year. But notwithstanding that the results of the last cleanup have been placed on exhibition in this city every fall for several years past, there were many in the crowd who apparently had not heard of the mine. Many who were told that the gold was produced in Oregon at once imagined the bricks were not genuine, and that the display was a fake. The exact value of the gold is not known, as Messrs. Cook and Ankeny did not care to inform everyone to a cent just how much their mine has yielded in the past two months. Each brick was, as one of the spectators said, "the size of a pound bar of soap," and their weight is about 125 ounces. The gold in this form is worth $18 an ounce. The total value of it is somewhere between $50,000 and $75,000. Heretofore the output of the mine has been sold in the natural shape, but there would always be a reduction of an ounce or two made on account of sand or dirt claimed to be among the gold, so it was decided to buy a furnace, crucibles, molds, etc., and melt the dust into bricks. This was done Wednesday, and Mr. Ankeny has quite a burn on one side of his face back of the eye, on that account. The molds have to be greased before the molten gold is poured into them, and too much grease got into one. When Mr. Ankeny was pouring in the gold the grease took fire and flew on his face, and as he could not drop the crucible, he had to let it burn him. Messrs. Cook and Ankeny look as healthy and sunburned as possible, and their hands are as hard as those of any honest miner or granger. They say that down in the cutting where they were cleaning up, the thermometer stood at 105 degrees. Their sons, both young men, have been running a mine "on the side" just above the main mine, having an eight-inch stream to operate it with, and they also look like regular miners. The Sterling mine, which is Oregon's Klondike, is shut down till October 1, to give all interested a much-needed rest after their long and arduous labors, as the weather has been the hottest ever known there, and everyone connected with the mine is completely worn out. For the benefit of those who are ignorant on this subject, it may be said that the Sterling mine is situated about eight miles from Jacksonville, on Sterling Creek. It has been worked for 19 years, and has always paid well; but is growing better every year as the workings are pushed up into richer ground. The prospectors have a large tract of pay ground to wash down yet. The water is brought a long distance in a ditch and pipes from the mountains. Twenty men are employed in the mine. John Lewis, who has a hydraulic mine in that section, says that for 100 miles along the Rogue River the bottoms and branches are rich in gold, and when water is brought in so that this ground can be worked, this section will throw Klondike in the shade. In order to get the necessary water a pipe line must be laid away up to the upper waters of the Rogue River, and this will cost a large sum of money, but it will prove a good-paying investment to anyone who goes into the scheme, merely for the sale of water. Oregonian, Portland, August 28, 1897, page 10 MINES AND MINING.
The yellow metal from the Sterling
mine in this county is creating no end of excitement in Portland.
Listen to what the Daily Telegram says:"Never has any display of gold attracted so much attention in Portland as the exhibit in the windows of A. Feldenheimer, the jeweler, on Third and Washington streets. This glittering array of the yellow metal comes from the Sterling mine, in Jackson County, owned by Vin Cook and Henry Ankeny. Consisting of 26 bricks, weighing perhaps 125 ounces each, and at least 100 ounces in nuggets ranging in size from a pea to a hen's egg, the display is enough to attract attention anywhere. The gold from their first cleanup this season was shipped to the mint in San Francisco. Coming from Oregon's own mines, however, the people can hardly believe their own eyes. It seems too good to be true. "The display occupies two of the large Washington Street windows, and at times it is extremely difficult to obtain a glimpse of it, so dense is the crowd peering into the windows with rapturous eyes. In value the metal represents about $75,000. "The Sterling mine is one of the best hydraulic placer properties in Oregon, and has been worked successfully for the last 20 years, each year's output being heavier than that of the previous year. It is located about eight miles from Jacksonville, on Sterling Creek, and when in operation employs about 20 men. At present operations are suspended for a month to give the men a much needed rest, as the heat during the past season has been intense, and all connected with the mine are pretty well worn out. As there are still many acres of pay dirt in the claims of Messrs. Cook & Ankeny, it will be some years before the mine is worked out. "John Lewis, who has a hydraulic mine in that section, says that for 100 miles along the Rogue River the bottoms and branches are rich in gold, and when water is brought in so that this ground can be worked this section will throw Klondike in the shade. In order to get the necessary water a pipe line must be laid away up to the upper waters of the Rogue River, and this will cost a large sum of money, but it will prove a good paying investment to anyone who goes into the scheme, merely for the sale of water." The Mail has been informed that the total output of this mine for the season just closed amounted to $155,970. Medford Mail, September 3, 1897, page 6 The Sterling mine, Jackson County, is running two giants. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 19, 1898, page 210 The Sterling Mining Co. is running its mill and a good-sized force day and night. As a comparatively small quantity of snow fell in the mountains last winter, the run will not be as long as usual. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, May 21, 1898, page 542 The Sterling mine is making its annual cleanup. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 16, 1898, page 61 In the Sterling mine, near Jacksonville, Or., a nugget was recently found that weighed sixteen ounces. "Concentrates," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, July 23, 1898, page 79 R. Cook has a force drifting in the Sterling M. Co.'s property and doing well. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 20, 1898, page 185 Operations have been resumed at the Sterling mine and the cleanup of last season's work will be completed. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, October 8, 1898, page 358 The cleanup at the Sterling hydraulic mine on Applegate is just being completed and operations will soon begin on another season's run. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 19, 1898, page 510 The Sterling M. Co. has finished its cleanup for 1898, which was good, and is making preparations for next season's run. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 3, 1898, page 559 Piping was resumed at the Sterling mine, near Jacksonville, last week, with a good supply of water. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 21, 1899, pages 68-69 Gold nuggets valued at about $12,000 are exhibited [at] the Medford Bank, a part of the cleanup of the Sterling M. Co. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 2, 1899, page 263 H. F. Ankeny, of the Sterling mine, is operating his hydraulics night and day under a full head of water and expects to sweep a large area of bedrock. He has twenty-six men at work. "Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, January 13, 1900, page 45 ASHLAND, March 11.--The miners continue to rejoice over the abundance of rainfall in the valleys and the snow in the higher altitudes. The rains of last week, added to the precipitation of the week previous, have given a great impetus to the hydraulic and placer mining all over this section, as well as that of Northern California. The giants are already tearing down the earth with a flow of water that is more than likely to continue till midsummer; even if the snowfall in the higher altitudes is not as deep or as well-packed as could be wished for a long season, the ground is thoroughly saturated with water. A run is ensured already well into the month of July. Every indication points to this being the banner year in the gold production of Jackson County. Vin Cook, of Portland, who is associated with Henry E. Ankeny, of this county, in the ownership of the famed Sterling mine, was in Ashland Thursday night, after his return from San Francisco and Southern California, where he has been visiting for several weeks past. The Sterling mine is the largest hydraulic mine in the state of Oregon, and is located on Sterling Creek, a tributary of the Applegate, and about nine miles west of Ashland as the crow files. There are about 26 men on the payroll of the company, working as a night and day shift. The work this year will cover a period of at least 10 months, if not longer. The locality of the Sterling mine has been famous as a gold-producing region ever since the first discoveries were made there in the year 1854. Of late years the Sterling has proved a great producer of the yellow metal--its output seemingly increasing as the capacity of the plant has been enlarged. The output of the mine last year was reported at $100,000, and everything has been progressing even more favorably this year than last. Conservative estimates of the amount of bullion taken out of the mines on Sterling Creek approximate $5,000,000, and there is dirt enough in sight to last many years. "Plenty Water for Mines," Oregonian, Portland, March 12, 1900, page 3 The last of the season's cleanups in the Sterling hydraulic mine of Ankeny & Cook gave $14,000 in gold bricks and $10,000 in coarse gold nuggets, some of the nuggets weighing nearly five ounces. The entire season's cleanup will amount to $100,000. "Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 11, 1900, page 162 H. E. Ankeny is putting the Sterling mine in readiness for the coming season. "Josephine County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 29, 1900, page 378 The Sterling Placer, Ashland, is running with a big cleanup in sight. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 27, 1901, page 205 It is reported from the Sterling mine on Forest Creek, Jackson County, Or., that piping was commenced earlier last fall than usual, and has been prosecuted without a stop up to the present time, and will be continued for two months to come. "Pacific Coast News," Sausalito News, June 1, 1901, page 1 W. H. Maultby and A. Gilson, who have been prospecting at the head of Sterling Creek, back of Ashland, have struck an old channel, which promises to be quite rich. A considerable body of gravel that prospects well is already in sight. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 23, 1901, page 223 W. H. Maultby and A. Gilson, who are working some new placer mines at Sterlingville, think they have struck the old boulder pay channel. They have run a drift 180 feet long and found good pay dirt. The gold is coarse, some of the pieces weighing as high as $4 and $5 each. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 22, 1902, page 166 J. F. Garrison, who is developing a placer mine situated in Sterlingville district, has run a tunnel 250 feet in length, but bedrock has not been struck as yet. The prospects for good pay are favorable, however. "Mines of Southern Oregon," Democratic Times, Jacksonville, June 12, 1902, page 4 At the Sterling placer mine two giants are operated; twenty-five men have been employed but hydraulicking will probably be suspended next week for the cleanup. A strip of conglomerate about 20 feet wide next to the bedrock, parallel with the old channel and near the center, requires blasting before the monitors are turned on it. After a cannonade of dynamite cartridges on this cement bed, the streams of water do the remainder of the work effectively. "Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, August 16, 1902, page 96 Death of James
Sterling.
PORTLAND, Or., June 14.--James Sterling, a pioneer of Jackson County
and probably the best-known prospector and miner of the type of the '49
days in Southern Oregon and Northern California, died at Yreka on
Friday, aged 76 years. San Francisco Call, June 15, 1903, page 2 DISCOVERY OF STERLING MINE.
In view of the increasing output of the Sterling mine, and its wide
notoriety through exhibitions of large quantities of its dust in the
show windows of Portland, it will be of interest to many people here
and to miners generally on the coast to learn how, when and by whom the
Sterling camp was first discovered.By W. J. Plymale. In the winter of 1854, Aaron Davis and James Sterling were working together on Jackson Creek. They were good miners and worked their claim to the best known advantage at that time, but the yield was not satisfactory. They also owned a ranch a short distance south of Phoenix. Early in the spring they left their claim on Jackson Creek and went out to the ranch to put in a crop. They remained there longer than they expected, and when they returned their claim had been jumped. They had stayed away beyond the limit allowed by the local laws, and forfeited their right to the claim. They left Jackson Creek and crossed over to the Applegate to prospect. They worked several days and finding nothing satisfactory they returned to the ranch by way of Sterling Creek. When they arrived about where the old town of Sterling used to be, they stopped to rest and take lunch. While there Mr. Sterling said: "This looks like pay dirt--I believe I will prospect a little." He took a pan of dirt from the roots of an upturned tree, and washing it out, got about a dollar. Further prospecting gave like results and showed the place to be rich. The Indians were considered dangerous to small parties in the mountains at that time, and as they were unarmed and immediately on the Indian trail that led from the valley to Applegate, they thought it unsafe to remain there long, and went back to the ranch. On the day following, which was the last day of May '54, in company with George Rockfellow, J. P. Buens and John Bonum, they returned to the place of discovery to give it a more thorough prospecting with the intent, if satisfactory, to locate claims. They prospected Friday and Saturday and washed out $48, one nugget weighing 12. When they left for home, it was agreed among them that they would not make known the discovery until after their return on the following Tuesday, when they would all go back with sufficient supplies to remain for a while and more fully prospect the place and select their claims. On their return home, they stopped at the Coleman ranch, where a lot of men were helping to raise a heavy log house. The conduct and suggestive remarks of some of the party aroused the curiosity of the house raisers, and this taken in connection with the fact that the clothes of the party were soiled with red mining dirt led the more observant to jump at the conclusion that a new discovery had been made. Members of the party were plied with all sorts of questions touching their late whereabouts, and every effort was made to wring from them their secret, or get them to explain the soiled condition of their clothes. All stood firm and refused to divulge anything but one, Ab. Giddings, a jolly, good fellow, whose genial disposition made him a social diplomat, and who was accustomed to win his point by tact or strategy, got around Aaron Davis and through a system of badgering and urgent appeals, wormed the secret out of him, and he and Giddings went over Sunday morning and staked off their claims. On Monday Sterling went to Jacksonville to buy supplies. Elated over the discovery, he imbibed too freely and got full. His exuberance unbridled his tongue, and he gave the whole thing away. The news sped like electricity, and caused a general stampede from Jacksonville and surrounding camps, and when Sterling sobered up and reached the scene of his discovery, he was astounded to find an army of men on the ground and the camp staked out for miles up and down the creek. Through the bad faith of Davis and his own intemperate folly, Sterling got no claim at all. From the date of its discovery, in '54, to 1859, the whole creek for four miles or more literally swarmed with men. When the lighter placers were worked out, the restless element, ever ready to move at a moment's notice, swept over to the new discovery at Williams Creek, reported to be fabulously rich. It was, however, found to be very "spotted" and too uncertain for the average miner to waste his time and labor on, and when the northern excitement broke out, the transients all went north and left this camp almost deserted. Many, however, continued to work at Sterling, and the output for many years was very large, but when the ordinary method of sluicing would no longer pay, small holders sold out for what they could get and left the place. These small holdings were bought up from time to time by Hon. Theo. Cameron and U. S. Hayden until they finally owned something like three miles of the best part of the creek. They were induced to buy it through a knowledge of the fact that there was an old bedrock channel running the length of the creek, so deep that it could not be worked by the methods then in use, and this channel, save for a little drifting here and there, was left practically untouched, and this of course was the richest ground in the camp. This great bedrock wash can only be explained upon the theory that Rogue River Valley was once a lake, and that the excess of water flowing into it from Rogue River and other streams was discharged through Sterling Creek. The spurs of the Siskiyou running down to Sterling Creek are very high, and this passage was no doubt blocked by the sliding in of a high peak when the excess cut its way through the mountains at Gold Hill and finally flowed into its old channel below Grants Pass. There seems to be no other rational way of accounting for the immense bedrock channel, from 50 to 200 feet deep, running the length of the creek. In support of this theory, there is every indication that Applegate was once a very large stream, whereas now it is small, except during winter freshets. When Cameron and Hayden had been in possession of the mine for twelve or fifteen years, they sold out to the late D. P. Thompson, Burrell and others in Portland. This company brought in a ditch from Little Applegate, 28 miles long, with a capacity of 2500 inches, and installed the latest and most approved hydraulic machinery. The cost of the mine and plant when ready for operation was about $100,000. The equipment was by far the best and most complete in Southern Oregon at that time, and there is none better in the district today. The mine is a marvel of richness, indeed a very harvest to its owners, and is still the greatest producer in the county. There is yet a large amount of ground to be piped off, and what the future will show for this valuable mine can only be conjectured. There have been more than four millions taken out of Sterling Creek, and it is today one of the largest gold-producing placer camps in Jackson County. Medford Mail, November 27, 1903, page 1 THE STERLING PLACER.
The Sterling is the biggest of the
placer producers.
It is supposed to yield from $30,000 to $40.000 and in its record
season of about five years ago its output approached $90,000.The history of Sterling Creek in general and of the Sterling mine in particular reads like a story. The discovery dates back to 1854, or to almost "the beginning of things" in placer mining, and was made by Aaron Davis and James Sterling, after the latter of whom the camp was named. For the first five years the camp was the scene of seething activity. It then witnessed a marked decline. The lighter placers were thought to be worked out. During this period of what was practically abandonment, two men, Hon. Theo. Cameron and U. S. Hayden, quietly located and bought up the whole creek on the theory that an ancient and rich channel ran parallel to the present creek channel. They, however, did comparatively little mining of an extensive nature, and after twelve or fifteen years disposed of it to D. P. Thompson. M. S. Burrell, Hon. Levi Ankeny, now United States Senator from Washington, and other Portland people, who, in 1877, incorporated the Sterling Mining Company. This company secured the entire water right of Little Applegate River, and constructed a twenty-eight-mile ditch with a capacity of 2,500 inches and installed the latest and most approved hydraulic machinery. The cost of the mine and plant when ready for operation was about $100,000. The equipment was at that time the most complete in Southern Oregon, and there is none better in the district today. In 1880 the property passed into the hands of the present management and is operated under the old corporation's name, with V. Cook, of Portland, president, and H. E. Ankeny, brother of Senator Ankeny, superintendent. At the present and for the past year F. E. Ankeny, son of H. E. Ankeny, has had charge of operations, and is conducting the mine admirably. The equipment of the Sterling is unexcelled. Numbers 3 and 4 Hendy giants are used, with Hendy deflectors; there are four giants on the ground, but a battery of only two is directed at the bank at one time, the others answering emergency purposes. The fact that they have been working upstream for so long a time has resulted in quite a decrease of pressure, which, at present, is about 125 feet, but the enormous quantity of water that is carried from the penstock through 700 feet of twenty-two-inch steel pipe makes up in great part for that loss. The water involving, as it does, such a desirable right, is sufficient for a long season's run, and by a comparatively simple piece of engineering could be made twelve miles shorter and give an increased pressure of 200 feet. This could be accomplished by tunneling through Wolf Creek mountain. Because of the compactness of the gravel, the force of the stream from the monitors against the bank is rather ineffective in cutting and caving the ground and to overcome this deficiency and to further assist in moving gravel, holes are drilled into the bank and loaded with powder, which is then discharged by means of an electric battery. This means an increase of working force and also of the expense account otherwise, but the results amply justify it. The powder bill alone frequently exceeds $300 per month. The Sterling mine is reached by an eight-mile wagon road leading directly south from Jacksonville. Mineral Wealth, Redding, August 1, 1904, pages 33-34 A new engine has been added recently to the 2-stamp mill equipment of the Prize and Van Sickle prospect on Sterling Creek. In conjunction with the work on the main channel at the Sterling placer mine, another giant has been placed at the mouth of the old Grub Creek channel, which puts into the main channel about one-fourth mile down from the present point of operation. This work is to be more on the prospective order, and can be continued when water cannot be had for operating the two large giants in the main channel. If results will prove to be satisfactory, piping will be constantly continued at this place. "Southern Oregon Mines," Mineral Wealth, Redding, November 15, 1904, page 8 Grants Pass reports say the owners of the Sterling placer mine, on Sterling Creek, V. Cook of Portland, manager, have shaped the hydraulic for increased operations this winter. The Sterling M. Co. is owner of the Sterling mine, with H. E. Ankeny, superintendent. A battery of four giants has been set. There is water enough to operate at least two giants day and night. The gravel banks of the Sterling are cemented, requiring blasting. The company has prepared to do the blasting from tunnels or drifts driven into the banks. The powder will be set in these and fired by an electric battery. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, November 26, 1904, page 367 Gold Producer for Fifty Years
The Sterling mine is in readiness for piping and work will begin
following the first big rain, so reports Will F. Jennings, foreman, and
who has held that position for the past 14 years at that mine, who was
in Grants Pass Wednesday. Three No. 4 giants are used and the water is
brought by a large ditch, 27 miles in length, from the upper course of
Little Applegate to the mine, which in located on Sterling Creek, nine
miles south of Jacksonville. Only two giants will be operated at the
main workings this winter, one giant having been moved down the creek
one-fourth of a mile and set up at the mouth of Grub Gulch, on an old
channel, which was passed when the main creek channel was worked. This
gulch prospects well and is thought to be rich. The bank in the main
workings is from 40 to 60 feet high and in width from 200 to 600 feet.
The Sterling mine is in a section of the channel of an ancient river
that flowed across this country at a period previous to the beginning
of the streams now constituting the Rogue River basin, in southeasterly
and northwesterly directions, gravel bars of which can be traced on
various places on the hills from Sterling to west of Jacksonville. This
channel is a cement gravel, much of it so hard that it has to be
loosened up with powder before the water will readily cut it away. In
the work of blasting, holes are drilled in the bank down near the
bedrock eight to 12 feet deep. One stick of giant powder is then
inserted and fired to spring the hole, after which from 40 to 80 sticks
are placed in the cavity and fired by an electric battery. The report
from these heavy discharges is so muffled by the earth that it is heard
scarcely half a mile, though the earth about is shaken as by an
earthquake, but a report that is deafening is made, and can be heard 10
to 12 miles when the monster boulders which are found in the bank on
are blown to pieces for removal. In this work the sticks of giant
powder are merely laid upon the boulders and covered with earth, enough
powder being used to shatter the rock to small pieces, and being in the
open air, it makes a crashing report like a 10-inch cannon. From three
to six tons of powder are used each season, and for 11 years John Park
has hauled the powder out from Jacksonville without a mishap, and no
accident has ever occurred at the mine, other than the loss of a shack
in which the powder was stored and warmed. It caught fire and was in a
fair way to burn, when a primer exploded and set off the powder and the
house was blown into fragments and strewn for a quarter of a mile
around, but no person was hurt. A regular powder house was then built
and with a furnace the room in cold weather is kept warm, for when
giant powder is cold, it will not explode. A Chinaman is usually
employed by the Sterling company to have charge of the powder house,
for the work is both too dangerous and unhealthy for the average
American to care to undertake. The action of the chemicals in the
powder produces headaches and stomach disorders with those handling it
and some men cannot handle it for any length of time, while there are
persons who can withstand its effects for a year or two. One Chinaman
at the Sterling held the job for three years, but usually one season is
all that a Chinaman will handle the powder.The Sterling mine is one of the largest and richest in Southern Oregon and has been a steady producer of gold since 1854, when it was discovered by James Sterling, for whom the mine was named, and Aaron Davis, and it bids fair to yield gold in big quantities for the next 50 years. The mine is owned by Hon. H. E. Ankeny of Eugene and Vin Cook of Portland and is operated under the management of Frank Ankeny, son of Mr. Ankeny, and from 12 to 15 men are employed. Rogue River Courier, Grants Pass, December 8, 1904, page 1 One of the few Southern Oregon hydraulic mines that has been supplied with water for continual operation this season is the Sterling near Medford, the property of L. Ankeny and N. Cook of Portland. F. E. Ankeny of Jacksonville is superintendent. It is believed that the output of the Sterling for the present season, despite the absence of rain, will be $30,000. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 1, 1905, page 210 Regular dividend payers of this district are the Opp, Sturgis, Sterling, Champlin dredger, and a score of lesser properties, but which will also soon be numbered with the larger producers when given the development and equipment now planned and under way. While the fact is but little known, yet it is true that from $30,000 to $60,000 in gold is shipped through the Medford banks each month from the surrounding mines. The Champlin dredger alone has shipments of from $800 to $2000 a week, and the Opp has equally as much. The Sterling placer, the richest hydraulic mine of Southern Oregon, or at least one of the richest, seldom has a cleanup of less than $25,000, and more frequently it is twice that amount.… Another of the very few Southern Oregon hydraulic mines that have been supplied with water for continual operations this season is the famous old Sterling, of Jackson County, near Medford, the property of H. E. Ankeny and Levi Ankeny and N. Cook, of Portland. F. E. Ankeny of Jacksonville is superintendent. It is believed that the output of the Sterling for the present season, despite the absence of rain, will be close to $25,000, and may be even greater than that. This is a production of some 40 or 50 percent on the amount invested, and only a small crew is required to operate the property. Five years ago the output of the Sterling was $90,000. Plans were laid to eclipse that record this year, but low water prevented. Although the Sterling is one of the oldest placers in Oregon, and has been a scene of continual activity for fifty years, there is yet ground enough to keep the present battery busy for another half century. The water right is derived from the Little Applegate, an average flow of 2500 miners' inches going through the bulkhead operating two powerful giants. The mine is equipped with a battery of four giants, but only two are operated at one time, as all possible pressure is necessary to break the cemented gravel of the rich banks. Values are carried uniformly in coarse gold throughout the strata. Dennis H. Stovall, "Southern Oregon Mines," Mineral Wealth, Redding, April 1, 1905, page 9 LARGE MINING DEAL
The famous Sterling mine lying back of Jacksonville, in Jackson County,
and acknowledged to be Oregon's greatest placer mine, was sold Monday
by Messrs. Cook and Ankeny, of Jackson County, to Fred J. Blakeley, of
Roseburg, who purchased it for a syndicate of Eastern and local
capitalists.Famous Sterling Mine in Jackson Co. Bought. F. J. BLAKELEY AND OTHERS Are the Purchasers--Head Office of the New Company to Be in Roseburg. The mine has been owned by the Cook and Ankeny families for nearly half a century, and has produced millions of dollars in gold. In the early days it was mined by hand, and as an evidence of the number of men employed it is known that when Lincoln was elected president there were six hundred votes cast for him at the voting place on this mine. Mr. Ankeny's father realized the great possibilities of the property if water could be had to take the place of manual labor. Away back in the '70s he began the building of a canal to convey the waters of the Little Applegate River onto the mine. Winding around the sides of the great mountains which hedge the mine in on all sides, this great ditch or waterway was constructed, and when completed the canal was twenty-seven miles in length. The elder Ankeny did not live, however, to see the splendid results of his labor. The first year the giants tore down the banks and when the annual cleanup came, it was found that little pay dirt had been moved. Shortly after this the elder Ankeny died. The work was then taken up by his son, Hon. Henry E. Ankeny, of Eugene. During the next season, under his management, the mine showed splendid returns, and has continued to do so every year since, making both Mr. Cook and Mr. Ankeny very rich men. All these years Mr. Ankeny has managed the property. The news of the sale of the Sterling caused a great deal of surprise in all quarters. Mr. Ankeny in an interview in a Portland paper of Monday stated that he sold the mine because he had arrived at an age where he did not care to mine any longer, and owing to his large interests in the Klamath country had not the time to give it the required attention even if he had the inclination. Mr. Blakeley, who returned home this morning, gave out the following interview to a Review representative: "Yes, I have purchased the Sterling mine, and it is needless to say am well pleased with my bargain. Some months ago, the proposition was made to me. I made a careful inspection of the property myself, then had some mining experts pass upon it, and finally had Mr. Charles Roberts, our capable county surveyor, make extensive surveys to determine the feasibility of putting the water on the Medford side of the mountain for irrigation and other purposes. Upon the judgment of these various gentlemen, I decided to purchase the property. "Having interested some local friends in the deal, I then went east and succeeded in getting eastern friends to join with us, and yesterday the entire deal was closed up. "It will take some little time to decide just how we will proceed, but I can say that this water right covers an immense territory, included in which are the great apple orchards of the Rogue River Valley, and they need water badly. This water right alone is worth a half million dollars of any man's money, and I feel safe in saying that the improvements we contemplate making will make the mine a better paying proposition in the future than it has ever been in the past. "The gentlemen interested with me have abundant means to put the property in shape and make all improvements necessary. The offices of the company will be located in Roseburg. Just who the officers and directors will be I cannot say, but a meeting will be held in this city in a few days, when that matter will be fully settled. "The price paid for the property is a matter between Messrs. Cook and Ankeny and my associates, and while it is a large sum, I can say we are satisfied with the purchase and presume the late owners are equally so. "Mr. J. D. Heard will be manager under the new company. He went south on the overland train this morning to take charge, and was accompanied by Mr. Ankeny." Roseburg is fortunate in securing the headquarters of this large company, and will do its full share toward the development of our sister county on the south. This mine has in recent years been valued at $300,000, and it is reported that the new company expect to expend about $500,000 in the development of their plans. Roseburg Review, May 16, 1905, page 1 THE STERLING MINE SOLD.
The following from the Portland Telegram
gives
intelligence of one of the most important mining deals which have taken
place in Southern Oregon for many years. It indicates the sale of the
Sterling mine, famous all over the coast as a great and steady producer.One of the Historic Mines of Southern Oregon-- Brief Sketch of its Discovery and Development. "Sale of the famous Sterling mine in Jackson County was completed today by the owners, H. B. Ankeny and Vint Cook, to Fred J. Blakeley and a syndicate of local and Eastern capitalists. The mine was rated as being worth $300,000, but the actual price paid for it is not known. The new company, which will be known as the Sterling Mine Company, expects to expend $500,000 in improving the property and enlarging it during the ensuing year. J. D. Heard will be manager of the mine. "The Sterling mine is one of the largest placer mines in the United States, all of the work being done by the hydraulic process. It is rated as a large producer, and the reasons assigned by the owners for its sale is that they want to retire from business. Mr. Ankeny also states that he thinks he is too old to continue actively in business. "The new management expects to put in ditches and use much of the water flowing from the mine after it has been used for mining purposes in irrigation of orchards in the vicinity and for other purposes. This water will be sold to owners of farms and fruit ranches." The history of the Sterling mine, taken from an article from the pen of the late W. J. Plymale and published in the Mail of November 27, 1903, is briefly as follows: "In 1854, Aaron Davis and James Sterling, while on a prospecting trip, found gold on Sterling Creek. Fear of Indians, which were restless in those days, caused them to return to the main camp at Jacksonville. In company with George Rockfellow, John Boune and J. P. Burns, they returned to the place a few weeks later and made more extensive examination of the ground, finally deciding that it was very rich. In leaving they agreed to mention the find to no one until they returned and could stake out their claims. The persuasion of a friend, however, caused one of the party to divulge the secret; too much red liquor loosened another's tongue, and the news spread all over the camp, causing a stampede at the new diggings. For a time it was a flourishing camp, and many thousand dollars were taken out by the primitive methods then in use. The ground was deep, however, and soon became so that it could not be worked by ground sluicing, The miners wandered away to more easily worked fields and their claims were gradually bought up by Hon. Theo. Cameron and U. S. Hayden, who were induced to do so by the knowledge of a deep channel which ran through the ground. In after years they sold their interests to D. P. Thompson, Burnell and others of Portland who commenced the extensive improvements that have since been made. A ditch twenty-eight miles in length brings water from the headwaters of the Applegate, and the Sterling finally became the greatest hydraulic mine in the world. The cost of the mine and plant when completed was in the neighborhood of $100,000, but the results have fully justified the expenditure. Since the acquirement of the mine by Messrs. Ankeny, Cook and their associates, scientific mining and modern business methods has put the property on a valuable paying basis, and at least four million dollars in gold have been taken from Sterling Creek since gold was first discovered there, and it is not worked out by any means yet." Medford Mail, May 19, 1905, page 1 FAMOUS STERLING PLACER MINE SOLD
The Sterling mine, located nine miles south of Jacksonville, on
Sterling Creek, a tributary of Little Applegate, has changed ownership,
and the famous mine is now the property of a company of Oregon and
Eastern capitalists, at the head of whom is Fred F. Blakeley, of
Portland. While the purchase price was not made public, it is
understood that Henry E. Ankeny of Eugene and Vincent Cook of Portland,
who were the owners of the mine, were paid above $500,000 for the
property. Their reason for selling is that each has other extensive
property interests that fully absorb their time.Discovered in '54--Has Produced $10,000,000-- New Company Plan Big Improvement. The Sterling mine was discovered in 1854 by James Sterling and soon after become one of the biggest mining camps in Southern Oregon, Sterlingville containing at one time a population of nearly 1000, and at Lincoln's first election the camp polled over 600 votes. The mine is in a section of the bed of an ancient river that flowed across this county prior to the formation of Rogue River Valley, and the gold is found in an immense deposit of gravel, much of which is so hard as to require powder to loosen it so the giants can wash it. In recent years, current report has it that the Sterling has been producing from $40,000 to $75,000 per year, making it one of the biggest placer mines on the Pacific Coast. The mine has been in the possession of Hon. H. E. Ankeny and his brother-in-law Vincent Cook, together with Mr. Ankeny's father, the late Capt. Ankeny, for the past 30 years, and the dividends that it has paid made the foundation for the fortunes that these men now possess. The Sterling is equipped with four giants supplied by water brought from Little Applegate in a ditch 27 miles long. The operations of the new company are likely to prove quite extensive, as indicated by some of their plans that have been made public. A new and larger ditch will likely be constructed to bring water either from the head of Little Applegate or from Squaw Lake, on Squaw Creek, a tributary of Big Applegate. The present ditch, while carrying a large volume of water, with but small diminution in the dry season, does not afford sufficient head to work out all the ground owned by the company, for the pay gravel extends up Sterling Creek to an altitude above that of the ditch. To bring the outlet of this ditch to a higher level the company will drive a tunnel of about a ¼ of a mile in length through the divide between Little Applegate and Sterling Creek. This tunnel will shorten the ditch about seven miles and raise the head fully 75 feet, making a head of 190 feet at present workings. The company announces that they will undertake extensive irrigation in the vicinity of Jacksonville, in addition to operating their mine. This is possible as their mine is at a greater elevation than the country about Jacksonville. Should they extend their ditch to Jacksonville, it is quite likely that it will lead to the working of two extensive placer deposits that have been mined in a small way for years past. One is the Blucher property on the head of Poormans Creek and the other is the Crescent mine on the crest of the ridge between the two forks of Jackson Creek. This deposit of cement gravel is 60 feet thick and is very rich in gold, but as it is above all the local water supplies it could not be handled by hydraulic process. This deposit is a section of the bar of the same ancient river on which the Sterling mine is located, and it is thought by many mining men to be as rich and as extensive as that great gold producer. From this ancient channel is thought to have come much of the gold that made the placer mines of Jackson Creek and Rich Gulch so rich. Tunnels have been run in on this deposit from the face of the hill, and for years past miners have dug out the richest of the gravel on the bedrock and wheeled it outside. After a few months exposure to the air it slacks and is easily washed, which is done in sluice boxes with water caught in the nearby gulches and held in reservoirs. Men working this way have made good wages. Various schemes have been considered for working this ancient river bed, among which was to bring water by ditch from Little Applegate, and also from Big Applegate. But a ditch from the latter would not give sufficient head for piping, and the pressure would have to be had from a pump. The scheme has also been discussed of putting in ¾ of a mile of chute and running the gravel down to Jackson Creek, where water could be had for washing it. The Sterling Mining Company has for years carried one of the biggest payrolls of any placer mine in Southern Oregon, and under the new management the number of men employed is likely to be greatly increased. Frank Ankeny, a son of Hon. H. E. Ankeny, has been superintendent for several years past of the Sterling mine, but he now retires, to be succeeded by J. D. Heard, of Medford. Mr. Heard is one of the most thorough mining men in Southern Oregon and of great energy, and under his management the mine will be pushed to its fullest development. Rogue River Courier, Grants Pass, May 19, 1905, page 1 A representative group of Southern Oregon mining men recently visited the famous Sterling mine in Jackson County, Oregon. Among the group were Col. Frank H. Ray, principal stockholder of the Condor Water and Power Company; Dr. Charles R. Ray, superintendent of the Condor Water and Power Company; John C. Lewis. owner of the celebrated Benton Mine on Mount Reuben, Josephine County, Oregon; J. F. Reddy, part owner of the Opp mine near Jacksonville, Oregon; Fred Champlin of the Champlin Dredging Company, operating on Foots Creek, Jackson County, Oregon; H, W. Christian, superintendent for the Champlin Dredging Company, and Roy N. Bishop, superintendent of the famous Greenback mine. "Southern Oregon Mines," Mineral Wealth, Redding, July 1, 1905, page 6 STERLING MINE IMPROVEMENTS.
J. D. Heard, superintendent of the Sterling mine, gave a Mail reporter this week a few facts concerning the projected improvements to be made at the Sterling mine.The most important of the immediate changes will be the construction of a huge reservoir near the mine, at a point where the soil had been washed from the bedrock, leaving cliffs of rocks over sixty feet high on each side. Piping the debris from the mine into each end of this cut, it will be an easy matter to construct a reservoir sixty feet deep, averaging 250 in width and half a mile long, a miniature lake in fact, and the largest reservoir in Oregon. Work will commence on this at once. Next the company contemplates the installation of an electric power plant at the mouth of Sterling Creek, utilizing one of the three ditches owned by the company to generate light and power for use in the mine. They will be able to secure from 3000 to 4000 horsepower easily. The mine will be lighted by arc lights from their own plant, and the power will drive an immense centrifugal three-step pump, which will convey water from the reservoir delivering it at the nozzle of the giants with a force equal to a vertical pressure of 360 feet, instead of the 120-foot pressure of the present ditch. This pump, a recent invention, is expected to revolutionize dry placer mining, by overcoming the difficulties heretofore experienced in securing pressure for piping by means of pumps. This new machinery is expected to be in operation by next season. At present piping is going on with two No. 4 giants driving back and cleaning up. Partial cleanups have already been made and considerable gold taken out. The final cleanup will be finished about the first of August. The matter of the irrigation project is still in status quo, although still in contemplation. Estimates and several different plans for the construction of the system have been made and submitted and will be considered at the meeting of the directors which occurs next month, when something definite in the matter will be decided upon. In connection with the reservoir project Mr. Heard intends planting a large number of mountain trout therein, where they will be sure to thrive, the water being cold, pure and clear. Medford Mail, July 14, 1905, page 1 The Sterling Road.
Through the efforts of a committee
appointed by the
Medford Commercial Club, between $400 and $500 was subscribed by the
citizens of this city for the improvement of the road over the Griffin
Creek divide to the Sterling mine, and on Monday Ed. Fawcett, in charge
of a force of ten or twelve men and several teams, commenced the
improvements on the stretch of road necessary to be improved--a
distance of from one to one and a half miles this side of the summit of
the Griffin Creek divide. The Sterling Mining Co. has agreed to build
the road from the point of juncture with the Jacksonville-Sterling
road, near the old Graupner place, to the summit on the west side to
connect with the road being built from here.The completion of this road will give a much easier and better means to the people of Sterling and the upper Little and Big Applegate sections of getting to Medford. The summit of the divide is some 200 feet lower than the highest point upon the Jacksonville road, and the grades on either side are much easier. Besides it shortens the distance between here and the Sterling mine about four miles, making the distance between the two places about ten instead of fourteen miles. Medford Mail, October 13, 1905, page 4 TO IRRIGATE THE VALLEY.
Some weeks ago the Mail
had an article telling of a scheme by which the Sterling Mining Co.
intended to bring water into the valley for irrigation, power and
domestic purposes. It was said that it couldn't be done, that it was a
"hot air" proposition and an impossibility. However, the surveys have
been made and preliminary estimates as to the cost have been submitted.
In a short time it will be up to the farmers and fruit raisers of the
central valley us to the amount of encouragement they intend giving the
company in this enterprise--not in bonuses or subscriptions, but in
patronage after the system is installed. The company is ready and
willing to construct this irrigation system if they can secure the
patronage to justify it. This is not a philanthropic scheme by any
means, it is a cold-blooded business proposition. If sufficient revenue
can be secured to justify the construction of the system it will be
built. That's all there is to it.Fred J. Blakeley, the president of the Sterling Mining Co., was in Medford several days this week, consulting with J. D. Heard, the superintendent of the mine, concerning their various properties, for the Sterling is not the only mine controlled by this company, which fact will be found out later. There are to be extensive improvements, and this irrigation scheme is one of those contemplated. The ability of the men at the head of this enterprise to carry out their plans is most positively shown by the success Mr. Blakeley, the president, has had in other enterprises. In Douglas County, where he has been operating for the past several years, he has inaugurated more dividend-paying enterprises than anyone in that county. He owns the Roseburg Power and Light Co., has constructed a large mill at Winchester and cleared the North Umpqua River from near its source to Winchester so that logs may be floated down it, has diverted the Calapooia so that its waters make a garden spot of a formerly unproductive section of country. Whatever Mr. Blakeley tells the people he intends doing he will do. He has never failed yet and does not intend to fail. The experience of the past few years has demonstrated to the orchardists the value of water upon their lands. If the productive power of an orchard is increased by irrigation the value of the land is increased in exact ratio. It would be well for our orchardmen to look into this matter thoroughly. Medford Mail, October 20, 1905, page 1 The Sterling Mining Company, which controls extensive water rights in the Siskiyous, including over twenty-five miles of ditch carrying water to the mines, is considering the matter of using the surplus water in furnishing irrigation for a portion of the valley south and east of Medford. The scheme includes the boring of a tunnel through the divide between the main valley and Sterling, and carrying the water through pipes to the different customers. Already the acreage which the company figured would be necessary in order to make the scheme a feasible and paying one has been subscribed, and more could easily have been secured, only the company wished to be certain as to the amount of water they could furnish before making additional contracts. "Irrigation Is Coming," Medford Mail, March 9, 1906, page 13 Superintendent J. D. Heard has been working two giants at the Sterling mine, near Ashland [sic]. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, March 17, 1906, page 190 HON. H. E. ANKENY PASSES AWAY
Henry H. Ankeny died at the North Pacific Sanitarium Portland at 8
o'clock Saturday morning, Dec. 22, 1906, of Bright's disease. He had
been confined in the institution for several months, under the constant
care of physicians, having been assailed by the malady last August. He
was a pioneer, and for many years was identified with the industrial
growth of the state. He was a stepbrother of United States Senator Levi
Ankeny, of Washington.Pioneer Statebuilder Passes Away in Portland. Henry E. Ankeny was born in Virgina, May 18, 1844. He crossed the plains with his father, the late Captain A. P. Ankeny, in 1850, and settled in Yamhill County. He removed to Portland in the early '60s, where he became agent of Wells, Fargo & Co. Express. He was also engaged in the mercantile business here. With his father and stepbrother, Levi Ankeny, he moved to Lewiston, Idaho, in 1866, and operated an express line on the Upper Snake River, and also engaged in mining on his own initiative. He managed a pack train to the mining centers, and later ventured into the Fraser River country also. Mr. Ankeny moved to Marion County, Oregon, in the early '70s. There he operated a large farm near Jefferson. He also mined near Galice Creek, Josephine County. He moved to Jackson County in 1889 and operated the Sterling mine with his brother-in-law, Vin Cooke, until 1905, when the mine was sold. He was president of the Medford National Bank and vice-president of the Chamberlain-Bristow Banking Company, of Eugene, and his home was in that city. He was married in 1866 to Miss Cordelia Stryker, of Vancouver, Wash. The children are: Frank E. Ankeny, of Klamath Falls; Mrs. John S. Orth and Mrs. Frank Crump, of Jacksonville; Mrs. Roscoe Cantrell, of Klamath Falls; Mrs. Alfred H. Miller, of Medford, and Miss Gladys Ankeny, of Eugene. He was a member of Eugene Lodge, No. 11, A.F.&A.M., being a 32nd degree Mason, a Knight Templar and a Mystic Shriner. Medford Mail, December 28, 1906, page 1 The April cleanup for the old Sterling hydraulic placer, near Jacksonville, amounted to $3,500. This old placer will clean up about $30,000 this season. Though the Sterling has been operated for nearly 50 years, it is still one of the richest and best placer properties on the Pacific Coast, and has ground enough to keep its giants busy for another 50 years. The water supply is derived through a 25-mile ditch and is sufficient to keep the mine in operation for eight or nine months each year. Dennis H. Stovall, "Southern Oregon," Northwest Mining Journal, May 1907, page 69 BIG NUGGETS AT STERLING
Miss Gladys Heard, "the nugget queen," Wednesday unearthed two large
nuggets at the Sterling mine, Jackson County's prize producer and the
largest placer mine in the world. One of these nuggets weighs 132
kilograms and the other 124. She now has quite a collection of nuggets,
probably the largest collection in Oregon, some of them three or four
inches across, which have been washed into the sluice boxes or picked
up in pockets along the bedrock after the earth has been hydraulicked
off.Miss Gladys Heard, "The Nugget Queen," Unearths Two Large Ones Miss Heard, pretty, charming and still in her teens, is probably the only girl placer miner in the world. Her father, Jeff D. Heard, who is part owner and manager of the Sterling, is away a great deal of the time, and during his absence his daughter runs affairs, managing a crew of 30 or 40 men, giving directions, attending to details and overseeing the cleanups in a businesslike manner that well might excite the envy of a forty-niner. Moreover, she is lucky, and the big strikes are made and the nuggets found while she is boss of the mine. Medford Daily Tribune, August 6, 1908, page 4 This story was widely reprinted in Oregon, but completely ignored by the rest of the country's editors--perhaps because a 291-pound nugget would be much larger than four inches across. Weighing gold using the metric system in early 1900s Oregon is peculiar--and in my research unique. There's an error here. STERLING MINE IS DISCUSSED AT
LENGTH
The Department of the Interior has just issued a bulletin
relating to mining in Southern Oregon, in which the mines in Jackson
County are described as the result of a geological survey. The bulletin
is replete with valuable information, giving as it does a history of
all mines in the neighborhood of Medford.…
The Sterling mine is also described, though since the pamphlet was prepared J. D. Heard has severed his connection with the company. It says: "The Sterling mine is on Sterling Creek, a branch of Little Applegate River, and is about eight miles from Jacksonville. It is owned by the Sterling Mining Company, of which J. D. Heard is manager. The property includes about 2000 acres, extending from a point below the mouth of Sterling Creek and over the divide to Griffin Creek. The gravel bank on the west side of the present workings is more than 40 feet in thickness, but on the east side it is only about 20 feet thick. The section consists of gravel and boulders, the latter being rather uniformly distributed throughout the section. Many of the boulders are small, but some are more than two feet in diameter and few exceed eight feet. They are mainly of greenstone. "Much mining has been done on Sterling Creek by the present company. The main stream was mined up from its mouth for more than three miles, then a channel to the east of this stream was followed for about half a mile. Here a channel, which is named Boulder Channel, was struck, and this has been followed for about a quarter of a mile to the present workings. The bedrock of these workings is a little higher than the present streambed and is about 100 yards east of it. The values are found across a width of nearly 200 feet. The gold is of medium coarseness and is usually well rounded, although angular nuggets are also present. The average thickness of the gravels in the Boulder Channel is about 40 feet. It is of interest to note that in these gravels the tusks and jaws of a mammoth, as well as other mammalian bones, have been found. The bedrock at the mine is greenstone, in which are patches of slaty tuffs. These rocks have been considerably sheared and veinlets of quartz are present. The strike of the slaty rocks is north eight degrees east; the dip about 60 degrees west. In the present workings is a dike running north 20 degrees east, containing cross veins which do not extend beyond the dike. The slope of the bedrock is about 2 feet in 100 feet. In 1908 mining was in progress from March until August, during which time about one acre was mined. The value of the gravels was about 40 cents to the cubic yard. "The mine is well equipped with giants, ditches and flumes. The longest ditch is about 27 miles in length. The water enters the ditch from Little Applegate River about 12 miles above the mouth of Sterling Creek. At the mine the head of the water is now only about 80 feet. A pipeline is being planned to carry water from Squaw Lake to the mine, a distance of 17 miles. The mine has been equipped for hydraulicking for about 30 years. The Sterling Mining Company was incorporated in 1872. There were issued only 40 shares of stock, which have been held by a very few shareholders. The total production of the mine is said to exceed $3,000,000." Southern Oregonian, Medford, July 10, 1909, page 2 The heaviest producer of the hydraulic placers of Southern Oregon has been the Sterling or Ankeny mine, on Sterling Creek, a few miles from Jacksonville. This mine is said to have produced from $25,000 to $60,000 every year for the last quarter century. The equipment consists of a 25-mile ditch, carrying 3500 miner's inches, and supplying water for two and three giants nine months in the year. The mine includes 700 acres of deep red clay gravel deposit. Arthur M. Geary, "Gold Mining in Southern Oregon," Medford Mail Tribune, February 5, 1911, page B1 Originally printed in the Oregonian, January 22, 1911, page 18. Pete Allen of Sterling has finished building a telephone line for Mr. Blakeley from the Sterling mine to our city. "Local News," Jacksonville Post, September 16, 1911, page 3 The Sterling mine, eight miles southwest of Jacksonville, one of the richest placer mines in Southern Oregon when in operation, is to be reopened by S. S. Bullis and his son, of New York. A ditch for hydraulic work has been surveyed, and will be constructed. The mine has been shut down for four years. "Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, February 1, 1913, page 226 $200,000 FOR DEVELOPMENT STERLING MINE
After formulating plans for the development of the Sterling mine,
probably the most famous placer mine in Southern Oregon, which call for
an outlay of $200,000, S. S. Bullis, a capitalist of New York City, has
left for the East, leaving his son in charge of the work here. Mr.
Bullis will return soon, as active development work is to start March 1.S. S. Bullis of New York Leaves for East After Planning Extensive Operations at Noted Placer Mine--Much New Ground to Be Worked. Engineer Is Busy Getting Out Profits--Active Development to Start on March 1. The outlay of $200,000 is deemed necessary for the construction of a high line ditch and other development work in order that the high ground, lying above the present scene of operations, may be properly mined. It is planned to work this ground, said to be very rich, to the top of the divide. Harry E. Foster of this city is in charge of the engineering work in connection with the mine and is now preparing profiles and estimates for the construction of the high line ditch. Mr. Bullis before his departure stated that he believed the Sterling mine capable of producing far more than it had in the past, which runs into large figures, and that he would spare no expense in putting his faith in the mine to a test. Medford Mail Tribune, February 3, 1913, page 1 This story was reprinted by both the Ashland Tidings and Jacksonville Post. The Sterling Gold Quartz M.&M. Co. will hold an adjourned stockholders' meeting April 13 to consider financing of the company. At the regular meeting in March it was resolved to ask the stockholders to submit to a voluntary assessment to raise funds for patenting the ground and working the property. "Jackson County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, April 12, 1913, page 562 Mr. E. Wickstrom passed through town en route to the Sterling mine with his saw mill, which he sold to the Sterling Mining Co. The mill will be placed in operation for the company on the Trask land on Little Applegate and will cut lumber to repair the flumes on the ditch. "Local News," Jacksonville Post, June 14, 1913, page 4 PUMP FOR STERLING MINE.
The biggest centrifugal pump in the state of Oregon arrived by freight
Friday, consigned to the Bullis interests, for use at their Sterling
mine. The pump was formerly used at Seattle to throw great streams of
water against the hills and thus level them, and requires 800
horsepower. The pump is said to weigh 13 tons. It was carried to
Jacksonville and will from there be transferred to the Sterling mine.Biggest Centrifugal Pump in Oregon Brought to This County. At the mine it will throw a current of water against the gold-bearing slopes, making the mine one of the best equipped in the state of Oregon. A large amount of money will be necessary to install the huge pump, but the owners know from the richness of the gravel that they are certain to secure a large amount of gold by the hydraulic process. Ashland Tidings, August 11, 1913, page 1 The Sterling mine, owned by S. S. Bullis of Medford, the oldest and most reliable producer in this part of the country, is being operated day and night by the largest force and equipment of greatest capacity ever used on it. Great electric searchlights enable the workmen to pursue operations at night as well as during the day. It is the scene of greater activity now than for many years. Thirty men are at work and three giant nozzles, each throwing a five-inch stream, are constantly washing the precious dirt from the walls of Sterling Creek. "Rich Gold Strike on Birdseye Creek,"Medford Mail Tribune, March 20, 1916, page 2 D. D. Good and D. M. Watt of Ashland, Oregon, report a new strike at their High Grade mine located on the south slope of the Siskiyou in the Sterling district. They were opening up the second ore chute in the new 240-ft. drift and working in 2 ft. of rich ore. "Siskiyou County," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, September 1, 1917, page 330 Among the large hydraulic placer properties which control large flows of water and are not affected by dry seasons is the Sterling mine, in the Jacksonville district, controlled by R. S. Bullis, of Medford. A large electric-power pump has recently been added to the equipment, by means of which pressure at the nozzle has been increased to the equivalent of a head of 200 ft. The gravel is so thoroughly cemented that much of it must be broken with powder before using the giants. The deposit is 20 to 40 ft. thick and about 400 ft. wide. The slope of the bed is about 2 ft. in 100. The value of the gravel is about 40¢ per cu. yd., and the total production of the mine is said to exceed $3,000,000. The length of the working season varies from 7 to 10 months. "Oregon," Mining and Scientific Press, San Francisco, December 25, 1920, pages 925-926 Mrs. Henry Ankeny is an old-time resident of Eugene. I visited her at her home on Pearl Street a few days ago, and she told me of her girlhood days in Oregon. "I was born in Wisconsin on November 19, 1848," said Mrs. Ankeny. "My father, Henry F. Stryker, was a physician and surgeon. His lungs became affected and he had a cough that he could not get rid of. A fellow physician told him he had consumption and that the only help for him would be a change of climate. Father decided to cross the plains to Oregon. We started in the spring of 1852. My father was a Pennsylvanian. My mother's maiden name was Mary Ann Hart. They had four children. When we reached Oregon father decided to stay in Portland. He started a store there, but later decided he could do better at Vancouver barracks, so he moved to Vancouver and ran a store there. He lived several years after coming to Oregon. "On June 10, 1866, I was married to Henry Ankeny, son of Captain Alexander Ankeny. Levi Ankeny of Walla Walla, who married a daughter of Colonel Nesmith, United States Senator from Oregon, was a stepbrother of my husband. In 1853 Levi Ankeny and Harvey Scott were classmates at the school which was started by Ahio S. Watt at Amity. Matthew P. Deady, later a federal judge, succeeded Watt as teacher in the Amity school. My husband's father, Captain Alexander Ankeny, served under Colonel Cornelius in the Indian war of 1856 and 1857. The troops operated around Walla Walla. "Immediately after my marriage my husband and I started, on our wedding trip, for the mines in Idaho. Captain Ankeny, my husband and Levi Ankeny ran a store at Lewiston and also bought gold dust and ran the express office. We lived there two years. In 1868 we returned to Portland. After staying there about two years my husband bought 5500 acres on the Willamette River 10 miles southeast of Salem. The old place is still known as the Ankeny farm. Before long we had the largest dairy in Oregon. We milked about 200 cows and made butter and cheese. We lived on this ranch 19 years. When we sold out my husband went to Jackson County to run the Sterling mine, near Jacksonville, 7½ miles south of Jacksonville. "In 1875 some wealthy English capitalists built a ditch in Josephine County, taking the water from Galice Creek, and engaged in deep gravel mining. A little later a California company put a ditch in from Althouse Creek to their mines. D. P. Thompson and my husband's father, Captain Ankeny, put in the next ditch, the longest at that time in Southern Oregon. Their ditch brought the water 23 miles to the Sterling mine. Jackson County had extensive placer deposits. Sterling Creek, where my husband's mine was, had some very rich ground, though it was expensive to work. There were also good claims on Jackson Creek, Applegate, Kanes Creek, Foots Creek, Sardine Creek, Poorman Creek, Grave Creek, Wagner Creek, Jump-Off Joe, Gold Hill and Steamboat. After each cleanup my husband melted the gold dust and nuggets into gold bricks, which he gave to me for safekeeping. I had a large number of flower pots. I used to put a gold brick in the bottom of a flower pot and transfer a living plant from some other pot to it. I doubt if a robber would ever have thought to look under a growing and blooming geranium for a gold brick. We lived at the Sterling mine about 7½ years. Twenty-eight years ago we moved to Eugene so our children could go to school. "Of my nine children, six are still living. Mrs. John Orth, my first daughter, lives at Medford. Mrs. Cora Crump also lives in Jackson County. Nanny Cantrell lives at Klamath Falls. My son Frank also lives there. Dolly married A. H. Miller, who owns a book store in Medford. Gladys stays with me here in Eugene. The grandson of Levi Ankeny is a student here at the university. He is coming up to see me today. I have not seen him since he was a little tot. "When I came to Eugene, 28 years ago, the town was a little trading center. Today it is a beautiful city, a city of homes and churches, of culture and refinement." Fred Lockley, "Impressions and Observations of the Journal Man," Oregon Journal, Portland, February 21, 1925, page 4 The old Sterling mine is under option to two different parties, Fred J. Blakeley of Portland and a Mr. Saunders of Seattle. The two factions are in a quarrel over the purchase of the property, an unusual thing for Oregon to have two men fighting for control of one Oregon mine. The Sterling has produced more money, it is claimed, than any other property in the state and has more unworked gravel than any other mine in Oregon, and it will probably be working when most others are all in. "Southern Oregon a Treasure Mine," Medford Mail Tribune, May 29, 1927, page B4 The Sterling Mine,
Near Jacksonville, Oregon
While the
recent entering of the Ludlum Engineering Corporation of New York in
the mining field of Southern Oregon and its active operation in the
construction of a $500,000 gold dredge at Foots Creek, 20 miles below
Medford, is a very important event in the resumption of mining in this
region, yet the entry of Fred J. Blakeley and associates of Portland in
this district in the recent operations in the reopening of the famous
Sterling placers, twelve miles out from Medford, also marks a new era
of mining in this region.Begins New Operations After Years of Idleness THE STERLING MINE, FORMER CHIEF PLACER PRODUCER, BEGINS A NEW PERIOD OF OPERATION By A. E. Kellogg The Sterling mine, which has lain idle for some time, is now being worked. This will be welcome news to the mining interests of Southern Oregon, as the Sterling was always shown to visitors, and when in operation it showed what quantities of gravel can be moved by water. In the early days of mining of Southern Oregon, Sterling Creek was the scene of the most active mining operations in and around Jacksonville. There was a large camp on Sterling Creek; in fact, it was a real live mining town. It was reported that 600 votes were cast at the time Lincoln ran for President the second time. Early in the '70s an ancient river channel was discovered. It was very rich in gold values. The find was reported all over the country. A syndicate of Portland capitalists, M. S. Burrell, Governor Grover and Levi Ankeny, afterwards U.S. Senator from Washington, became interested in the proposition. A ditch line to convey the waters of the Little Applegate River to a point of sufficient height to mine this newly discovered channel by hydraulicking was surveyed. The survey showed it would take a ditch 27 miles in length to answer this purpose. In those days a ditch of this length, and a large portion to be cut through solid rock, was a stupendous undertaking. The Portland men had made a thorough test of the ground, which showed the gold values were about 45 cents to the yard. So the ditch was constructed, giants installed, and mining operations on a larger scale than ever before known in that section of the country was started. For nearly a half a century the mine was operated, more than $2,500,000 in gold being taken from the mine during this period. Those conversant with the property declare that not one-third of the values have been taken from the ground. Mr. Mathews, or as he is familiarly known and called in Alaska, Jack Mathews, believes that the Sterling property is one of the richest placer properties on the Pacific Coast. He backs up this by taking an interest in the property. New mining equipment has been installed, and it will be interesting to the miners of Southern Oregon to see how the gold was saved in Alaska. In Mr. Mathews' opinion, a great deal of the gold, especially the finer gold, in the old Sterling operations was not recovered by the system that was used at that time for saving gold. If under Mr. Mathews' management, and his plans for handling the gravel, the Sterling mine lives up to its own record as a producer, it will do much to stimulate and revive mining in Southern Oregon. Mr. Blakeley recently in Medford said: "At the time gold was discovered in Alaska, mining men from Oregon, as well as from all over the United States, flocked to the northern country. Then later, when the Goldfield and other camps were discovered, it was another rush to these camps; practically all of them are things of the past, with the exception of some mining that is still being done in Alaska, but the records show that the production of gold in the Alaska region has fallen off greatly in the last few years. "From some of those who take the boats to Alaska every spring, this report has come that few people are now going into that country, and business is on the ebb in that northern territory. The great gold-producing states are now California and Colorado, both of them far outdistancing Alaska. "The time is now opportune for bringing to the attention of the people throughout the country the vast riches that are to be found in Southern Oregon. Not only has this section shown that gold is to be found along all the streams that flow into Rogue River, but there is also great deposits of gold and other precious metals in the hills and mountains, where numerous quartz mines are constantly being opened up. "If the people of the country, especially those interested in mining, would visit this territory, they would be surprised at its richness. In Alaska they were able to mine only about sixty to ninety days in a season, then the cold set in, and it was everything but pleasant to live there. Where these Goldfield and other camps have been discovered, they were in a bleak and barren country, where no one cared to reside. Many of the Rogue River Valley's best citizens are the descendants of the early miners who located in this country, and there is no doubt that if people came to the Rogue River country now to investigate the mining possibilities, they would eventually decide to become citizens of Southern Oregon. "For many years past, a great deal of money has been spent in advertising Rogue River pears, apples and other fruits. It has brought many people from many parts of the country who have located here. It is now in order for the people to start an advertising campaign in which the mineral products of this section should do more to bring in outside capital and new people than any other plan that could be devised. "With the Sterling going, the giants knocking down the gravel and which has been mined on this property, it is a sight sure to impress anyone." An editorial in the Oregonian of the issue of May 17, 1905, recites: "The Sterling mine in Southern Oregon, which is reported sold at a high figure, was well named. There are a great many other mines in that part of the state, as well as in eastern Oregon, which possess 'Sterling' qualities and which are appreciated at their true worth because their merits have not been noised abroad. There has been such conservation in operation as well as exploiting our mine, and they have kept right on producing, not spasmodically, but regularly for many years. There has never been a mining boom in the state such as have drawn thousands of people to camps like the Black Hills, Leadville, Klondike and Tonopah; but the mining industry in Oregon is on a much more legitimate basis than it was in most of the boom camps. There has been a vast amount of exaggeration regarding the wealth-producing qualities of some of the camps, especially those in Alaska. "The output from Alaska this season is estimated as high as $25,000,000, but this is believed to be considerably in excess of the amount that will be in evidence at the final cleanup. From estimates submitted to the director of the mint by officers of the several mints and assay offices, it is shown that the 1904 gold production of Alaska was $9,000,000, while Colorado produced $26,000,000 and California $19,000,000. These figures are somewhat surprising, considering the extensive advertising that has been given the Alaska country. No gold strike ever made was more thoroughly exploited and boomed than those of the Klondike, Nome and Tanana. The frozen north has for a number of years been producing great quantities of gold, and it has turned out many millionaires as well as a few thousand bankrupt miners who were not so lucky. And yet the mint returns shown that the Alaska country last year produced only about one-third as much gold as was produced in Colorado, and less than one-half as much as was secured from the mines of California. "Neither of these states enjoy anything like a mining boom, nor did either of them attract crowds of gold seekers as rushed to the Far North from all parts of the world. The discovery of gold in Alaska has been one of the greatest factors in the rapid growth of the Puget Sound cities, and the entire Pacific Coast has shared in a degree of the benefits arising from this discovery, but the returns per capita in comparison with what has been spent in getting in and out of the country will not make a favorable showing. There is but little doubt that if all the toil and money expended in the Alaska mines had been used in the mining camps of some of the western states the result would have been much more satisfactory. "The Sterling mine in Southern Oregon has never made any such remarkable cleanups as were made on the Klondike, but its regular annual output, in the many years since its discovery, aggregated a vast sum of money, equal to, if not exceeding, that of the best mines in Alaska." Pacific Coast Miner, March 1, 1928, page 1 Rich and
Historic Sterling Mine Once More Gives Gold
Once again the mountains and valleys of the quiet
Little Applegate River are resounding with the roar of water rushing
through the hydrant giants of the old and historic Sterling mine. Back
in the '50s and early '60s this same quiet valley was the scene of
the greatest gold mining activity ever known in the state of Oregon.
Thousands of miners and prospectors seeking gold were scattered over
these hills and valleys. The Applegate River and its tributaries were
alive with gold seekers. Sterling Creek alone gave up to those
early-day miners over $6,000,000 in gold dust. Poormans Creek and
Forest Creek gave up another handsome pile of gold, estimated from one
and a
half to two millions. Every small creek and gulch in this section was
mined by the old-time method of those days, the pick, pan, shovel and
rocker.Under Urge of Newly Installed Water Supply When the miners reached a point where water was not obtainable, they were compelled to quit and seek other fields. Then followed a long period when there was little activity in jumping. Find River Channel
An ancient river channel was discovered on Sterling Creek, Portland
capitalists were interested and a mammoth ditch 27
miles in length was built and hydraulic mining started. For nearly 40
years these Sterling giants plowed a great cut up and along the creek,
and during that period two and a half more millions of dollars were
extracted from the Sterling diggings, bringing the total output from
this creek to approximately $8,500,000. About the same time the
Sterling work was inaugurated, Captain Sturgis installed hydraulic
operations on Forest Creek, and this mine operated for a period
covering over 20 years. Sturgis then sold his mine and retired. It has
been operated off and on in a small way up the present time. Owing,
however, to the little water available, but a small amount of gold has
been recovered. There has also been considerable mining on Poormans
Creek. However, it has only been possible to work on these diggings
during exceedingly rainy seasons.Blakeley Takes Hold
Something
over a year ago, Fred Blakeley of Portland
acquired the Sterling holdings, comprising approximately 2000 acres. He
reorganized the Sterling company.Having secured the service of one of the most successful Alaska miners, J. F. Matthews, the new company proceeded to clear the land of trees and brush on the lower end of the Sterling property, about two miles below where hydraulic operations were started. A complete and up-to-date hydraulic plant was installed. Early last fall a ditch was surveyed in order to get a better water supply. This ditch is one of the largest and most expensive mining ditches constructed in Southern Oregon during recent years. Over a mile of the work was through solid rock, which required drilling and blasting. Compressors were used in the drilling. Two large power shovels worked constantly and a large force of men was also employed on the work. The cost of this ditch was approximately $25,000. Giants at Work
The
giants are now belching forth their great
streams of water against the rich gravel banks of Sterling Creek,
starting a new era in the mining industry in Jackson County.The old pioneer miners will be highly gratified to see mining activities again opened up. Ask any of these old-timers about the gold lying in the valleys of the Applegate, Sterling, Forest, Poormans and Jackson creeks, and they will at once say, "This territory has only been scratched over. If water was available, there is many times greater values remaining in the ground than have ever been taken out." One of the old boys, in giving some reminiscences of the early days, said: "Lookee here, mister, if you will just take a Jackson County map, stick a pin in old Cap Ruch's place, then draw a circle six and a half miles from the center, inside that ring, which takes in old Jacksonville, you will find it has produced over $19,000,000 of gold, and that's not a marker to what's left in these diggings." Once Showplace
In bygone days, when Ankeny and Cook were operating
the Sterling, it was one of the great showplaces of Southern Oregon.
It was one of the places all visitors were taken to. In those days
there were no automobiles, so the trip required the biggest part of a
day by horses. Sundays it was a regular picnicking ground. When the
weather permitted, there were always a score or more rigs lining the
banks of this old mine. Today the drive to the present scene of
operations can easily be made in 45 minutes by taking the Applegate
River road. It is one of the most beautiful and historic drives out of
Medford, as all along the road one sees evidences of the early-day
mining activities, and one wonders how men in those olden days could
have moved such vast quantities of gravel and monster piles of rock
with the primitive tools they then employed.Associated with Mr. Blakeley in the rejuvenation of the Sterling are several Eugene and San Francisco capitalists, also the well-known host of the Hotel Medford, Harry Hutton. Medford Mail Tribune, March 11, 1929, page 6 The Sterling placer has a total production to its credit of nearly $4,000,000, extending over a period of 60 years and, according to recent surveys, this vast deposit of gold bearing gravels have hardly been scratched. In former years the annual production of the Sterling, with limited water supply, was approximately $50,000 per season of about eight months in the year. After an idleness of 16 years, due to litigation, this old-time producer resumed the past winter with additional ditches and water heads that will triple the former annual production of the mine. A. E. Kellogg, "Southern Oregon Mining Industry," Medford Mail Tribune, April 15, 1929, page 3 STERLING GOLD MINE TURNING OUT RICHES
Paul Pearce, who has the Sterling mine under lease, was exhibiting a
bottle of gold worth about $125 in Medford Friday, taken from the last
cleanup at the mine. According to Mr. Pearce approximately $2000 has
been taken out since he began operation April 27, and values continue
good.Six men are employed at the mine, and it is expected that it will be possible to continue working on a full head of water for another month. The Sterling mine is the property of Fred J. Blakeley and Harry Hutton. Medford Mail Tribune, May 29, 1932, page 7 Tuesday W. H. Maultby, who built a good share of Medford's sidewalks, and a man with considerable mining experience, called at the office of the association and said that there are at the present time 200 men working on the old Sterling mine and that they are producing by hand work alone over $200 per day. Many of them are working on county-owned ground and he stated that he could count thirty rockers in a row in a distance of a hundred feet. "$5 Grubstake," Medford Mail Tribune, February 2, 1933, page 10 Mining Then and Now.
To the Editor:Fifty-five years ago I drove a butcher wagon from Jacksonville over the Applegate road, by Union Town, where the Camerons lived, and around by the Sterling mine, where Gilson, Saltmarsh, Towne, Kleinhammer and others were mining, and sold them meat once a week. They were good customers and always had the money to pay their bills. They used to show me nuggets that would make your heart beat faster even today, nuggets like big marbles that I used to play with when a boy. It took a whole day to make this trip with a span of horses and wagon, and today the same trip can be made in one hour. In the old days the miners used a wood flume or sluice box and large fir blocks for riffles. Now they use a steel-bottomed flume and steel rail iron riffles, which are comparatively easy to take up and easy to clean and also save all the gold. Today, George Barton, H. L. Bromley of the Copco, Mr. Shurtleff and myself were invited by Mr. Blakeley, the owner of the Sterling mine, to be at the mine at 2:00 o'clock to witness the cleanup which was to be made after a short run. Well, we went and I'll tell the world that we saw a sight that was worth going many miles to see. Did you ever see gold scooped up with a shovel? Not a large shovel, of course, but a shovel just the same. If you never did, and you have the opportunity just visit the Sterling mine sometime after a good run and you will see a wonderful sight. You will see a mass of gold the full width of a large sluice box slowly moving along behind the sand and gravel and then you will see Mr. Pierce scoop it up with a shovel. All of this came from a comparatively small area, and there are acres and acres of virgin ground farther up the creek that has never been touched, nor can be mined successfully until the ditch that carries the water out of Little Applegate has been extended, which Mr. Blakeley tells me will be done this summer. It will be a mighty young person now living that will live long enough to see the Sterling mine worked out. We were met near the workings by Mr. Blakeley, and, after Mr. Bromley took our pictures, we proceeded down to the flume where the cleanup was going on and stayed until they had several hundred dollars recovered so that Mr. Bromley could get pictures of it, and then had to leave, as our time was limited. The records of this mine show that this mine produced an average of $60,000 a year over a period of 30 years, one cleanup alone being more than $120,000. A commendable feature of the trip was the knowledge that Mr. Blakeley has permitted some two hundred men and women to operate by a slow hand method on this property all during the past winter and by this method make a living, without payment to him of any royalty. "Communications," Medford Mail Tribune, April 21, 1933, page 8 I had the privilege a short time ago of witnessing the cleanup at the celebrated Sterling mine, which was made only after a short run on account of lack of water. It was a great sight, after they removed the riffles, to see the gold as it moved along behind the sand and gravel and see the foreman scoop it up with a small shovel--only a short run, but probably $2000. Mr. Blakeley, the owner, told me that the Sterling mine made an average cleanup of $60,000 for thirty years. He said they were going to extend the ditch this summer and would own enough ground to run them another 50 years. Over 200 men have been allowed to mine along the creek on Mr. Blakeley's ground free. No royalty, which is certainly very kind of Mr. Blakeley, and kept many of them off the bread line. John B. Griffin, "Miners Work in Townsite," Oregonian, Portland, May 16, 1933, page 6 STERLING MINE GIVES GOLD HUNTERS
RELIEF
Up in the mountains beyond Jacksonville, a relief project, the largest
perhaps in the county, is continuing unnoticed by the public
gaze, it
was reported here yesterday by a friend of Fred Blakeley, well-known
mining man of Portland and Medford.The project is the working of the Sterling mine, a property well known throughout the coast. There are 200 men now working in the mine, and the gold they find is theirs. That is the opportunity Mr. Blakeley has given them to establish their independence during trying times, and at the same time keep things moving at the mine. Medford Mail Tribune, November 6, 1933, page 7 FIRE DESTROYS 3 FAMILY HOMES
MEDFORD, Ore., Sept. 4 (UP)--Ranch homes of three families living in
the Sterling mine district of the Applegate Valley, 10 miles west of
here, were burned down by a forest fire tonight.The Ashley, Oden and Coffman ranch houses burned, along with all livestock, outbuildings and farming equipment. Three other homes, those belonging to R. E. Kellar, William Johnson and Scotty Nunn, were threatened. A barn containing $1,000 worth of hay belonging to Henry Mankin was burned. No word has been received from the Fred Mires family living in the canyon where the fire raged tonight. Neighbors feared they too had been burned out after unsuccessfully trying to contact them all evening. Federal Forest Service offices tonight said 300 CCC men were being mobilized to fight the flames. Press Democrat, Santa Rosa, California, September 5, 1934, page 1 STERLING MINE BARS SQUATTERS
Miners who have been permitted for a number of months to operate the
Sterling mine, up in the Applegate country, have been asked to desist
from exploration and mining operations and to vacate the property, it
was reported here today.Notices asking them to withdraw from the project have been posted, carrying the signature of Fred J. Blakeley, president of the Sterling Mines, Inc. The notices state that the undersigned expects to commence operation of the properties himself on a large scale in the immediate future. Any men wishing to continue work at the mine are asked to apply to Mr. McCormick. It was rumored here today that negotiations were under way for sale of the property. Medford Mail Tribune, January 17, 1934, page 8 STERLING MINE SEEKS OUSTING 66 SQUATTERS
Arguments were heard this morning by Circuit Judge H. D. Norton in the
suit of the Medford Water, Power and Development Company and the
Sterling Mining Company, "to restrain and enjoin" R. E. Banks, Roy
Hines, H. A. Turnbough and 63 other named defendants from further
"squatter" mining on the Sterling mine property.Decision in the matter was deferred by the court until the first of next week to afford the defendants time in which to show title to the land involved. The court said title to the land was a vital point that needed to be cleared before a decision could be rendered. The defendants contend that some of the land on which they are mining is county property, some homesteaded, and some is private property. They further set forth that they were given permission to gold mine on the Sterling property by Fred J. Blakeley, president of the Medford Water, Power, and Development Company, and Sterling mine operator. The plaintiff holds that any promise by Blakeley is not binding beyond the life of the corporation, that title in the land involved has been cleared, and that the Sterling mine would resume operations today, and the company now holding it desired an early decision so it could go ahead with development plans. The Medford Water, Power, and Development Company was formed in 1928, and its plans went awry when the depression came. Most of the 66 defendants named in the enjoinment suit were present in court this morning. In the early years of the depression, gold mining was revived, and the Sterling mine area became a Mecca for many. About 100 people are now in the district engaged in gold mining on a small scale. Some have been so engaged for four years. One of the squatters said this morning, "There is just enough in it for existence." Some days "were fair and others nothing--just like playing a slot machine." Some of the miners say they have homesteaded the land involved, and have a title to it. Medford Mail Tribune, March 29, 1934, page 1 MINE SQUATTERS RESTRAINED FROM STERLING'S LAND
An injunction enjoining and restraining "gold mine squatters" from
further operations on the Sterling mine property was granted this
morning by Judge H. D. Norton in favor of the Medford Water Power and
Development Company.Question of Ownership Only Consideration, Says Court-- New Company Plans to Develop Mine Property The Sterling mine was recently purchased by an eastern syndicate, and according to attorney Porter J. Neff, they plan immediate working and development of the property. The syndicate representative, DeFord MacCormick, is in charge now. The injunction suit was filed against R. E. Banks and 70 who have been engaged in prospecting on the property for periods ranging from four years to three months. According to attorney Neff, a six-ounce nugget was found by one of the squatter prospectors last Saturday. At the prevailing fixed price of gold its value is close to $200. The injunction came up for hearing last Friday, and the court delayed a decision to enable the defense to produce evidence in support of its contention that the land the squatters were working was county-owned or homesteaded land. The mining company held that the land belonged to the Sterling company. The defendants further stated that they had been granted permission to mine the land by Fred J. Blakeley, former lessee of the mine. The plaintiff held that any promise or permission made by Blakeley was not binding upon the new operators. The court held that the only question was who owned the mined land, and showing of a title was necessary by the squatters not to come under the trespass provisions. Attorney Porter J. Neff this morning said that the prospectors had "evidently struck a pretty rich streak," and that "thousands of dollars had been removed in the past three or four years." The squatters themselves said they were "making only a bare living and the best of luck is not much." With the start of the depression in 1929, gold mining was revived and dozens of people went to the hills with pans and shovels to seek a livelihood. At one time it was reported 500 people were engaged in gold prospecting in the Applegate district, and the Applegate River and tributary streams were lined with camps. Many came from outside states. The Applegate mining activity was followed by a renewal of gold mining in Jacksonville, a half dozen rigs being set up on the lots of the pioneer town. Medford Mail Tribune, April 5, 1934, page 1 MINE SQUATTERS SERVED NOTICES TO VACATE AREA
Ouster notices in accordance with a temporary injunction granted 10
days ago by the circuit court have been served upon squatters mining
the past two years upon the property of the Sterling mine. R. E.
Banks, and 74 others, were named as defendants in the action.The mine property was recently taken over for operation on an option by a syndicate of eastern capitalists, according to attorney Porter J. Neff. All the miners, with exception of two or three, have left, according to the attorney. The sheriff's office reported that last week they sold auto licenses to a number of the squatters, so they could return to their homes in Washington, California and other western states. The squatter miners worked the land for three years under permission granted by Fred J. Blakeley, of the Medford Water Power and Development Company. The depression caused a return to gold mining. For the most part the squatters were from other sections. The returns fire reported as good, bad and indifferent, as usual with mining. Some of the squatters said they were making a bare living. Others reported the returns were "better than wages." Within the past fortnight one of the squatters found a nugget that netted close to $200, it was reported. The court, in granting the temporary injunction, excluded a small portion of the mining land upon which the title was doubtful. A hearing upon a motion to make the injunction permanent is scheduled for an early date. The Sterling Mining Company yesterday filed a suit against A. E. Brockway of Jacksonville, tendering Brockway $244, the amount he has paid on purchase of a portion of the land on a county foreclosure sale. Brockway agreed to make the purchase on the payment plan. The mining company holds the purchase was void, and the county was not within its powers in selling the land for delinquent taxes. Medford Mail Tribune, April 17, 1934, page 2 STERLING SEEKING TO HALT MINING
Application for a temporary injunction enjoining A. E. Book and others
from mining on property belonging to the Sterling Mining Company was
filed yesterday in circuit court by the mining company.The complaint sets forth that Book and other defendants are mining under a county road that passes through the property,. endangering the road, and trespassing on nearby property. It is also set forth that "considerable gold is being removed," which belongs to the mining company. The suit is one of several recently instituted by the mine company against squatter-miners. Seventy-six were named in one temporary injunction and restrained from further operations. The Sterling mine was recently taken over by a Chicago syndicate on an option to purchase. Medford Mail Tribune, April 24, 1934, page 4 Sterling Mine Will Resume Operations
MEDFORD, Oct. 1.--Litigation arising over the Sterling mine property
has been adjusted, according to attorney Porter J. Neff, counsel for
the mine operators. Operations at the mine are expected to be resumed
in two or throe weeks.The mine is now incorporated as the "Sterling Mine, Inc.," by a syndicate of New York capitalists. They have installed new equipment and plan, it is said, to mine the higher levels of the property. Siskiyou News, Yreka, October 1, 1934, page 1 STERLING MINES WOULD EJECT 13 FROM WORKINGS
The Sterling Mining Company and George E. Young have filed suit in
circuit court for an injunction against 13 defendants, seeking their
ejectment from land adjacent to the mine, and quieting of tax titles.
The suit is similar to action taken last spring restraining "squatters"
from mining on the property.Defendants named in the present action are Harry Foster and wife, Fred Dumont and William Dumont, Bret Newman and wife, and Richard Roe Newman, a son; N. S. Norton and V. H. Turnbough and wife and son, and Harley Hall and wife. Defendants claim they hold tax title to the land. The mining company holds these titles are not valid. Hearing on the injunction has been set for next Friday morning at 9:30 o'clock. The complaint sets forth that the defendants have been placer mining on the property, with varying degrees of success. The Sterling mining company is now under operation by a syndicate for New York and Chicago capitalists, who have made arrangements for rather extensive operation. The mine was formerly one of the best gold producers in the state, and has been the subject of considerable litigation in one form and another over a long period of years. Medford Mail Tribune, October 17, 1934, page 10 PLAN NEW SCHOOL IN STERLING AREA
BIG APPLEGATE, Sept. 2.--(Spl.)--A log store building at the old town
of Sterling is being repaired for use as a schoolhouse as a result of a
controversy in the Sterling district, which was settled by a recent
vote over changing the location of the present schoolhouse.The change was deemed necessary, owing to the fact that a large number of new families on the Sterling mine payroll have located in the upper end of the district, and their children, comprising the larger part of the attendance, are obliged to walk two miles to school. It is reported that some in the district opposed the change in view of the fact that the Sterling mine might not be a permanent institution. Twenty-one pupils are being taught by Mrs. George Brownlee in the present schoolhouse until repairing of the log building at the new site is completed. Old Sterlingville was the location of the Sterling school until about 12 years ago, when the district lines were moved and the present schoolhouse was built. Medford Mail Tribune, September 12, 1935, page 2 In Jackson
County, the Sterling mine is readjusting its operations for handling
larger amounts of gravel at higher speed. Machinery is being altered.
Ford McCormick is superintendent.
"Oregon Mining Regions," Sacramento Daily Union, July 19, 1936, page 20 Colonel Fred J. Blakeley of 223 N.E. Glisan Street purchased the famous Sterling mine, on Sterling Creek, in the Upper Applegate district, in Jackson County, in 1901, and sold it to a New Jersey syndicate three years ago. Millions of dollars have been taken out of the Sterling mine. The bedrock is greenstone with patches of slaty tuffs. The bedrock slopes about two feet in each 100. The gravel contains boulders of andesite, and some quartz. Those who attended the Lewis and Clark Exposition in Portland will remember the exhibit of nuggets from the Sterling mine. Fred Lockley, "Impressions and Observations of the Journal Man," Oregon Journal, Portland, March 5, 1937, page 12 "After I had disposed of my holdings at Roseburg I bought the Sterling mine, on Sterling Creek, in the Upper Applegate district, not far from Jacksonville. C. C. Beekman, pioneer banker of Jacksonville, showed me a nugget worth $1500, taken out of the Sterling mine. The largest nugget found on this property when I owned it was worth about $500. We employed 20 men in two shifts, and used the hydraulic process. "Two prospectors discovered an ancient channel some distance above where Sterling Creek runs into Little Applegate River. The gravel was cemented and hard to work. It averaged about 40 cents to the cubic yard. It was too big a proposition for them to handle, so they interested Captain A. P. Ankeny. Ankeny sold the Sterling property to David Thompson and M. S. Burrell. A ditch 27 miles long had been built from the Little Applegate, by hand labor, with Chinese to do the digging. Burrell and Thompson were dissatisfied with results. They thought a white elephant had been unloaded on them. Captain Ankeny owned a building on Front Street, Portland. The Wells Fargo company and the Western Union company occupied it. It was one of the most profitable, from the standpoint of rent, in town. Ankeny said to Burrell and Thompson, 'You have spent considerable money in development work at the Sterling mine. If you're dissatisfied I'll take over your interest in exchange for my building in Portland.' They accepted. Ankeny made a lot of money on the Sterling mine and then turned it over to his son Henry and his son-in-law, Vincent Cook. I bought the property from them in 1905.” F. J. Blakeley, quoted by Fred Lockley, "Impressions and Observations of the Journal Man," Oregon Journal, Portland, March 11, 1937, page 14 IMPRESSIONS AND OBSERVATIONS
In 1905
Colonel F. J. Blakeley of Portland bought the
Sterling mine from Henry B. Ankeny and Vincent Cook. Cook and his
brother, J. W. Cook, were passengers on the Star of the West
in 1854 from New York to Graytown, on the Nicaragua route.
They came to
Portland and Vincent built a salmon cannery and later became interested
in the American Can Company. He was born in Chicago. His father,
Horatio Cook, came with his wife from England to New York in 1818. They
moved to Chicago in 1838, where for many years Cook had a furniture
store. Two sons, George and Horatio, crossed the plains to Oregon in
1852. He followed them in 1853 and the three started a
furniture store
in Portland. Two more sons, Vincent and J.W., came in 1854. Vincent ran
his father's farm, seven miles west of Portland, some years. He then
went to work for his brother J.W., who was manufacturing tents and
bags. In 1863 Vincent became a member of the firm. In 1868 he was in
the mercantile business at 1st and Washington streets. Selling his
interest in 1874, he and J.W. built a salmon cannery. In 1890, with
Captain A. P. Ankeny and his son Henry E., Vincent bought the Sterling
mine, in Jackson County. A 27-mile ditch had been built in 1879 to
furnish water, succeeding a ditch installed in 1854 and used till 1861.
From 1862 to 1877 no work was done in the Sterling mine. Vincent Cook
married Orinoco L. Ankeny, daughter of Captain Ankeny.OF THE JOURNAL MAN By Fred Lockley Henry E. Ankeny was born in Western Virginia in 1844. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Alexander P. Ankeny, were born in Pennsylvania. Alexander, with his family, crossed the plains to Oregon in the late '40s. Captain Ankeny secured an interest in the Wells Fargo Company and for many years was in the real estate business in Portland. Henry E. Ankeny bought and operated a 4500-acre farm near Salem. He operated a dairy and a cheese factory on this farm, on the Santiam, and when his father died, in 1890, he took over the management of the Sterling mine. He moved to Eugene in the fall of 1896. He died on December 21, 1906, at age 63. I knew Mr. Ankeny well, and many years ago he gave me a most interesting interview on early days in Southern Oregon, particularly about mining. He was married on June 10, 1866, to Cordelia L. Stryker, whose father, Dr. Henry F. Stryker, with his family crossed the plains in 1852 and located at Portland. Later he had a store at Vancouver, Wash., where he died on December 31, 1861. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Ankeny had nine children. "I had a rather peculiar experience," said Colonel Blakeley, "when I bought the Sterling mine. I had agreed to pay a man $10,000 to negotiate the deal. I paid Vincent Cook cash for his interest. I agreed to meet the agent at the bank. I was in the office with A. L. Mills, president of the bank, when the agent came. I suggested giving him a check for the $10,000. We said, 'You agreed to pay me $10,000 in gold, and I want my money in gold.' "He put his 500 20-dollar gold pieces into his grip. The gold weighed over 30 pounds. Mr. Mills and I went to the window to see what he was going to do. The bottom of the grip was stretched till we wondered if it wouldn't break. He took the streetcar, and that's the last we saw of him. "I paid over $100,000 for the Sterling mine and bought a number of claims adjoining. When I sold this property, three years ago, to a New Jersey syndicate I told them approximately the amount of values they would find in the mine. The company drilled holes in the channel across its width, and for its full length, and found more than double the values claimed. They have already spent over $125,000 in development work, and have put in a concentrating machine and will spend a good deal, but the values are there and in the next few years they will take out a lot of gold. "I was oldest of four children. My sister, Minnie, died when she was a girl. My two brothers are lawyers. The youngest, William, while an attorney at Pittsburgh, Pa., was appointed district attorney and was given the job of cleaning up the corrupt conditions in the city. He made a good job of it. Later, he was nominated for governor but declined, as it would involve giving up his practice, which was yielding him around $100,000 a year. "I was married in 1882 to Ada Jones of Toledo, Ohio. My son, William J., is a lawyer at Pittsburgh. My daughter Grace married H. J. Hildebun of Roseburg, a contractor. My other daughter, Adeo, was drowned in the North Umpqua at the time I owned and operated the Umpqua Light and Power Company at Roseburg. After the death of my first wife I married my present wife, Florence Rymal, in 1918." Oregon Journal, Portland, March 15, 1937, page 12 COL. FRED J. BLAKELEY PIONEER IN SO. OREGON
PORTLAND, April 8.--(AP)--Colonel Fred J. Blakeley, 88, pioneer
Southern Oregon utilities executive and miner, died here yesterday.MINING INDUSTRY DIES The colonel became head of the Umpqua Light and Power Company at Roseburg in 1901. After his power interests were purchased by Pittsburgh lumbermen, he operated the Sterling mine in the upper Applegate country in Jackson County. He worked the mine for four years and sold it to a New Jersey concern. He is survived by his widow, a daughter, Mrs. Grace Hildeburn of Roseburg, and son, William, of Pittsburgh. ----
Colonel Blakeley was well-known in Jackson County, making his home here
early in the present century, leaving, and then returning in 1926 to
become manager of the Sterling mine. He left here in 1932 and had
resided in Portland until his death.While manager of the mine, Colonel Blakeley attempted to organize a company to build a dam at Squaw Lake, the water to be used for mining purposes at Sterling and for irrigation. However, the plan failed to materialize. While in Medford the last time, he resided at the Hotel Medford. He had many friends here who will be saddened by his death. Medford Mail Tribune, April 8, 1938, page 1 So different are the modern methods from the old--in recent years huge diesel bulldozers cleared ground at Sterling for a diesel shovel which scooped dirt into 5-yard trucks at a rate of 3,000 cubic feet a day, and worked day and night, excepting Sundays and holidays. The dirt was then put through the mill and sluice boxes, leaving the gold in the boxes. The bedrock was then gone over by a crew of men and the fine dirt shoveled into smaller sluice boxes. Venita Daley, "Rogue River Valley's Early History," Medford Mail Tribune, October 17, 1948, page 7 Last
revised March 14, 2026
|
||||||||||||||||